Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

2.2 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

RUN AWAY!!!

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, pub on site, close to the lake, WiFi worked fine
Cons: Lighting and better security cameras in the parking lot. Get rid of the open-air drug trafficing onsite.
Location: This is the closest hotel to the lake where the annual triathlon is held in August.
I stayed for a week to compete in the Lake Saint Louis Triathlon. Other reviewers have adequately described the facilities. That didn't bother me. It was good enough and I liked that it was close to the lake. The front desk staff was very helpful, and the maid did her best to keep me in towels, etc. I ate one meal at the onsite pub. The waitstaff was very pleasant and attentive. As a single woman, I thought I might be harassed by the other patrons, but I was pleasantly surprised. If I had checked out before my last night, I would have given this hotel 3 stars. It's not a great place, but it was adequate for my purposes. HOWEVER, the night before the triathlon my brother and his wife stayed with me (double room). The next morning they discovered their windshield (passenger side) had been completely smashed. After our triathlon we reported it to the police and they told us they are there almost every night; this is a known drug dealer location. What can I say? Having to replace a windshield was not worth the "value" of the room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad experience

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Will never stay again. Bed is horrible. Carpet is filthy bathroom is filthy. Smells. Completely out of date.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broken

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: conveinence to my work
Cons: too much to list here
The room was broken. The "desk" almost collapsed into pieces while trying to sit at it and do work. A lamp next to the bed was missing a light bulb - "no problem I'll grab one from one of the others I don't need to use. Oh wait that lamp you want to use is missing the plug or at least part of the plug so you can't insert into wall."
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Rubbish

Posted Apr 22, 2016
This motel is awful. I've stayed in America's Best Value Inns before which have been perfectly serviceable. This isn't one of those. The room was filthy, the sheets were stained, and they had cigarette burns in them (non-smoking room), the carpet was disgusting. The room obviously hadn't been cleaned properly in YEARS. The location is fine, and I know that ABVI can do it properly, so obviously the staff aren't doing their jobs properly. Clean the rooms, paint the walls, buy new sheets. It's not hard to make a motel run smoothly, and it doesn't cost much to fix it up. Plenty of other places to try nearby, don't go for this just because its cheapest.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2016
Over charges me and will not give me my money back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No parking for customers

Posted Feb 1, 2016
The bar customers park in the hotel customers spots, TV remote doesn't work and the hotel rate is $15 per day cheaper than Expedia if you booked directly with the hotel than through Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Best price in the region

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: The location and price.
Cons: Change their ad and finish conversion to Motel 6.
Location: Near O'Fallon Missouri and major highways for attractions in and around Saint Louis.
Expedia price was $42 per night for 1 adult 1 bed non smoking room. The ad said continental breakfast. The final credit card charge from Expedia was $92 for my 2 night stay. The hotel bill was for a total of $74. They are converting to Motel 6 and no longer have continental breakfast. There are restaurants in walking distance and a pub (very busy) on site. An older hotel but the staff was helpful and friendly. My room was clean and well furnished especially for the price. Overall a good stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, pa

Lake st Louis hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Room smelled like smoke even though it was non smoking, then I realized they taped a plastic bag over the smoke detector, the tub was disgusting, it looked like it had residue plaster adhered to it. They advertised continental breakfast but their idea of it was to serve only apple/ orange juice and coffee, what a joke. The staff could care less if you were alive or dead.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO

Worst hotel I have experience ever

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Location.
Cons: The cleanliness. The room was FILTHY.
Location: We like the Lakeside Pub, which is the only reason we booked this hotel.
This was the dirtiest hotel room I have ever encountered. I didn't even want to use the shower, the bathroom was so disgusting. There were dirty handprints and footprints on the bathroom door, the shower was disgusting--dirt and unidentified substances on the shower curtain, inside and out, and on the ledge in the shower. When we walked in the bed looked as if someone had already slept in it, the pillows were just tossed on the bed in such a manner it looked like someone had just jumped on the bed, or jumped out of it. Not to mention the hallway to our room reeked and smelled of urine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MS

Dirty and Stinks

Posted Jun 27, 2015
The room was dirty. It looked like it was never cleaned. There was food left in the refrigerator. It had a horrible smell. Room is nothing like the pictures. Would not recommend.