Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Wonderful Inn!

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We had a great stay here. Comfy room, warm hot tub, friendly owners and staff. Definitely recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Very charming and cozy hotel. It is at a convenient location. Check-in and check-out was very fast. My friend loved the hot-tub
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved this renovated little spot

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
We were only here for one night, but I really liked this hotel. We went to Tahoe over Christmas, and stayed at a cheaper place in Tahoe City the previous two nights. Alder Inn was a vast improvement over that! The bed was super comfortable and I nearly died when I saw how many extra blankets we had (three. there were three extra blankets!). My partner sleeps cold and I like to be warm, so this room was a great compromise for us. There was also a ceiling fan and a box fan in the room. I don't love Keurigs because they're terrible for the environment, but after two days of terrible hotel coffee, having one of those in the room was such a nice reprieve. Everything was clean and comfortable and (as other reviews have said) the details were thought through to ensure you had a comfortable stay. That plus five minutes to Heavenly Resort - not sure it could be beat. If we're back in this area, I will definitely be back to the Alder Inn.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Laura was very accommodating during our stay. She made sure that we have the information we need on our stay. She upgraded our room to a Deluxe King bed. The room has cute details all over and spacious as well. This is also near to a lot of places and restaurants as well as the Heavenly Gondola. Great experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice, comfortable smallish room

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Nicely decorated room, quite heater, fridge, microwave. Walking distance to restaurants, pier. Short shuttle ride to Heavenly.
Cons: Could hear people next door, no cooling, not within walking distance of Gondola area / hotels.
Location: Go gambling, skiing, boating, enjoy restaurants, see the lake, hike.
Small property, smallish room but not too small, nicely decorated, with Keurig coffee machine, fridge & microwave. Large enough counter, bathtub with small window. Free wifi. Stairs to second floor. Free next to room parking. Was relatively cheap to other hotels in the off-season.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Greeted warmly by owners. Offered to change our assigned room to a room with easier access to accommodate my walking difficulties. Very quiet. Although the hotel is an older building, it has recently been refurbished. Our room was very comfortable..and best of all....quiet!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

convenient,well located, lo ely people

Posted Oct 9, 2016 on Hotels
Alder Inn is a delightful property. It is very family oriented & quiet. It is within easy walking distance of several good restaurants. We would stay here again & recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent value, great location, friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff, clean hotel room with coffee maker

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived after office hours and were pleased to find out that they left the key to our room in the box outside the office.