Ratings based on 1,126 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tedding, CA

Old place that seriously needs repairs, updating

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Had to request room service and towels as no one ever came on their own. Noises and very rundown. Pool unavailable. Won't return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Good Location

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Clean the rug
Location: Near Casinos, shopping, restaurants, road to drive around Lk Tahoe.
The room was OK but the rug was disgusting. Location was good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Nothing really!
Never thought I would pay almost $250 for a night, my strong advice will be stay out of this place. I for one will never return there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that our hotel did not appeal to you, and that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We pride ourselves on providing clean, comfortable, great value accommodation in this area, and we are sorry that our offering was not suitable for your needs. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your business. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from visalia ca

Not bad

Posted Jul 6, 2017
It's livable and able to sleep in. They won't give you fresh towels though if you stay multiple days because their trying to be conservative and respectful of the environment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you appreciated our environmental policy. We hope that you will have an opportunity to stay with us again soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty!

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing!
Cons: This hotel needs a complete overhaul & remodel. They need new everything!
Location: S. Lake Tahoe near casinos.
This was a very disappointing and dirty hotel. The mattresses had stains, blankets were old and dingy, and carpets were stained and probably about 30+ years old. My baby had to crawl on the disgusting floors my whole family was uncomfortable they didn't even want to sit anywhere. We stayed for about 10 minutes then booked another hotel at the Holiday Inn. This would typically be a $80 room but due to the Memorial Day holiday the charged me $192. The manager would not refund my money and Expedia did not reimburse me either. Never been so dissatisfied with a hotel. Do not book here unless you are homeless! The lady at the front desk was a basket case telling me all her problems when I checked in. After a 2 hour drive I just wanted to get into a comfortable hotel and relax. That didn't happen!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very disappointed that you did not like the room that we provided for you, and that you felt that it was dirty. We did suggest that you would see another room, but you preferred to move, and since your reservation was with a booking partner and not with us directly, we were unable to offer you a refund. We are very sorry that our property was not suitable for your family's needs. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room clean but maintenance to facility needed

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: Breakfast was decent and room looked clean.
Cons: Take better care of facility in general.
Location: Walking distance to the lake and shopping area and lift.
Over all it was an OK stay, the room was clean. The facility was in desperate need of some maintenance. For example, lobby was in very poor condition. Room also needed to TLC. The staff seemed OK, but could not help notice poorly staffed as far as number of people taking care of facility.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed review, we are happy to hear that you had an OK stay but we want our guests to love their stay. We are glad that you found our facilities clean and enjoyed our breakfast and our convenient location. We appreciate your feedback regarding maintenance, and we will be sure to review this and see what changes we can make in this area. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Nice hotel at good price

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: The room is comfortable, clean and quiet. It is all we need. Price is reasonable.
We went for a twoday trip to Lake Tahoe and stayed one night at American Best Value Inn.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are so happy to hear about your impression of our hotel. It is wonderful to hear we made your stay so positive, and that you appreciated the reasonable price that we charge. Thank you so much for your review. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Terrible experience. Stay away!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Cleanliness should improve a lot and the front desk shouldn't be rude.
Location: Close to the lake and Heavenly village.
It started out with the check in. The front desk lady was rude and said that she would charge us extra for 4 adults and 1 kid (under 3) for a 2 queen bed room. Expedia had called the property and confirmed that this would be a no extra fee as our kid was young. Lady ranted about something and then I told her expedia had confirmed this. She however wrote 5 guests on our check in papers. When we objected and asked her to change that to 4 +child she refused. Looks like they were trying to get more money out of this. I don't know where to start. This is the worst hotel/motel I have stayed in. The outside is scary and dirty and the corridors look like it were never cleaned. The carpet in the room was filthy so much that we walked barefoot and our feet were black in some time. The refrigerator stunk of something putrid and looked like it was never cleaned. The beds linen etc were ok and the bathroom was manageable so we didn't walk out. The balcony was extremely dirty. We heard the street noises all night long and the upstairs people could be heard having a very good time in bed. we could hear noises all night long from outside and inside the property and also the neighbors were loud. STAY AWAY FROM THIS. I wish I never had booked here, it was a nightmare.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Big Room - reasonably priced

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Closeness to the activities we wanted.
Cons: More food at breakfast
Location: we did the 72 mile trip around lake Tahoe and opted to stay the night in South Lake Tahoe. Casinos close by.
Room was satisfactory. Just stayed for one night. Was disappointed that spa and sauna were not working. Breakfast room very small and not enough food. Almost gone by 8:45 am.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are happy that you liked your room, and that you appreciated the great value that we provide. We are sorry that breakfast had not been replenished sufficiently when you arrived, and will remind our team that it is important that the last guest gets the same offering as the first. Thank you for that feedback, it will help us to provide a better standard of service for all of our guests. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

DIRTY AND STINKY, DANGEROUS

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: CLOSE IT. IT IS A FRAUD.
Location: NONE
THIS IS THE MOST DISCUSSING EXPERIENCE THAT I AND MY FAMILY HAD HAVE. THE ROOM HAVE A STRONG ODOR OF SOME KIND OF DISINFECTANT, THE SHEETS ARE DIRTY, I AM PRETTY SURE THAT THE STAFF DO NOT CHANGE THEM OR WASH THEM FROM ONE CLIENT TO ANOTHER. THE CARPET HAVE STAINS AND SMELL BAD. THE FACILITIES ARE UGLY, AND THERE IS SUSPICIOUS ACTIVITY AS SOON IT GETS DARK. SCARY AND CREEPY PLACE. NEVER GO THERE THE RATING THAT YOU SEE IN EXPEDIA IS DEFINITELY MANIPULATED.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to hear that your stay with us was not perfect. Please rest assured that our bed linen is always changed prior to a new guest checking in, but we apologize if yours was stained. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for providing us with your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management