Ratings based on 1,071 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old outdated facilities

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: location
This hotel is very conveniently located very close to the ski resort and Raleys. The facility is very old and needs a lot of TLC, upgrades and upkeep right from the lobby to the rooms. Carpets are old, walls need fresh paint, bathrooms old etc The breakfast place is also very old and dull. On the positive side: This hotel has a fridge, microwave, coffeemaker and also provides basic breakfast for free.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
It's great that our location suited you so well, and we are happy that you had a reasonable stay with us. We do have an old building, but our team work very hard to maintain and clean it to the highest possible standard. We hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you take a skiing trip. Best wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Snow

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Thanks it was an awesome stay. And it was great, and we would come back and stay here again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your concise but complimentary review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we're thrilled that you would choose to stay with us again - we hope to welcome you back soon! Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis

Okay value, would stay elsewhere next time.

Posted Feb 7, 2017
The location is great for walking to the gondola. But with the plethora of motels in this small area, I would stay elsewhere next time. The beds are uncomfortable, the carpeting is really bad. Bathroom was okay. Breakfast was okay. Bagels, bread, cream cheese (but no peanut butter), cereals, good OJ, okay coffee, usually jam for bread. No fruit or yogurt (we brought our own).
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We're sorry that whilst you had a reasonable stay with us, you were not blown away by our product and our service. It is unusual for us to get a negative comment about our beds - most of our guests report having a great sleep with us, but we apologize if it was not to your liking. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and taking the time to leave your feedback. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from santa cruz,CA

So not "best value inn"

Posted Feb 4, 2017
We've been here 4 yrs ago and our stay was really great but this time was so horrible. I came with my fiancé and parents to celebrate my birthday. So i booked mine through expedia and was not refundable. I checked in and teresa was really great and accommodating! I came back the lobby and thought we booked the one with kitchen but apparently i was wrong, and teresa was so nice and apologized. On the other hand TINA, wasn't friendly at all. So the night comes around 9pm, someone was parked infront of our walkway (handicapped room) also cuz my dad is handicapped! We were stuck there the whole night and we couldn't even contact them cuz their phone just hung up!! So next morning i saw TINA (asian lady) and told her about the truck blocking us, cuz if there's an emergency we'll be stuck! She ignored us and i followed her in the lobby and she started yelling at me!! I told her she didn't have to yell, i was just trying to talk to her. So she started telling me I'm attacking her and there's camera they can see everything, meanwhile, I'm not doing anything. Lol anyways so later on i talked to teresa and told her what happend, she apologized so many times and told us she's gonna tell her other managers about it cuz apparently TINA is one of the managers!! Could u believe that!! She's so rude! If she only knows how to say sorry but no she was so rude. She even told us if were not happy we shoudl just leave! Wow. She shouldn't be working as customer service. She ruined our stay and my
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 11, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We are very sorry that you didn't thoroughly enjoy your stay with us on the special occasion of your birthday. It's a shame that your experience was spoiled by one member of staff, but we're delighted that Teresa provided you with such great assistance. We will review your feedback with the appropriate department and personnel to ensure that we are providing the very best possible level of customer care to all of our guests. We appreciate your review, and we do hope that you will stay with us again. We would love for your to have the same positive and wonderful experience that you had previously. Best wishes, Hotel Management
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Sobrante

Noisy fridge

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Price
Cons: Personnel and noise
Location: Close to Stateline
Attendant does not communicate well. Person cleaning rooms only one on duty and very harried.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Absolutely Disgusting

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Before I go off, I have never written a bad review in my life. We arrived at about 845pm. Was told that they were sold out and never received my reservation through Expedia. After showing them my confirmation number about 15 minutes of them walking from computer to computer they finally found it but claimed since Expedia sent the reservation over at 605pm and not before 6, they didn't have to honor my reservation but I was "lucky" because someone had canceled. An employee went and checked on my room and came back and claimed it was good to go. After no apologies or anything we were given the key to our room. Once we got to the room, the room was absolutely disgustingly dirty. It was obvious it hasn't been vacuumed in days, dirt everywhere. The bed was made but the sheets were wrinkled. There was make up or stains on the pillow case. I accidentally lifted up the bottom sheet and the mattress was horrendously full of disgusting stains. Being so late and the issues I had with the front desk, I didn't want to deal with them again so we slept on top of the the comforter. I literally didn't even take my clothes off because I felt as if they were a barrier between me and the bed. The mattress was the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever slept on. The pillows offered no support. I am not a germaphobe and I have stayed in some Dive motels before but this stay was the worst I have ever experienced. I am trying to think of a positive, oh it's walking distance to the casinos.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to gondola and casino

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: close by to gondola (walking distance from hotel)
Cons: Hotel facilities
I had tough time in parking the car as the parking lot was left with previous days snow. Basically if your car don't support AWD or you don't have snow chain, then you cant park your car. Also i had few issues at the room. Somehow we managed to stay. But the hotel staffs were kind and helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Definitely coming back!

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Great location to main strip (walking distance) Comfortable and clean room Continental breakfast was good and filling
Cons: I didn't like how they charge extra for small things. My son left his toothbrush and they charged $3 for a new one. I'm just used to this being free
My son and I stayed here when we wanted to do a quick getaway. The cost was great and the hotel ended up being better than expected. Staff were friendly and helped us with what we needed. Our room was clean, comfortable and great location walking distance to main strip. We will definitely be coming back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful experience, poor customer service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Really terrible experience, and absolutely awful customer service. Very disorganized and rude. Among other things, we waited for over an hour past check-in time for a room that was unclean when we walked in, and the staff was unapologetically flippant. Although they refused to give us a refund, we ended up leaving anyways. Would highly encourage potential visitors to stay elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Really bad, run down hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Pros: Maybe a location, but that's a stretch
Cons: Everything
Rooms didn't get cleaned, towels were not replaced, trash was not taken. Don't consider amenities at all - not even worth mentioning.