Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017
We liked the price. Old but clean. Great,helpful staff. Nice that it's so close to the Lake and everything in Tahoe City. Will be back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Tiburon, CA

No Frills but Convenient, Clean and Friendly

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: Terrific location, friendly staff, good value.
Cons: Decor could be spruced up a bit, but for the price, this is a minor consideration.
Location: A walk or jog along the lake and view over the water at sunset can be magnificent. Blue Agave Restaurant next door. The Haus movie theater. Skiing!
Had a couple of free days mid week and decided to do a quick ski trip to Northstar. I'd done this last year and stayed at America's Best Value Inn and enjoyed it. The Inn is about a half hour drive from Northstar conveniently located in Tahoe City across from the lake. It's within easy walking distance of the beach, a movie theater, several shops and restaurants and convenience stores. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and have coffee makers, extra pillows and towels and nice TVs. My room was on the ground floor w/ a small private patio and view onto the adjacent meadow. Unlike last year's visit, there were several feet of snow on the meadow and the view was of a veritable winter wonderland. The desk staff couldn't have been any friendlier and Tom explained the procedures regarding parking, continental breakfast ("grab and go") and provided information about nearby restaurants that offer guests discounts. He highly recommended the hot tub, but I didn't get around to checking it out. The price was reasonable and I enjoyed a quiet and comfortable night's sleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Thin walls

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location
Guests staying in adjacent rooms and in the room above us could be clearly heard
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel, nothing fancy

Posted Jan 16, 2017
It's a basic hotel that's close to sqauw valley and other ski lodges. Everything works and the rooms were satisfactory. Everything was clean except for the shower. The shower was a little bit dirty.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Cold bathroom; drafty floor in room; sheets too small for mattress; dirty mattress; terrible continental breakfast (wrapped packaged sweet roll, fruit, juice and coffee); and walls very thin so room noisy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Right in town.

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: The price for the nights we stayed we pretty good compared to other hotels in the area.
Cons: The bathroom could have been modernised. Can't really complain, once you get over the claustrophobia of the shower it has good heat and pressure.
Location: Night time activities in off seasons can be a challenge but we had a good, moderately priced dinner at the Blue Agave restaurant next to the hotel.
For the price it was good. A little outdated inside and the air conditioner seemed to be running at around 95dB when on. The hotel is in a great position and had no problem leaving the car in the lot and walking everywhere we needed to go. Had a great time at the local theatre watching a movie while sipping on some good craft beer, highly recommend for a night time activity going to the Tahoe Art Haus & Cinema when you visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Clean and comfortable rooms. My friend and I stayed here for a last-minute ski weekend at Northstar. There'a a hot tub with a view of the lake, and the motel is walking distance to nearby restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Older hotel, very clean and great staff!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Rooms are older but very quaint! Loved this little place! Very clean and bed was very comfortable! They have a lot of extra closet space...Staff was very nice! Referred us to Rosies Cafe... great ambience and food was delicious!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Great stay

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Pros: Nice room, beds, closet, vanity, dressers --- great space and comfort. Loved the complimentary hot cocoa and teas.
Cons: More breakfast selections should be offered. No bananas or bagels. Just danishes, oranges and apples.
Location: Perfect location- walking distance to many shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, United States of America

Great location, good value.

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Clean, comfortable room, great location, friendly staff.