Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice independent hotel close to Heavenly Village

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Small, newly renovated, walkable.
Location: Casinos, Skiing, Grocery Store, Restaurants, Shops all within walking distance.
Nice hotel, room seemed newly renovated and in good condition. Short walk to Heavenly Village and Casinos, but still in a quiet neighborhood. Parking was a bit tight but there seemed to be enough spots available. Only downside was on our second night, we could hear people walking on the floor above.
5 out of 5
by John

Good Value & Location

Posted Mar 6, 2017 on Hotels
This was a last minute hotel reservation. I stay in this area frequently but have never stayed at the Avalon Lodge before. It was a great value for the price and close to ski lift and shops. I like the French press coffee maker and clean stone tile shower. The bed was comfy too.
4 out of 5
by mathew

Yes i will stay here again.

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
Nice little hotel. parking can get tight. Only problem with small hotels you hear everyone walking up and down the stairs. Dont stay here if you like to sleep in during ski season. everyone is up around 7-8am.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Louisiana

Nice hotel, clean, close to everything

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The closeness and convenience.
Cons: The rooms could use a bit updating
Location: The location was perfect. It was within walking distance to everything.
Our check in and check out was very easy. The hotel was clean but a little dated. It was very close to everything and very convenient.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Placerville CA

Great Location!

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: The location is excellent, and the rooms are very nice
Cons: TV was not working, hot water was only warm, and no ice
Location: Walking distance to casinos and Heavenly Gondola/Skiing
We arrived and checked-in. The receptionist was very personable. The key did not work, so we got another. The T.V. did not work, so we did not bother with it. We came to ski and roam around town. The room was very nice, and the continental breakfast was excellent...
3 out of 5
by Pedro

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
close to the main street it's walking distance the lodge provides very simple breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco,CA

Parking is an issue

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: location
Cons: parking, customer service, room cleanliness.
Parking and customer service was my number one issue. The place is in a great location...walking distance to just about anything in downtown...about 2 blocks away from the Heavenly gondola. However, parking is a problem. There are only 6 parking spaces for a 20+ room hotel, and about half of them are on a slanted slope so we woke up one morning to 2 cars that slid down and hit the cars parked next to it. I understand that this is due to the weather but at the same time there are other hotels that have an adequate amount of parking and aren't that much more expensive. The walls are also really thin, I mean so thin that you can hear the people in the room below you having a normal conversation. We brought our own towels and the cleaning lady took ours and then later denied it when I asked her to give them back. When we were checking in, the man at the front desk was making fun and talking about other guests at the hotel which is really unprofessional. When I asked about the parking situation the other front desk guy very rudely said, "you can figure it out, parking is first come first served." Obviously if I was Tahoe and could figure it out on my own then I would not have asked him for help. It wasn't until much later that another person told to me to go park at the casinos. The rooms were large, the shower water was hot enough for me, and they gave a french press with coffee which was nice. I would however never recommend this place to anyone I know nor will I return here.
4 out of 5
by Cindy

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
A friend and I called for an impromptu ski trip to Tahoe and we booked 2 nights of stay at Avalon Lodge the night before. We felt really welcomed when checking in and the overall stay was really nice. You have a microwave, mini fridge, water boiler, and a few extra items in the room. They even give you a little sherry for your stay. And they sell bottles of wine at $10 - this is a winner here! The only negative was the wifi was a little unstable in the room but the receptions for major carriers work really well here. Will recommend this place and stay again next time!
5 out of 5
by Ryan

Great location

Posted Feb 6, 2017 on Hotels
Great room walking distance to Heavenly Gondola and casinos. Sherry wine in room was a nice touch.