Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prime location close to everything in South Lake

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Great staff, cozy room with fireplace. I even left some items in the room that the hotel is mailing home to me. Great customer service. I would def stay here again in the future
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 18, 2017 by Guest Experience Manager, Hotel Management
We really do want our guests to have the best time possible with us, and we aim to assist them in every way we can, so it's great to get feedback like yours, which really demonstrates that we do everything possible for our guests. Thank you so much for leaving us such a lovely review. We do appreciate it, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, Hotel Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2017
After check in 8:00PM room was dirty not clean, very disappointed
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback with us. We are sorry that we dropped the ball with cleaning. Our room service team does a great job making sure rooms are prepared well daily, so it is strange that this had happened. Please know that we will be looking into this to ensure that this does not happen again. We hope this won't dissuade you from staying with us again. Best Wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sugar land texas

Out standing in all aspects , very convenianse .

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Hotel and its staffs appears to be great in services and welling to go farther steps to ensure customers receive the best service and to have rememberable vacation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
We're so happy that you noticed the efforts that we go to to ensure that our guests have a fantastic stay with us. We really appreciate you leaving us such a lovely and thoughtful review. We hope to be in a position to welcome you back again very soon. Best Wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from McKinney, TX

Close to Gondola

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: close to Gondola
Cons: breakfast can improve...
Location: Gondola - great for mountain access
Room was clean, and awesome shower.. really hot water and great heating in room!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2017 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
We're thrilled that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we appreciate you leaving your review for us. We're always happy to get feedback on our cleanliness, so thank you! We hope that you will stay with us again very soon, we'd love to welcome you back. Best Wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Experience

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: The location and the bedrooms.
This hotel is situated a 2-minute walk from the main shops, restaurants and bars. There is a hot tub all year round which we didn't use but I'm sure it would have been great. Rooms and bathrooms were lovely, I will be back to stay there for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for leaving us such a great review - we really appreciate you taking the time to do that. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us so much, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you're next in town. Be sure to leave time to enjoy the hot tub - so relaxing! Best Wishes, Hotel Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Comfortable, convenient and lovely little Lodge!

Posted Nov 18, 2016
This Lodge was wonderful! It is a short 5-10 minute walk away from the main street, which is south lake Tahoe Blvd. The rooms were very clean, and they came with a mini fridge, a microwave and a little fireplace that worked wonderfully for hearing up the room! The staff here are amazing, they are very pleasent and accommodating! The breakfast is okay, just stuff to make a parfait, as well as oatmeal, some fruit and coffee and tea! Also, they have bikes to borrow if you want to have a relaxing ride around the town! Honestly, I was very surprised with the quality and cleanliness of the room, as well as the convenience of the location and the kindness of the staff! I have definitely paid more for a less than pleasent stay in other hotels and lodges! I would absolutely recommend Avalon Lodge, especially for the price and am looking forward to staying here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear Jade, thank you for your thorough review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at our home away from home. From clean room to breakfast to amenities, it sounds like we were the perfect fit for you. We are also thrilled to see that we will be your base when you visit Tahoe next time. We can't wait to welcome you back again. Happy Thanksgiving! Best Wishes, Hotel Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Short trip to attend a wedding

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location. Rustic charm.
Cons: Air conditioning. Available person at front desk without ringing bell.
Location: Location was within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
Stayed at the Avalon for three nights in July. I liked the rustic charm of the hotel but might not. Overall I liked it, There were a few things that could have been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our renovations. From location to service it sounds like we were the perfect fit for your hotel needs. We'll be sure to pass along your kind words to the rest of the team. We hope to see you soon again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, ca

Disappointing

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Close to Golf course and Casino's with in walking distance.
Cons: More fans in the room. Breakfast
Cleaning Staff left our door unlocked anyone could have walked in. We could not use the pool because of filter problem very disappointing! Room was stuffy no AC only one window to open. Water in the shower very hot could not control temp. Breakfast is just Coffee and Oatmeal?!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear J we are sorry to head about your stay with us. It sure sounds like we could improve on many things. We would like to inform you that we have a new management/ownership team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. They will be commencing a review of all of our service procedures and standards, along with a training program for all of our staff. We are confident that if you do come back to stay with us, you will see a dramatic and noticeable difference in the both the hotel and the experience that you receive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location within walking distance to the beac

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Room was appointed well but cleanliness and service was terrible
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear guest, we are so sorry that your stay with us was spoiled by our lack of hospitality. This is not the standard of service you should expect.We will be reviewing your comment with the relevant department, and we will ensure that such an incident does not happen again. e are however, happy to be able to tell you that we have a new management/ownership team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. They will be commencing a review of all of our service procedures and standards, along with a training program for all of our staff. We are confident that if you do come back to stay with us, you will see a dramatic and noticeable difference in the both the hotel and the experience that you receive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good Location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: See above.
Location: Excellent location. Within walking distance of the base of Heavenly Valley and the casinos.
Hotel is in desperate need of maintenance!!! No hot water in the shower in our original room, scalding hot water in the bathroom sink as soon as you turn it on, and broken electrical outlet covers near the bed. Bathroom faucet needs to be tightened up. I think they really need to get a maintenance person in there and go room to room to look for issues. Hotel is so small that you hear everything that happens outside. Continental breakfast is very, very limited. Other than that, it is in a great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 5, 2016 by Guest Experience Team, Hotel Management
Dear KC, we are very disappointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. We are extremely disappointed that you found so many other faults with cleanliness and our amenities. We are however, happy to be able to tell you that we have a new management/ownership team in place, who have wonderful ideas and plans for the hotel. They will be commencing a review of all of our service procedures and standards, along with a training program for all of our staff. We are confident that if you do come back to stay with us, you will see a dramatic and noticeable difference in the both the hotel and the experience that you receive. We will review the issues that you had, and endeavour to ensure that our new standards do not slip. We are confident that we will deliver what you expect the next time. Thank you for your feedback, KC