Ratings based on 231 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Carolina

Short trip to attend a wedding

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Pros: Location. Rustic charm.
Cons: Air conditioning. Available person at front desk without ringing bell.
Location: Location was within walking distance of shops and restaurants.
Stayed at the Avalon for three nights in July. I liked the rustic charm of the hotel but might not. Overall I liked it, There were a few things that could have been better.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, ca

Disappointing

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Close to Golf course and Casino's with in walking distance.
Cons: More fans in the room. Breakfast
Cleaning Staff left our door unlocked anyone could have walked in. We could not use the pool because of filter problem very disappointing! Room was stuffy no AC only one window to open. Water in the shower very hot could not control temp. Breakfast is just Coffee and Oatmeal?!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location within walking distance to the beac

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Room was appointed well but cleanliness and service was terrible
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Good Location

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Location!
Cons: See above.
Location: Excellent location. Within walking distance of the base of Heavenly Valley and the casinos.
Hotel is in desperate need of maintenance!!! No hot water in the shower in our original room, scalding hot water in the bathroom sink as soon as you turn it on, and broken electrical outlet covers near the bed. Bathroom faucet needs to be tightened up. I think they really need to get a maintenance person in there and go room to room to look for issues. Hotel is so small that you hear everything that happens outside. Continental breakfast is very, very limited. Other than that, it is in a great location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huenstetten

Gut gelegen in South Lake Tahoe

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Meine Frau und ich hatten dieses Hotel als Ausgangspunkt für Touren am Lake Tahoe gebucht. Die Lage ist gut, sehr dicht an Restaurants und der Stateline Border gelegen (Fußläufig). Das Zimmer war ok ausgestattet (Kühlschrank. Mikrowelle, Fernseher). Was fehlte war eine Klimaanlage (die finde ich eh nicht besonders, mag aber im Hochsommer notwendig sein). Das Frühstück ist .... minimalistisch. Haferschleim (ja!), Kaffee und Kuchen.Dafür war das Wifi recht fix.
4 out of 5
by Joseph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Wendy from San Francisco

Ski Trip Tahoe

Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
It was my 3rd stay here and all was great except when I checked in their were no bathrobes and had to wait for them till the next morning and their were dirty wash clothes in the shower. otherwise the hotel is great, location and hot tub with yummy breakfast and has a great mini bar and fireplace in the room and all remodeled motel and the staff was very welcoming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is very small but nice. We didn't like is the fact that you could hear your neighbors upstairs walking around in their room, kinda creepy. The bed is too close to the door, you can hear people walk by at night if your trying to sleep. Some positive points. It has a nice fireplace and a really nice shower! its a good quiet neighborhood away from the main street. only walking distance away from Heavenly if your going skiing.
5 out of 5
by Itamar from Berkeley

Great place to stay

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
I really liked here. The staff were very friendly and they are dog friendly.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Overall great!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Cons: A little more light in the room...a little dark without the blinds up and curtains open.
Close to the lake, close to the gondola, great location!