Ratings based on 374 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Good for the budget friendly

Posted Aug 31, 2015
We love small boutique hotels and loved what they did with this place, it is adorable and comfortable. The decor is spot on. Drawbacks: No AC and even though the temps dropped at night the room held its heat making for an uncomfortable sleeping temp. Breakfast had no gluten free options for my celiac friend. No elevator made staying on the 3rd floor tedious. Loved the firepits and hot tub but they close at 10 which is too early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OR

Really nice boutique hotel in south Lake Tahoe!

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Base camp is a newly remodeled hotel in south Lake Tahoe right next to the CA/NV state line. Everything is in walking distance from grocery stores to casinos. Hotel has a very young feel, with 2 hot tubs, several Fire pits, 2 onsite bars and a game room. Breakfast was also really wonderful with waffles, coffee, granola and oatmeal. Will 100% stay here again in my next trip to tahoe. Wonderful hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dublin, CA

My new favorite place to stay in South Lake Tahoe!

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The rooms are decorated in a visually pleasing way that feels clean, yet still feels fun. The evening beer garden vibe with the firepits is fantastic.
Cons: We had a really loud neighbor who kept us up one night. Luckily, a complaint to Mike at the front desk resulted in that family being moved. Thank you!
Location: We walked everywhere while we were there. It's close to the lake, yet close to the Gondola and all the shopping Heavenly offers.
Got a chance to stay here for 50% off through Expedia, and jumped at the chance. I knew that the photos looked cool, but I had no idea what a great place this is until we arrived. What the owners have created is, truly, something special. From the location, to the "vibe," to the staff, to the beer garden, to the fire pits, to the Airstream trailer -- this was really, really fun. Is it the nicest place I've ever stayed? Not by a long shot. But in my mind it ranks highly as one of the most interesting, homey, comfortable, and enjoyable places I've ever stayed. There is nothing corporate about it. It's a hotel with personality. It made my vacation, and I'd stay there again in a heartbeat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Staff was so nice! We arrived early and asked for early check in, with early check in they also complimentary upgraded our room. Rooms were nice and spacious, the only complaint that I had was that since we went in the summer it was hot and the rooms don't have air conditioning so our room was up to 82°. Other wise great little place walking distance to the casinos and the beach with free beach pass access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 16, 2015
tolle Einrichtung, schöner Whirlpool, sehr nette und sympathische Mitarbeiter, abends romantische Feuerstellen und eine Bar
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Excellent Hotel, Perfect Location

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Basecamp was awesome. It was located right at the state line, near the beach and casinos. There is a wonderful, local place a few steps away called Super Taco for dinner (but also many, many other places within walking distance). The best part of the hotel was the Beer Garden, which served breakfast in the mornings and cocktails at night. Don't miss roasting smores from the front desk over one of their many fire pits at night! Comfortable, sizable rooms, and the friendliest of staffs. Will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great place

Posted Aug 10, 2015
Pros: location, comfort, etc.
great place to stay and would recommend to others and would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Closeness to the activities

Posted Aug 4, 2015
The hotel was close to all activities and a short walk to the beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 3, 2015
The hotel was comfortable. Bed was very nice. It is quaint, not the latest style but very satisfactory. Good meals.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from So Cal

Nice room, very good location, breakfast was poor

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The location was excellent. They provided a pass to the private beach at Lakeside Marina. Room is good for families.
Cons: The breakfast was extremely poor. They should not advertise a free breakfast given what was offered.
Location: Lakeside Marina offers all the water sports/rentals. The Harvey's bus center was across the street. Heavenly Tram is walking distance.
I spent a week in S Lake Tahoe with my 20yo daughter and 17yo son. The Base Camp Hotel was one of the few hotels that offered 3 real beds, and the rate was fair. The location was excellent; very close to Heavenly Village, Harvey's and Harrah's. Our only complaint was with the breakfast. They advertised a free breakfast, but they offered only waffles, oatmeal and oranges. They ran out of food before closing time. The waffle batter was pre-portioned, and was not enough to make a full waffle. There was no butter and syrup was in packets. They ran out of dishes, cups and silverware as well. As a result we ate out for breakfast, which increased the cost of our trip. But other than that, the hotel was fine. We aren't picky and didn't spend much time in the room.