Ratings based on 2,249 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Accueil agreable,chambre propre mais vieillotte.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: la piscine, situation de l'hotel
piscine très agreable, chambre de bonne dimension .. mais qui demanderait à etre rafraichie ( papier peint SDB vieillot)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Floor is dirty and sticky

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The floor is so dirty and sticky. Will not recommend to friends
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 21, 2016
The place was nice and convenient. Went up for a concert at Harvey's 2 blocks away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA

Exiled ligation

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Hotel needs a big renovation, staff not well trend, breakfast horrible. Only location is very good
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2016
Basically every thing is OK, only feel a little noisy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Peoria, AZ.

Expedia shouldn't recommend this motel, terrible

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: They need to get someone at the front desk who is competent. Do a better job with there continental breakfast.
Location: Casinos, mountains, beach.
The Big Pines Mountain House was not in very good condition. If I were Expedia I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. The continental breakfast was not edible. It was served in a way that was so undesirable that you would lose your appetite just looking at what they served and they way it was displayed. I only had coffee because I knew the water had been boiled. We couldn't sleep at night because the people above us went off to a casino and left a bunch of kids in their room running and playing until after midnight. Their office is closed in the evening and we had a hard time reaching anyone to rectify the problem and even after we did the noise didn't stop. We were very disappointed with this motel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phila., PA

My Impressions

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: Convenient to beach, main vacation draws and restaurants. Nice pool. Priced fairly.
Cons: See above.
Location: See above.
Upon entering room, a very strong disinfectant odor that bothered my allergies and asthma, so I had to forgo maid service. Room appeared clean except for behind and under the chair. I moved it closer to the TV and found dirty socks, dust and a coin on the floor. The alarm clock and one of the lamps were not plugged in and I couldn't reach behind the bed to plug them in. When I moved the alarm clock to plug it in another outlet, found it unreadable. The desk could not supply me with another one but the clerk set my watch alarm so that I wouldn't miss my plane. Breakfast was very disappointing. One cereal, bagels, juice and coffee for three days in a row is hardly what i call a continental breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hengelo

Mooi centraal gelegen om uitstapjes te maken.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Leuk is dat het een appartementen complex is, dus veel pricacy. Minder is dat het wel wat gehorig is en de airco maakt veel lawaai.
Cons: Misschien de airco minder lawaaig maken.
Location: Eagles fall is heel mooi (voor 1000 of na 1700 er zijn). Met de gondola naar boven is erg leuk. Truckee viel ons tegen.
Het is een no nonsens hotel. Wij hadden een kitchenette die we verder niet gebruikt hebben. Er is een zwembad en je kunt er naar het strand (wel om de gratis strandpas vragen bij de receptie). Het ontbuit is heel basic, maar er zijn bagels met een goede aardbeien jam en er is een lekkere yoghurt, met cereals erbij. Verder natuurlijk drinken ( jus, thee of koffie). Alles erg simpel, maar verder prima.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland, Ca

Nice motel near everything

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Big Pines is walking distance to restaurants, casinos, shopping, Rally's and of course the Lake. The motel could use a facelift, new carpeting, some fresh paint, better breakfast and screens on the windows. The bathroom definitely needed some TLC, the floor boards were coming up from being damp as the bathroom smelled of damp must. The beds were comfortable and although other reviews said the place was loud, we didn't experience that at all.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

crummy hotel with good location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Great location within walking distance to many places of interest. Carpets filthy and loose in many areas inside and out. Space carpets were dirty dangerously curled up on edges. No curtains so the rooms were flooded with light all night. Rooms were painted bright green. Pool was nice. Staff very friendly and helpful.