Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Close to lake, shopping, and trails. Included breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tulare, CA

Convenient

Posted May 30, 2017
If you're not looking for anything fancy, this is the perfect place. It's centralized, so walking distance to the beach/lake, casinos, & Heavenly. Nice couple operating & room cleaning too, so they aren't available to answer the phone. Appears they may have done some do it yourself upgrades. Don't use the wash cloths for make up removal, there's a $25 fee if you do. Walls are very thin. Rooms are spacious but you're not going to want to spend much time there with all the beauty that's all around you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Davis, CA

Comfortable accommodation close to attractions

Posted May 30, 2017
Pros: I like that it is close to the casinos, the lake and hiking trails. It also is very affordable and has a great value for the price.
Cons: I don't know if the cable can be fixed so that it comes in sharper without the lines. The shower curtain did not quite fit the tub so water leaked out
Location: Less than a block from Harrah's, Harvey's, Safeway and various trendy shops and restaurants. Close to the bus station, gondola and state park.
I had stayed at this location three years earlier and I was not overly impressed but I decided to give it another try because of the low rate. I was very surprised when I checked in to see how pleasant the room was this time around. It appeared to be remodeled and was spacious and comfortable. Everything was working in the room (except the cable was not crystal clear, but that was OK) and I liked the miniature refrigerator that held all my food and beverages. The bathroom was much cleaner than I remembered. The bed was incredibly comfortable and hard to leave!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Basic, but clean and good location

Posted May 30, 2017
We stayed for 2 nights, room was a little dated but clean and good size. We arrived in the evening and Staff did seem to rush through check in so didn't tell us anything about breakfast or facilities etc but friendly enough and small enough to figure out yourself. good location to walk to lake and bars/restaurants and really good for the price. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted May 15, 2017
Since I found this hidden gem 5 years ago, I've never stayed anywhere else. Its so nice to walk in the hotel lobby and The owner says "welcome, Kenny". The rooms are all brand new, and pool is great. I always look forward to going to Lake Tahoe, but even more I look forward to staying at the Blue Jay Lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to casino and beach

Posted May 13, 2017
Nice comfortable bed and room. Do not expect too much for breakfast. Price is reasonable during off peak season.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from crawley uk

2blocks from beach, restaurants, shops, ski lift

Posted May 11, 2017
So close to everything what more could you want. Manager was very helpful to us, The shower was excellen and bed comfortable too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA Cal.

Fair price for a quick stop

Posted May 2, 2017
The price was right for a last minute quick stop. Nothing fancy. However, clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Nice hotel close to everything in South Lake Tahoe

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Room was clean, and very quiet.
Cons: Parking lot is a little bit tight.
Location: Everything is accessible by short walk.
You want to ski Blue Jay is close to gondola, you want to gamble B J is close to Casinos, you want to walk near the lake, B J is short walking distance to the lake, Everything is accessible by the short walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
If you're looking for a good location and a clean place to stay I would recommend the Blue Jay Lodge. The staff was also excellent.