Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stanford

On the eastern foothills of the Sierras.

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Feeling you are in an oasis
Cons: Need better electric vehicle charging station(S) Existing slot is only 110V which is useless.
Reception was kind and helpful to register. After we had to find our block by trial and error in a spread-out landscape. Building identification was high and not visible. No help with luggage. Clearly this is mostly for time share owners and much more space than needed. Floor plan is poor: no space for two bedside tables, large bathroom but no space to put toiletries. Restaurant was some distance away and seems to be run by different managements. Hot springs were an extra amount per person that almost doubled the posted rate.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nice staff and quite circumstance

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Nice hotel dinning and bar! Very spacious and clean room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet and Relaxing

Posted Jun 24, 2016
If you ever want to get away from life's problems and just enjoy a quiet country presence this will be perfect place! If I ever had to explain how Heaven is this would be it! Staff is so friendly and helpful! There's no place like it. Not to mention, the beautiful view of the sun rising in the mornings. It took me back to when I was a child and waking up to breakfast on a hot summer morning in the South! Thanks for the memories I had forgotten!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great location, minor adjustments will make it 4/5

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Cobwebs over bed, and corner near ac vent complete with bug carcasses stuck in web. Had adjoining room. A lot of noise travels through the walls. Had to put extra blanket to block sounds from adjoining door. Location was great, grounds were nice. Bed was in need of update. Sheets were clean but had a couple of stains. Old box TV. Odd light fixtures that didn't actually connect. Odd mirror placement in front of bed at foot.
3 out of 5
by brian

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Our room was not cleaned when we were out for the day. Upon calling we were told housekeeping had gone for the day Two phone calls 25 minutes to get towels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Appearances are deceiving!

Posted May 16, 2016
Air conditioner in bedroom didn't work. Reported to front desk. Nothing happened. Sofa pull out bed mattress was so bad only springs left. Hight of mattress should be 4-6 inches. Lucky if it was 2 inches! We stayed for Two nights room not cleaned/towels refreshed. Ate at the 1862 restaurents ordered the filet which was $32 and it was very tuff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2016
Loved the view of wildlife from my sliding glass door and the majestic mountains close by.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Genoa

Posted May 13, 2016 on Hotels
Okay experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Placerville, CA

The facility was great, BUT!

Posted May 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Quality of the room and the view of the wetlands and the mountains.
Cons: Include spa use in price of the room.
Location: Our visit was to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. We went to J. T. Basque restaurant in Gardnerville ~ great Basque menu and family dining.
The room was perfect. The service by staff was great. Our big disappointment was that access to the spa itself was not included in the room price. We were not informed of this when we reserved the room. On previous visits to David Walley's, the spas, pool, sauna, etc. were part of the package. We were quite annoyed to find that it would have cost us an additional $50.00 each to use the spas, which were a major reason for reserving at Walley's in the first place. We declined, and enjoyed the room and view, but we will not be back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Woof! We loved it!

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
We LOVED our stay here! We stayed on a Friday and Saturday night. The busy season seemed to just be ramping up. The facilities were very clean, lots of outside space and nice walking paths. Truly dog friendly, with a small $10 per night fee. Guests with dogs stay on the first floor. They offered us a goodie bag for our dog with a few treats and potty bags on arrival. The walking paths also have bags and garbage cans for dog walkers. The staff was kind and helpful, pointing out local hiking trails (lots of options!) and great golf courses.We did not participate in any of the info sessions for the timeshare, just treated our trip as a hotel stay. A few downsides, though not deal breakers by any means were that the room just had a shower, no tub (we definitely recommend visiting the hot springs!), and the room was long and a bit narrow, meaning only one person could walk past the foot of the bed at a time. Also, the TV was pretty old, but this is definitely somewhere you'll want to spend your time outside, not watching television!