Ratings based on 424 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with little kitchenette and lake views

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Stayed here for a night on our ski trip. Beautiful lake view. Room was clean and equipped with utensils and kitchenette.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Hotel staff was nice and we got 2 rooms next to each other. Beautiful lake view from hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose CA

Location and amenities at it's Best

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Location right in the shores of Donner Lake absolutely beautiful view. The resort amenities for the price and area are fantastic. Relaxing lounge area with Fire pit and second lounge area overlooking the lake, two Sauna rooms outdoor Bbq pits and during summer time boat dock slip included in price. Rooms very spacious and clean. It's. It just a bed and small table. Bed, couch, table for four and room to walk around and spread out. Very safe and secure building. Only negative is TV is small maybe 19" and walls a bit thin. Couldn't hear anything from outside but heard upstairs activities, shower, toilet flushing kids jumping. Very faint though and everything else completely outweighs the minor negatives.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with lake view

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The convenient location, friendly staff and the unexpected nice touches: a fireplace lounge with a view of the lake, historic photographs on the wall
Location: Several cross-country and downhill ski areas are within 20 minutes drive. Stores and restaurants are within 5 miles.
This was a great place to stay for a Tahoe ski weekend. The room was clean and large with a well-equipped kitchen, making it ideal for a family. The bed and sofa-bed were both comfortable. The check-in was easy and the staff were very friendly. The location was excellent for accessing different North Tahoe ski areas. It was also close to Truckee downtown for shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 25, 2017
Easy access to Sugar Bowl. Studio rooms are a great value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best kept secret in the Tahoe area

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location, views, room size, condition of rooms, and staff.
Location: Very close to Boreal and Truckee.
I saw some mixed reviews of this hotel on Yelp, and was very pleasantly surprised. The one bedroom, plus living area with kitchen was very spacious, and included a balcony with a lake/mountain view. The room had been recently updated, the kitchen was complete with everything needed to make dinner, and the shared lounges at the corners of the building had AMAZING views of Donner Lake. Staff was very pleasant, and we didn't have any issues with hearing the neighbors. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable and great location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: comfort and location
The room was very large for a hotel with a nice kitchen area. And it was clean and well stocked for cooking small meals. The location is great if you're planning to ski at Sugar Bowl. With good road conditions, it's less than 15 minutes to Mt Juda parking lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Great location next to Donner lake.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Overall excellent. Great value for money. Supermarket and great restaurants all within about 10 minute drive. Room and kitchen was clean, comfortable (except fold out sofa bed which was abysmal as usual) and modern. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price (in winter).

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Total update inside - feels very bare with concrete stairs etc.
Location: Great spot on Donner lake and next to ski resorts.
I stayed in Motel 6 the day before on a ski trip to Tahoe for half the price of this hotel, and the Motel 6 was much nicer. I can see the appeal in summer being right on the lake. But the hotel itself is pretty basic. It felt like a boy scout hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Daily maid. Easy access to many ski runs.
Cons: Hallways walls are dirty and The musky smell need to be fix.
Location: Near to many ski runs
We were there the night before a biggest torm hit Truckee. The next morning, our car buried in snow and need to be dig out. We had to crawl on the ground to dig out 2 foot of snow by hands so we could access into the car. I wish the hotel could at least loan out a shovel to help remove the snow. Snow came down very heavily, It took us alsmost 2 hrs to finally to back the car out. All the guests were there on that day had to do the same thing. Would think twice before staying there again!