Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best kept secret in the Tahoe area

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Location, views, room size, condition of rooms, and staff.
Location: Very close to Boreal and Truckee.
I saw some mixed reviews of this hotel on Yelp, and was very pleasantly surprised. The one bedroom, plus living area with kitchen was very spacious, and included a balcony with a lake/mountain view. The room had been recently updated, the kitchen was complete with everything needed to make dinner, and the shared lounges at the corners of the building had AMAZING views of Donner Lake. Staff was very pleasant, and we didn't have any issues with hearing the neighbors. We will definitely be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable and great location

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: comfort and location
The room was very large for a hotel with a nice kitchen area. And it was clean and well stocked for cooking small meals. The location is great if you're planning to ski at Sugar Bowl. With good road conditions, it's less than 15 minutes to Mt Juda parking lot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Cruz, CA

Great location next to Donner lake.

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Overall excellent. Great value for money. Supermarket and great restaurants all within about 10 minute drive. Room and kitchen was clean, comfortable (except fold out sofa bed which was abysmal as usual) and modern. Staff were all very friendly and helpful. Will stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the price (in winter).

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Total update inside - feels very bare with concrete stairs etc.
Location: Great spot on Donner lake and next to ski resorts.
I stayed in Motel 6 the day before on a ski trip to Tahoe for half the price of this hotel, and the Motel 6 was much nicer. I can see the appeal in summer being right on the lake. But the hotel itself is pretty basic. It felt like a boy scout hostel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Pros: Daily maid. Easy access to many ski runs.
Cons: Hallways walls are dirty and The musky smell need to be fix.
Location: Near to many ski runs
We were there the night before a biggest torm hit Truckee. The next morning, our car buried in snow and need to be dig out. We had to crawl on the ground to dig out 2 foot of snow by hands so we could access into the car. I wish the hotel could at least loan out a shovel to help remove the snow. Snow came down very heavily, It took us alsmost 2 hrs to finally to back the car out. All the guests were there on that day had to do the same thing. Would think twice before staying there again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room condition OK

Posted Feb 27, 2017
The walls were paper thin and the TV next door sounded like it was in our room. Location is good however smaller "lodgette" rooms do not face the lake. Person at reception was not welcoming. Room cleaning only changed linens but did not take away dirty coffee cups. Why provide a coffee maker if you are not going to clean the cups? Or else, give some dish detergent and put a sign that we have to wash cups ourselves.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from concord

Great view of lake

Posted Feb 13, 2017
The hotel room we had had a great view and was comfortable. The TV was a little hard/frustrating to work but we survived! 😉
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Snowboarding in Boreal lived in this hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We arrived very late ~2am to the hotel. However, by informing them in advance about the late arrival, hotel has sent me room information so I can go directly without bother to check-in. The room is much comfy than any hotel I have lived in this price range, and it's only 8 minutes drive to Boreal Mountain Resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice clean and simple

Posted Feb 6, 2017
It was a cute room with board games, little kitchen and only a few minutes from boreal
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Needs Hot tub!

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: lake views
Cons: king size beds and hot tub please
Improvements to our experience would be the addition of a king size bed instead of queen and a hot tub on the premises.