Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Clean hotel on the beach

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Old structure, but well maintained and clean. Some rooms get noise from the busy street. Right on the beach. Breakfast is not bad. Fresh fruit would have been nice. Easy check in/out. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Great Lake View, Northstar shuttle pick-up was across the street...great location for snowboarding vacation!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

Rather dated, but clean

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Low cost, convenient location, clean, comfortable beds.
Cons: Update rooms, better breakfast (waffles, fruit, yogurt)
Location: Convenient to many ski resorts.
We stayed here during a ski vacation during Christmas break. It was the last hotel in the area, which is how we picked it. On the positive side, the motel is conveniently located. It is a short drive to Northstar and Squaw/Alpine. At the end of the day, the traffic was backed up for miles heading back to Truckee but clear in the King's Beach direction. The area also has a number of restaurants and a grocery store. The motel has free breakfast and there is a hot tub. The people in the office were very friendly. Our room had a fridge and a microwave. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. On the negative side, the motel was built in the 1950s and might not have been updated since then. The bathroom is really small, and there is no place to put soap or shampoo in the shower. The shower temperature adjustment is very sensitive. The free breakfast included only cereal, oatmeal, bagels, and raisin bread. Not a lot of options. When we checked in, they had booked our room incorrectly, so we did not get the room with the lake view. On our second to last day, they got confused and thought we were checking out that day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sacramento ca.

o.k.

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: the view from room was beautiful
Cons: train or focus staff about customer service
Location: location was excellent
forget about breakfast. I had a problem w/check out. the front office had a sign open 8am-10pm .when i checked out or tried to around 9:30am office closed no respond to bell.finally found someone who worked there to help me finally someone came out looked like she just got out of the shower. then she charged my credit card an additional $156.00. she then said she misread the computer and credit my credit card all this after i told the lady i was prepaid i have yet to see my credit on the credit card very un professional staff and poor service. lamps in room did not work called front desk person came unable to fix,said he would be back the next day-never did. I am thinking about never again using exedia. seem to have problems w/customer service
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price and location but the hotel is old

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Location is real good, on the beach and close to restarants. Recommend eating at Jasson's! Down sides: The place is old and needs some uplifts. Leaky toilet kept us up until we put in ear plugs....really? Had to call front desk to come out and lite the heater.. Pilot lite was out. Indoor Hot tub jets need replacing; they know it but said its too expensive. But do want to say it's a nice view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JOHN from Seattle

Quick Stop at King's Beach

Posted Oct 22, 2015 on Hotels
short stay. great location. we did opt for the least expensive room and it was tiny - particularly the bathroom. Staff was very nice and loaned us some PFDs for our sailing trip which was much appreciated
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice, close to lake

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Pleasant, clean , close to lake
Cons: I think its in need of remodel, but otherwise very good.
Was there on business trip, would like to come back for vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Carson CIty, NV

Great place for families, right on lake

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: How big the room was, right on lake, breakfast offered.
Location: Right next to beach, hiking and casinos nearby
We had a wonderful stay. Had a large, clean room. Great facilities, went in indoor hot tub and went down for walk on beach. The breakfast room was big with board games, nice basic continental breakfast. Helpful staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kent G. from Utah

Good for a quick overnight stay

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Good for a quick overnight stay, but the rooms were small and dated. They were clean and the staff was kind.