Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Elko NV

Posted May 31, 2016
We had a great time & I would totally recommend this place to others!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 1, 2016 by Ron P., Hotel Management
We are so pleased to hear that you had a great time here at Granlibakken Tahoe! Our wide variety of room types, great amenities, and location close to many Tahoe attractions is perfect for a getaway. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My home away from home

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Loved it... and will be back
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your positive review of your stay. We look forward to hosting you again soon!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from austin, tx

Greate hotel, in a beautiful area

Posted Mar 22, 2016
neat the lake and some greate ski resorts! Very close to the amazing Tahoe House Bakery & Gourmet, and the West Shore Market. Excellent!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our location close to Lake Tahoe as well as some of Tahoe's premier attractions and ski resorts is perfect for a winter getaway. We are glad that you enjoyed the Tahoe House and the West Shore Market, we love both of those eateries, and it's great being so close to some of Tahoe's best cafes. We hope that you will visit again soon!
4 out of 5
by Dawn from Miami, Fl

Kellermanns

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
The resort is reminiscent of Kellermanns from the dirty dancing movie. Not the most modern or luxurious hotel but absolutely endearing in its family camp atmosphere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of Granlibakken Tahoe! We often do get compared to a family camp, and we think that's a great comparison! With our wide variety of activities onsite, our hot buffet breakfast every morning, and our old-Tahoe charm, we can see why that comparison is made. We do our best to also offer guests comfortable and updated accommodations as well, and our rooms are all updated to a minimum standard. We hope that you will visit again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2016 on Hotels
Loved the breakfast and their sledding on site. I wish the room was more modern. Think green carpeting and holes in the couch cushions. Could be a real gem if the rooms were nicer. My family had a great time there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our hot buffet breakfast is included in all rates, and our sledding hill is half-priced for lodging guests, which is a great value. Our rooms are individually owned, but we work with the homeowners to update the rooms to a minimum standard. Your feedback will help us to encourage homeowners to update their rooms so that all of our units are more modern and comfortable for guests. Again, thank you for your feedback, and we hope that you will stay with us again soon.
4 out of 5
by Michele

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect home base for family ski trip

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Our family of 4 stayed in a studio for our family ski trip. Loved the hot breakfast and sledding onsite. Close to alpine and squaw. The hotel's GM even helped me put on our snow chains!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your glowing review! Our hot buffet breakfast is included in all rates, and is a great value. Our location close to many of Tahoe's premier ski resorts is perfect for a winter vacation, and our staff is always happy to help make your getaway a success. We hope that you will visit again soon!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Concord, CA

Great adventure resort for couples and families

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Room was very clean and the hot breakfast was stellar.
Location: A 5 minute drive (or 25 min walk) to the town center (Tahoe City). Great skiing, snowshoeing, hiking, and tubing nearby.
Great value, location, and one of the better breakfast buffet I've seen for a lodge/resort. My room was a last minute booking and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room and amenities at this resort. I would definitely come back again and this lodge will be my top choice. Room: solid 4 star room. Clean, modern, functional, and well heated. The room was small but I wasn't spending my entire day in the room. The heated floor in my bathroom was a bonus. Breakfast: I was expecting a continental breakfast and was surprised by the full hot breakfast. Eggs benedict, toast, fresh fruit, bread pudding. etc. A great value for the price of the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! Our hot buffet breakfast is served daily, and is a great value, with a variety of options for everyone. Our location in a 74 acre wooded valley close to Tahoe City and many of Tahoe's attractions is perfect for a winter or a summer getaway. We hope that you will visit again soon!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Kind of old, nothing fancy, but love the location

Posted Mar 3, 2016
Pros: Location in the woods.
Cons: The rooms are really dated. They are clean, but it's basic old pine, plain carpets, no design style at all and some things are a little old.
Location: Hiking, x-country skiing, alpine skiing, food / stores in Tahoe City.
The resort is tucked away in the woods about a mile from Tahoe City. You can walk it to town if you feel like it. It's really peaceful out there and the resort overcomes it's lack of polish through the strong setting. If you like a glitzy and trendy room, this isn't the place for you. It's super basic, even rustic both in style and age. Carpets, beds, curtains are in good shape, but decor items aren't high-end (or stylish). Note: I stayed in the main lodge in a single room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Our location in a 74 acre wooded valley is perfect for a getaway, close to many of Tahoe's premier resorts and attractions. Our rooms are simple, with an old-Tahoe feel, but we try to appoint the rooms comfortably for our guests. We hope that you will visit again soon!