Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Cozy, Can't beat the view, but dated...

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: The view and the proprietor were very welcoming.
Cons: Amenities are a little sparse, but in fairness, our visit was very short. The price was high but we told our to just enjoy the view and fresh air.
Location: A couple of good restaurants on the strip, as well as a Safeway, and Stateline is about a 15 minute drive.
I wish there was a way to communicate that our pets were coming on our visit through Expedia, but plan on calling the Holiday House directly to advise that your pet(s) are coming, if you choose to book through Expedia. Our host was very pleasant and welcoming, and it was almost as if she had invited us into her home. Plenty of local knowledge and ideas for "out of towners". The room that we stayed in had incredible views and was almost as if it was suspended over the Lake. The room was sufficient for what we needed, but don't expect much in the way of extravagancies. The room had a definite ‘70’s feel as if that had been the last time any updates had been made. The shower, however, was very good and didn’t lack for water pressure! Although dated The Holiday House was clean and homey.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley, CA

Affordable rooms close to the water, creaky walls

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Pros: It had a usable kitchenette and wasn't too expensive.
Cons: Fix creaking walls. Fix oven door.
Location: Driving distance from ski resorts, the reason we stayed here
The room was large enough to fit everyone in our party. Our room was on the 1st floor. When guests on the 2nd floor walked around, our walls creaked and could also the foot steps of the upstairs guests. The kitchenette was stocked with enough plates and silverware, but the oven door didn't fully close so it took longer for food to cook since heat kept escaping. Probably best suited for college students on a budget just staying for a weekend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great view, nice patio. I love the innkeeper/owner

Posted Sep 2, 2015
We loved the location. The view is amazing. The patio is relaxing. The innkeeper/owner is very sweet. Parking is easy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Novato, CA

great view but needs to be updated

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Cons: The facility
The host/owner is wonderful... the scenery spectacular...the facility old. Because of all its good points I'd go back and stay again, but would really love it if it were updated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent lakefront location!

Posted Jul 30, 2015
Location: Laudromat right next to hotel, lots of restaurants but not all are dog friendly.
We just returned from a delightful 4 day, 3 night stay at Holiday House's suite#5. This particular suite is situation on the ground floor right in front of the lake! The patio between the suite and the beach was well appointed with comfortable seating and a BBQ grill. Alvina, the owner, was so very welcoming and gave us a quick tour of how to access the beach when we arrived. The suite itself was comfortable and clean. Yes, it did show its age but our delight at the location and Alvina's excellent customer service more than made up for that. There is a Murphy bed in the lounge area and a large queen sized bed in the bedroom. The kitchenette includes a fridge and gas stove as well as pots, pans, silverware, dish detergent, salt, pepper and cooking oil. The sink came with dish liquid and sponge for cleaning up and Alvina changed the towels every day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

It's all about the view.

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The view is spectacular. But the rooms were like you stepped back in time. Everything is functional but definitely should be in a museum. The location and staff were wonderful. Recommend if all you don't spend much time inside your room. And in Lake Tahoe you shouldn't be spending anytime in there at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Appreciate that dogs are welcome. Good for winter sports as shuttle to skiing near. Right on beach for summer sports.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures can be misleading

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: The view is the only thing that we liked.
Cons: Everything needs to changed and updated in this place.
My husband and I wanted to get away for a few days before I started the school year again. I searched on Expedia for a place to stay along the lake and looked at Holiday House. The pictures were wonderful and the price fairly reasonable. There were cheaper places with more amenities that included free breakfast, sons, hot tub, fireplaces. But this place had a phenomenal view and showed beautiful flowers on balconies, nicely appointed rooms, etc. When we arrived we found a very run down rooms, the shower was mildewed and the door of the shower was rusted. The hair dryer had never been cleaned and I had to clean it myself before I could use it. The bedroom was disgusting. I could not sleep the first night because I thought something will crawl on me. The second night I wore long johns and long sleeve shirt because I did not want my body to be touching the sheets. The stove was .... I think you are getting the picture. The place has not been renovated since the 1970's (I think).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr. from Channel Islands, CA

Worth Coming Back To, 9 yrs + Counting!

Posted Mar 4, 2014
I'm reluctant to share this gem. I want to keep it a secret! It's on the lake, and by that I mean you'll see and hear the waters lashing at the shore. You'll see spectacular vistas of the mountains surrounding the lake. It's woodsy, but civilized enough. No flat screen TV's. Free wireless, but you know, I didn't access email once, during this last trip. It's pet friendly, and the proprietress, Alvina, has a beautiful German Shepard, to whom you might have the good fortune to be gently introduced. I think it's very romantic, and my wife agrees. Our two children also love it. It's about three miles to the Nevada state line, so there are casinos and ski areas, nearby. If you believe in supporting wonderful, family owned and operated, one-of-a-kind places, that really appreciate your business, I recommend it, highly. But it isn't a Holiday Inn. There are plenty of plastic places like that, especially on the South Shore. It's the Holiday HOUSE. And it feels like one!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Glenn from colorado

Great rustic getaway

Posted Jun 6, 2013
Pros: Awesome view!
Cons: Can't think of any
Location: Right on Lake Tahoe - rocky beach, but nice access just a little ways away
This was one of the few hotels that actually faced the lake - a real jewel with only 6 suites. It was a beautiful view - could not get enough of the scenery through the huge windows. The kitchenette was perfect for breakfast and lunch preparation and even a simple dinner - small refrigerator, coffee machine, microwave, toaster, small cooktop and oven. I don't go on vacation to cook, so it worked out well for my husband and me. It is very rustic - tongue and groove pine paneling in all rooms, even the bathroom. Coffee, Tazo tea, salt and pepper, and sugar were all provided by Alvina, the owner, who is a jewel herself. Comfortable bed with lovely sheets, fresh towels everyday if you want them, nice sofa was a queen sleeper but we never opened it, lots of chairs/pillows/coverlets outside on the deck for your comfort. If you like rustic, charming inns, you will love the Holiday House. If you like the glitz and luxury of the Ritz-Carlton or the Sheraton, you might not be happy here - but you will miss a great experience!