Ratings based on 351 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Appreciated dog friendly room

Posted May 7, 2017
Clean, convenient, good breakfast, friendly staff - all good!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Some improvements are needed

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Nice hotel but later time for breakfast would be appreciated. Many people come to stay at hotel to relax and unwind and getting up at 8am to get breakfast is not something that we had in mind when planning our trip. When you're on vacation from work, you want to sleep in!!! Especially is you're a night owl. Another thing that could be improved is the pool. Ventilation there is almost nonexistent and the air and the water are so warm that it doesn't make for a very good swimming environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice location if no highway closure

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Indoor swimming pool and breakfast for the family.
We chck in about 1-1/2 hours before scheduled time. Staff is nice to verify readiness. Location near a lot of restaurants, dinning will have no problem. Room is clean, and indoor swimming pool with spa are great. Location to south Lake Tahoe is about 20 mins drive, if no road closure due to the slide at top of cross over at California. Extra 20 mins spend on detour through Hwy 50.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous drive over the mountain to Lake Tahoe

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Location: Great location - close to Minden - ate at Overland Restaurant
Nice folks in lobby with good recommendation about where to dine
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 27, 2017
We were given a room to the end of the hall. The room smelled not fresh, apparently this room isn't being used(hence cleaned) often. The the window curtain was very sheer, and the blackout curtain was only for styling, couldn't be closed at all. It was late when we arrived, so we didn't bother changing the room. Cleanliness was fine, and surrounding was very quiet. The staff was friendly. Overall ok experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Minutes from Heavently ski.

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Hotel is better than expected. The condition is as new and the services was great. Stayed here for 2 nights, great price, supper clean. Breakfast was good and plenty. Overall our family of 4 had an excellent stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Conveniently close to Kingsbury and Lake Tahoe

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Proximity to South and North lake Tahoe makes this hotel a nice destination for ski lovers or just to visit the casinos. Fairly close to hiking trails. Keep in mind that you will need to cross the mountain to go to all these places, therefore, in the winter this could be a challenge. The hotel is nice but you will hear your neighbors. We didn't use the facilities as pool and jacuzzi. Overall nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
by Nayeli

Great for traveling family

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable rooms, everyone was friendly and professional.
5 out of 5
by Rudy

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
My stay was very comfortable thanks to the friendly staff. Thank you Golden for your hospitality.