Ratings based on 725 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Pros and cons, quality has been slipping

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: 1) good sleep - beds are very comfortable 2) good sleep - fairly quiet in evenings 3) price is reasonable, if you wait for good price 4) good location
Cons: See prior comments. This place is not something my wife would enjoy, but for my son and I just into the skiing, anGiven state of this last trip, will
Location: Good central location. Lots of things very close, California Heavenly, CVS, good restaurants.
Have been twice last season (old mgmt) and twice this season(new mgmt). Under new management, quality is slipping. Old management - hot tub was at least available for use, even though not the cleanest/nicest by a long shot. Now they just keep it closed. Pool is disgusting. Before, the breakfast quality was better, decent actually. Now, it is not as good, with fewer options, and is not kept stocked up. Sunday night 4/16/17 was clearly quiet with only a few cars in the lot. Got up next morning to get breakfast before driving out at 7:30, and the did not even bother to open up the breakfast area, and in fact the door was locked, no management in sight. No sign about breakfast closure. Very disappointing. Under old management things seemed to be kept in good working condition. Now, there are things under repair seemingly all over the place, with stairs closed, water dripping on you as you walk up stairs, things in room in bad shape. Extension cord completely worn, one light not working, extremely low water pressure in sink and shower, and the cleaning service clearly skimping. They did only the basics, and for example the bathroom mirror was still dirty, and some of the carpet was clearly not vacuumed. My wife would not enjoy staying here, that is for sure. But for my son and I ski trip for 3 nights, it has been ok. But this last trip's accommodations dropped. Will try elsewhere next time.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not much to write home about.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Major room renovation.
The place has seen better days. Not sure how old this place is, but it is a little on the run-down side.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SAC CA

NOT CLEAN NOR GOOD

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: NOTHINGEVERYTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: DIRTY DIRTY
VERY BAD SUPER BAD STAFF VERY TIRED DIRTY LAZY TIRED STAFF
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We decided to go to this hotel instead of motel 6 based on what we saw on the web. Pictures on Expedia website isn't accurate AT ALL!!! If you try to find motel to sleep in between your mountain/ski activities, go to Motel 6. At least their building is newer (so that door closes!) and pictures are accurate. We had 1 king size bed room which should have amenities for 2. The room was nasty. Chairs had stains all over and food between cushions etc. bedding is really thin. There was only 1 chair so we requested another one to sit by table. Then we found no towel at all so requested, coffee pot was dirty, no extra blancket, No shampoos all we got was 3 bottles of conditioners... we got tired of requesting things which should have been in the room when we checked in. Only good thing about this hotel was that staff were nice when we requested missing items, like towel and shompoo.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

STAY AWAY!!!

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: ROOM WAS FILTHLY AND OLD. LITERALLY FALLING A PART.
Cons: CLEAN THE FRIGGIN' ROOM. FIX EVERYTHING IN THE ROOM.
Location: LOCATION IS OKAY.
This was our 2nd stay here. When we stayed here for the first time last year, we were pleasantly surprised by okay room, facility, cleanliness, etc. However, this year was totally different. When we checked in, the room was absolutely FILTHY. The carpet was full of dust and other debris. In particular, the bathroom was gross. We had to do a full round of sanitizing ourselves before we were able to settle in. We stayed for 3 nights and throughout the stay, we put the "do not disturb" sign on the door knob b/c we did not trust the housekeeper. I don't know what happened since last year but I know the hotel management changed from a Chinese folks to an Indian folks this year. Yes, the room rate is attractive but IT IS NOT WORTH staying here, IMO. Will not recommend this hotel. PLEASE STAY AWAY unless you like sleeping in an absolute DUMP.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Loved the joining rooms we had since we were one big family
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bay area

Need improvement

Posted Mar 19, 2017
The location is good and staff were nice, but one cannot compromise on cleanness and I found several hairs on the bathroom floor that a one minute vacuum could fix.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

This room was filthy

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We arrived to find the garbage van in our room full of wet pee soaked diapers making our room smell terrible! The floors were not vacuumed and most of the lights did not work in our room ! I will never stay here again and do not recommend anyone staying here !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Wanted a clean inexpensive place to sleep near Heavenly. Several places to eat within walking distance which made it just right for my needs.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sac

room ok, service poor

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: maid service. Curry smell. Better breakfast
Location: Good location
Lobby and eating area stink like curry. Had to approach maid to get room cleaned, and when she came in she asked if I wanted each thing done, like yes, Vacuum, yes, I want clean towels, yes, please make the bed. Just resisted doing anything, and the days I wasn't there, nothing was attended to, even though I hung the sign out to clean. Juice machine for included breakfast never had any juice in it. Internet off and on all the time and was always slow. Just another roach motel in South Tahoe.