Ratings based on 559 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great all the way around

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Wonderful and accommodating staff; great location;
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Posted Jul 9, 2017
It's a very nice resort with ample of space in its townhouse style condos. We stayed in a 3 bed-room condo and the kitchen was a nice and welcome surprise. Would like to stay there again! Few things though: Resort amenities like swimming pool, spa etc were not easy to find out (and you pay extra per person for them - like $3/person - and this is in addition to $15 resort fee/day). There is no daily cleaning/room service. Although they provide you with lots of extra bed-sheets and toiletries, so I guess that's not an issue if you are staying only for 2,3 days. For longer stays, please talk to staff in advance. It's in North (Truckee) - so everything in South Tahoe is like 1.5 hours drive, which is a bummer if you are planning to visit beautiful beaches in south e.g. Pope beach etc. But on the other hand, north side beaches like King's beach, which is awesome as well, is just 10 minutes drive. Would recommend this place.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Don't let the photos fool you.

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: not the room, not the location, not comfortable.
Cons: a better, more accurate description of where the room was located and letting us know that the bed was in the wall.
Location: Things to do nearby were not that near.
Many photos are of the Northstar Village where the restaurants and shops are located. There are photos of large buildings with hotel like comforts with a skating rink in front. Our room was actually in a building far away from this in a hilly area with many stairs and no elevators. The room looks like it was from the 1980's and never updated. The big surprise was the murphy bed that was very difficult to pull down from the wall. Not what we expected at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Cons: Better upkeep on the cleanliness ( ie dust on tables)
Great condo but a tad dusty on the tables and chairs
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rocklin

Nice house near North Star Village

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Pros: The room was very clean. There was great amenities; the kitchen had all the utensils we needed. It even had a washer and dryer.
Location: Boutique shopping in the North Star Village. Roller skating, bungee jumpee, panning for gems, miniature golf and rock climbing for the kids!
The overall experience was awesome. It is a perfect home away from home for a family of 4. The location is near the Northstar Resort so you have full access to the North Star Villege which is super cute.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super quiet ski condo in June

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: Beautiful setting, lovely update room, super quiet and private.
Cons: Balcony would be great.
Location: Northstar resort has ski village eateries and shops, Truckee and kings beach more charming and locally used restaurants. Ski, kayak, raft, bike, hike.
This ski in and out condo is under the lifts and up the hill from the central ski resort "village." In June, super quiet almost nobody there and beautiful wooded setting. The resort village itself was shut down so maybe it was a little TOO quiet, but we drove 10 miles to the lake to find lots of people, restaurants and noise. Condo beautiful, clean, updated and comfortable. View of woods and the gondola also lovely. No balcony in most of these condos...would have liked a balcony. No air conditioning which is not a problem even on warm days, if you open windows at night, and close it up during the day. We had 84 during day and 48 at night! Overall very nice experience, super quiet and stars at night awesome!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick Trip to Tahoe, first stay at Northstar

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Our Studio would be great for a few days (full kitchen).
Cons: Not going to invest here, time or dollars.
Location: See not above; one has to drive out to Truckee to get any services, meals, etc.....
We decided on spur of the moment to take a trip to the lake to check out some of the historic homes, Vikingholm, etc. Room rates were similar to Incline where we normally stay, so we gave Northstar a try. Our room was fine, if no AC...but very pleasantly cool in the evening. What we found interesting and curious was the Village. Starbucks, the realty, a toy store and a candle shop were basically the only things open. Perhaps more were, but it's hard to pin down since few establishments follow their posted hours. We get 'Tahoe Time', but from a business perspective..... "What is the Point?". Northstar is Winter focused, OK. Otherwise there's no real point to stay here during the other seasons......
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

A nice place to relax

Posted Jun 3, 2017
Our condo was on the 3rd floor. Quiet, peaceful with a very nice view. It was everything you need. The village was empty. Shops and restaurants closed early. Overall it's a nice place to relax. 15 mins away from Kings Beach
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous stay

Posted May 30, 2017
The room was gorgeous until I went to the bathroom to turn the shower on when I was greeted by 3 spiders one was so big I couldn't even take the picture because he was so big and fast. I called the front desk and was moved to another location which was bigger and beautiful. I would highly recommend this location. Accommodation was great. The spiders not so much yikes
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkeley

Nice condo close to Northstar

Posted May 1, 2017
The condo was very well equipped with cooking and bedding paraphernalia. This particular condo was located right next to a stream, which adds to the serenity. The Northstar resort staff were easily reachable by phone and responded promptly to any requests. My only gripe is that the description said that the condo can sleep 8, while it could only sleep 6 comfortably on bed. The resort staff sent over a sleeping pad for the 7th person in the group, which worked out okay.