Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice, affordable hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2016
Stayed there for a night while on a ski trip. The rate was affordable, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and well equipped and the breakfast was better than expected. Overall, pleasing experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Rustic vibe in older remodeled section

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Minimal space in rooms, but well maintained and clean. There is a newer tower, but we were in the old motel section. They had very comfortable beds, very clean. Have added "Tahoe rustic" touches. Fine for a brief stay of a few days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Wonderful view!

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Interesting building. Rooms are nice but slightly small for two adults. The view from 5th floor is incredible - sunrise and the lake Tahoe. Very nice breakfast in comfortable room with enough tables. Bed and toiletries are great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good motel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
our room was on the 5th floor and I would recommend getting a room high up if you can. awesome views of the lake on the balcony. room was ordinary fridge microwave coffee and clean. the breakfast was good location great right across from the lake food and shops. only negative was the elevator is slow, there are stairs right next to it that worked fine for us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Parking is critical, lot fills up fast, two small covered parking area. Other than waffles no other hot food, no meat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Nice room with view and all the comfort

Posted Sep 14, 2016
We had excellent experience during our stay. The hotel provided all the comfort and convenience for a home away from home. It provides free breakfast, laundry facility for a small fee, and all the toiletries needed. The room deco makes one feel like at home , cozy and pleasant. The premises have seasonal flowers planted and filled the ground space. On top of all these, we had a lake view from our room. The staff are helpful and welcoming. I previously read reviews about traffic noise as it is off the main Lake Boulevard road. But we didn't have any issue with the noise as Tahoe City is relatively quiet compared to South Lake Tahoe. I was pleased that I chose Tahoe City over South Lake Tahoe. The former had the resort feel and has everything within walking distance.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from santa cruz,ca

Nice hotel great staff

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We got in late after 8pm the staf was great,helped us find parking for my big truck. The room was clean. It is the room you walk into and you just can tell they have gone an extra bit to make it nice. Road noise was at times load. With that said I would stay there again. Good value for Tahoe area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Great location and view of lake

Posted Aug 10, 2016
No air conditioning and room was very small. The location was excellent and rate was reasonable but breakfast was inadequate.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rancho cucamonga

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The hotel was ok & the staff was nice & helpful. The "continental breakfast" was ok. I would have preferred a better fruit selection. No air conditioning! Really?!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We enjoyed our stay!

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Pros: Friendly staff, made an extra effort to get us a room with a view. Great view from upper floors. Nice, clean, comfortable rooms.
Cons: Labeling on breakfast for people with allergies or dietary restrictions. The history section in the visitors book about who "discovered" Lake Tahoe.
Location: Centrally located in Tahoe City - walking, biking, boating, kayaking, dining are right there. Easy access to fantastic hiking spots.
We were looking for a place to stay so we could enjoy the North Lake Tahoe Area. We didn't need anything luxurious, just something clean and comfortable and this hotel fit the bill. The view was a huge plus.