Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

2.8 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
for the price I expected something better. was dirty and smell bed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good enough

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: great value (cost) weekdays.
Cons: Could be updated. THE SIGNAGE (MOTEL NAME) NEEDS TO BE LIT AT NIGHT, OTHERWISE IT IS HARD TO FIND.
Location: It's a great location, near just about everything south lake has to offer.
Look, you are probably someone that is NOT picky if you are looking at a 2 star hotel. That is me. I'm NOT picky, as long as it is clean, the bedding is clean, the bathroom is clean, I'm good to go. So if you are NOT high maintenance, and just need a place to lie your head, It is a decent value. If you care about cable wires coming out of the wall or broken appliances lying around under the stairs, this ain't your place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The staff was extremely honest and pleasant.

Posted Feb 2, 2017
Pros: The management was up front, polite and honest.
Cons: Mother nature!
Location: The hotel is on the main roadway, U. S. 50 and there are plenty of things that can be done in walking distance. Walking is best.
The weather was horrible as it snowed and there was far too much snow to move off the property. This was a problem throughout Tahoe. However, the accommodations were outstanding. Some of the rooms have fireplaces and some do not. However, I was in a room that did not, but I received a huge discount. I believe this is a great place to stay if you want something that is different, warm, and with great managers. Joseph P. Puccio
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roof over your head.

Posted Jan 31, 2017
It's a place to sleep. Wasn't noisy. Was ok. That's about it. You need a place to sleep and don't care about fancy then crash here. Just another of dozens of small hotels in South Lake. Maybe a notch lower than motel 6, but not bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yosemite, CA

Pinewood is a gross hell hole.

Posted Jan 15, 2017
As soon as I walked in with the key. There was trash on the floor and next to tv. No cold water in the sink. One light bulb in the whole room. Room smelled horrible. Asked for a different room but was told they didn't have one. There were only 4 people staying in the whole hotel. They are liars. I will NEVER stay here again. I asked for a downstairs room as I have 2 knee replacements. They told me nope upstairs is where my room is.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2016
Low cost and new frills but excellent value. Recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California Native

Basic needs met

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Not bad if all you need is a bed to sleep, a toilet and shower to do your business. Room was tight, but I didn't mind. Had a mini fridge, but the door had problems staying shut. A couple tables a couple chairs made for ample counter space. Shower is way to small and water easily leaks out and puddles the bathroom floor. It was difficult to set the thermostat. Too hot or too cold. But I didn't mind since I had my sweetheart with me. Room was old and dated, but they did just install a flat panel television and the free wifi was super fast. It could use newer bedsheets and towels. It got the basic job done. Just needed a place to clean up and sleep after a day of snowboarding. I would return. But not for a honeymoon or romantic getaway or anything like that.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

will not stay

Posted Dec 12, 2016
very close to highway 50, traffic noise is loud, could not fall sleep easily
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 30, 2016
It was fine only bad thing was that the bathroom was freezing but that was very minor issues
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

inexpensive at $50 but bare bones

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
very old building but for price, one of the cleaner ones i've seen. staff/owners were friendly.