Ratings based on 800 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ski in, ski out hotel at Squaw Valley

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: The proximity to the Squaw Creek ski lift was the reason we chose this hotel.
Cons: The food was pretty bad. I bought a pastrami sandwich at the deli. It was a pre-assembled sandwich which had been heated in the microwave. As a resul
Location: Good skiing.
We checked in for two days of skiing at Squaw Valley. The hotel was clean, the room was comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mill valley ca

Awesome ski in ski out hotel

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Great mid week with short lift lines and comfy room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Easy access to ski lift. Very nice view from our room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great winter ski vacation with kids

Posted Apr 10, 2017
We got hit by a storm and Most of the lifts were on a wind hold. The concierge desk had board games for the family and they opened up an arts and crafts table right next to the bar in the lobby. The view from the lobby is absolutely gorgeous. The only bummer is the pool and hot tubs are all outside and a short (but freezing) walk to the hotel- not the best with kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Operated impeccably. Great value. Posh amenities. Negatives: having to walk outside to get to rooms. Odd for a winter resort. Red Dog chair didn't run on weekedays, so we had to catch a shuttle. No ski-in like we expected. Shuttle only runs til 10:30pm. Cab took over an hour to get from village, less than 2 miles away. Hotel is beautiful, clean and we'll run otherwise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by Andre Priemer, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Traveler, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Squaw Valley ski area controls when the lifts run, due to weather and safety. We are sorry if the lift was not running when you were here and we apologize for the inconvenience. We look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Tahoe again soon. Sincerely, Andre Priemer, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Outdated. Overpriced.

Posted Apr 9, 2017
We arrived at the resort around dinner time, and by the time we went out to eat (8:15pm) we couldn't find anything open but the pub. Unfortunately the service was very poor and the food quality was appalling. It's unclear why a 4 star resort would even offer such awful food. The resort doesn't keep up with the demands of today's traveler. It's seems overly outdated and increadably overpriced. $120/day + tax for kids club?! No thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ski in Ski out Tahoe

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Ski in and Ski out
Cons: Open more of the eating facilities on a daily basis
Great place and great experience issue was on the resturants they only had one open out of 3 each night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Lovely Venue Lacks Commitment to Customer Service

Posted Apr 7, 2017
After a great first time skiing experience for the kids in February decided to come back to Squaw for Spring Break. Stayed at the Village in February decided on the Resort at Squaw Creek for this visit. The trade off of the Village vs. the Resort in regards to proximity to Squaw Kids, restaurants and hotel conditions is a wash. The Resort is in a spectacular venue with technically everything you need in one location. It is real disappointing that the Resort over time has lost its commitment to customer service. Lot of young faces with no training on first class customer service. Night manager Ryan listened to my issues regarding long wait problems at Sandy's Pub and said he called the restaurant manager. Yet he never went down to ascertain the issues and gave me an excuse that he has no restaurant experience so he can't help. ???Restaurant manager owned the problem and after prodding from a helpful staffer named Jimmy came to see me and apologized. Jimmy should take Ryan's job. The facility is noticeably becoming deteriorated with the outdoor stairs needing repair work throughout the Resort. I know, the Manager does not know how to do concrete work. I read some earlier Expedia reviews and some negative comments were responded to by management. Now it seems management let's these negative reviews post without a response because they do not care what their customers think more importantly they don't care what they experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No Longer Customer Friendly

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Great location and beautiful scenery.
Cons: Forma customer service training for management.
Location: Ski and dog sled.
After a great first experience for the kids skiing at Squaw a month before during the President's Weekend, we decided to come back again to take advantage of the awesome winter snowfall. Stayed at the Viilage earlier and decided to stay at the Resort this time around. Was a guest maybe five years ago during the summer and we had a blast. Golfing, hiking and enjoying the outdoors at a great location. At the time, the service was 5 star. Something happened in the last five years. I certainly did not feel that my experience at the Resort mattered to management. It was the night of the NCAA BB championship game and Sandy's Pub was packed. The hostess was over her head with stress and a real difficulty communicating as English is her second language. Guest were lined up waiting to post their names and understand what the projected wait times were. 15 minutes pass without the hostess evening coming up front to address the guests. I ask the hotel manager to see what he can do and he informs me he has no experience in restaurant management but will let the restaurant manager know. Weird answer. 30 minutes pass and finally we are able to get our names down. Tables are slow in turning because of the game but there are tables now open without any movement in getting waiting patrons seated. Express my disappointment again to hotel manager who says he will call the restaurant manager. Never did I feel that management cared about my issues.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Great Ski In Ski Out Hotel/Resort

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Great ski-in, ski-out option
Cons: I can't think of a thing
Location: Close to everything.
Great facility and hospitality, will definitely stay there again, winter or summer. Loved the ski-in, ski-out availability, the choice in restaurants and amenities (pool, spa, rental, stores, ice skating, etc.) Great for families and couples. I would recommend the Resort to anyone interested in skiing Squaw.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by an, Hotel Management
Dear Rowena, Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Lake Tahoe again soon. Sincerely, Andre Priemer, General Manager