Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by James from Georgia

Lake view from noisy balcony only

Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted a room on Lake Tahoe but not in the middle of a lot of activity (South Lake Tahoe, Stateline). We were unable to book a Lakefront room at Sunnyside so opted for a "partial view" room. However, the partial lake view is not from within your room but is from your balcony. But if you are on the balcony, the road noise is significant. The room is quiet if you close the sliding glass door. Room 20 is closest to the road and also the stairwell. Rooms higher from 20 are farther from the road (we were in 22, still too close). Rooms 40-44 are ground level, close to the road, and face the parking lot. In general, the room was dark.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of Lake Tahoe.

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: The view, first of all. Secondly, the food at the restaurant was fabulous.
Cons: There is no elevator to the second floor. No one offered to bring our bags upstairs. This might be a reason not to stay
We booked a king lake front room on the second floor. Incredible view of Lake Tahoe. Watching the sun rise in the morning was a treat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Wonderful Place!

Posted May 13, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Loved the views! So nice to sit by the fire with a drink and enjoy the stunning view of Lake Tahoe.
Cons: The coffee was terrible. I expect more from an upscale Lodge!
Location: Close to Emerald Bay, Tahoe City, and Nevada. All worth visiting.
Had a fantastic long weekend at lake Tahoe staying at Sunnyside Lodge. The room was very modern and the bed super cozy. Great views of the Lake from our room, the dining room and breakfast buffet. The hotel is also located minutes from Emerald Bay and Nevada for a relaxing visit!
4 out of 5
by Eric from Yuba City

Nice place, great location

Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
Great location on the lake. The food in the bar and restaurant is excellent. The hotel staff is awesome.
4 out of 5
by april

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
they have 'cookie' happy hour with tea and coffee which was a nice little treat. and a very simple and good breakfast in the morning. The bathroom in our room was not huge but it did have a separate shower/toilet and sink which was nice. The bedroom was clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. if you're noise sensitive I would ask for a room further away from the main lobby - this place gets packed in the summer as the deck is the best in the area so it would be loud
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auburn, CA

We've stayed at Sunnyside before and really like i

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Location- Location - coziness of the rooms - restaurant.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: Very close to Tahoe City where there is shopping and restaurants, gas, market, etc. Across the street is a great Breakfast and lunch restaurant.
This is a great resort right on the water. The rooms are comfortable and updated. They have an excellent restaurant! We have stayed at Sunnyside several times and have always been very happy with the accommodations. They provide a breakfast for the guests which is very nice.
5 out of 5
by margaret from Deland


Posted Mar 31, 2016 on Hotels
We were so sorry we couldn't stay longer. It was delightful. We didn't want to leave our room because of the view - unbelievable. For the price it was a great deal. The dining room was lovely and the food delicious. Fireplace, bar, deck, beach, and the view and location absolutely perfect.
5 out of 5
by Lisa from Bethesda

Super Sunnyside

Posted Mar 17, 2016 on Hotels
We loved the staff and family atmosphere. The food was terrific!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Feb 24, 2016
I accidentally made the reservation for the wrong night but they were very accommodating and were able to get me the same room. The bed is the comfiest I've ever slept in. Restaurant was really good too with very generous portions. This is an excellent place to when skiing at Squaw, Alpine Meadows, Homewood, or other nearby resorts.
5 out of 5
by Sarah from Bay Area, California

Excellent stay!

Posted Feb 18, 2016 on Hotels
I was very pleased. I can tell that the staff party's attention to every detail.