Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Great place to stay even in the off season. Rooms were quiet and clean. Would recommend to anyone
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful room and fun location

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Pros: Location, very nice, parking was easy and super secure. The suite was beautiful and the kitchen was top notch
Cons: We had new guests coming the second night and they charged us 20.00 to change the bedding
Location: Hiking biking casinos the lake
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Probably a great hotel in the winter.

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Orbitz
This hotel is very well situated for the winter. It is in the center of town and close to the lifts. We were surprised by the emptiness of the town in the summer. Our frustration with the hotel stems from a few things. First, the key card reader going from the garage to the elevator was not working. We had to get new key cards a few times to get into the hotel. Second, they were having problems with one of the garage doors, so they blocked it off. Glad they have two entrances into the hotel. Third, we woke up on a Tuesday to find out that there was no breakfast available anywhere in town. The one cafe that sells breakfast is closed on Tuesdays.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful location especially with children

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Tahoe Mountain Lodging is not quite a hotel, but rather we reserved a one bedroom suite in their Iron Horse building, which was more like a condo. The staff checks you in upon arrival, but then you do not hear from them again unless you pay extra for cleaning (cleaning after check out is included). The room was well furnished, had a spacious bathroom with bath and shower, kitchen, and bedroom with a comfortable king bed. We did pay $20/day for a crib for our son as well, which was difficult to fit in the bedroom. Northstar has great shops, restaurants, skating rinks, hiking, etc. and was very quiet during our visit in late August. It's a convenient location to both the lake and Truckee. We would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Not a fan of Tahoe Mountain Lodging Accommodations

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Pros: King bed was comfortable.
Cons: Just about everything.
There was no one at the desk during our evening check in at 8:15PM. The answering service could not provide clear direction as to where we could get the room key. Basic daily maid service was not included in the rate and was listed when we checked in as an extra charge. The room was billed as a suite and was simply one room, a narrow hallway, with a separate bathroom. So it really was just a hotel room like most others. The one closet was full of items such as a pull out roll away bed, bear skin rug, and other assorted items so there was little if any room to hang clothes. There was one bag of coffee grind for the in-room coffee machine, which was gone after two days and not refilled during our 5 day stay. No ice machine anywhere. No bathroom items such as the basics; soap, shampoo, conditioners, etc. were refilled during our entire stay. The trash cans were emptied only once as an apparent courtesy. The telephone didn't work.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, CA

Safe and comfortable

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: The facilities. The room. The location.
Cons: More trash bags available in the room.
Location: Perfectly located between Truckee, Donner lake, and North Lake Tahoe. Great fishing. King's Beach. Safeway (always crowded). Skating rink.
Very quiet and slow paced as it was summer. I imagine a much busier scene in the winter. And I'd like to go again when the snow is heavy. The condition of my 3 bedroom was unmatched! Truly spectacular, extremely clean and the beds and linens were so comfortable we didn't want to get out of bed! I had to leave my teens for hours at a time for some work, and I felt they were perfectly safe within the village. There is one store on the property for basic provisions, but I would say someone with a bigger inventory and better prices would make a killing with a small grocery store. I look forward to returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fell Short

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very small which made it difficult to move around. The temperatures in Tahoe were hot when we were there and the room had no air conditioning. The room got up to 79 degrees. When I called to see about a fan, I was told they could bring one the next day which did not help with sleeping. The hair dryer was broken as well. We really enjoyed the village, the location, and the pool but will not be booking at Tahoe Mountain Lodging again. Disappointed in what we got for the price.
5 out of 5
by Lori from Seattle

Posted Aug 9, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent accommodations . The only negative was that the tv reception was not good. Wanted to watch the Olympics and the picture was bad.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Beautiful and comfortable

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: It's clean and beautiful and well located.
Cons: The master bedroom bed had an extremely hard mattress. It was very hard for us to sleep on it. No reception attendance on Sundays :(
Overall, the experience was wonderful. It's clean and beautiful and well located. Few things to improve: 1. The master bedroom bed had an extremely hard mattress. It was very hard for us to sleep on it. It's a good idea to keep a soft mattress top in the closet additional to extra pillow and blanket in case if needed. 2. There is no reception attendance on Sundays which creates a problem sometimes. 3. A small grocery store near by would be very helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great village for mountain bikers

Posted Aug 5, 2016
Pros: Very nice!
While the village offered several dining, shopping, things to do opportunities, a coffee shop - where you could order a breakfast or late night snack would have been so nice! We always had to drive out or cook it ourselves! Something like a Mel's Diner- where you could get a great burger!