Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

we won't stay there again

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice.
Cons: Room could be better quality, everything needs to be updated.
Location: Walking distance to restaurants, and the lake is across the street.
Our room was right above the office, bad location, pool right below us, filled with tons of kids, all hours of the night, food in the hot tub, the room next door you could hear everything, seemed like paper walls. I wish for the price it was better, sadly disappointed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2015 by The Tahoe Vistana, Hotel Management
Hello T.B., Thank you for taking the time to submit a review of the Tahoe Vistana. We appreciate your feedback and take your recommendations to heart. We are in the process of renovating all of our guest rooms to match our modern rustic view of Tahoe. Perhaps we should have recommended a room farther back on the property away from the pool and the activity there. The kids do love to splash and play! The rooms up the hill are a bit more removed. The “Squirrel House” is at the back of the property, surrounded by trees, and has been fully renovated. We hope you’ll reconsider and come back again and try the Squirrel House, we’re confident it will better suit your needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san jose, california

Nice hotel close to the beach. Convenient location

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Pros: Convenient. Spacious room.
Cons: Bath room.
Location: Lake Tahoe!
Nice hotel close to the Beach (across the street). We had a suite with bunk beds. Perfect for children and parents! Bath room was old but clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by TVI, Hotel Management
Hello Julie, Thank you for your review. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay at the Vistana. We do love to host families here and glad you enjoyed the room with the bunk beds. We are in the process of updating the older rooms including bathroom upgrades with new showers, vanities, tile, paint, and decorations. We’d love to have you back on your next trip to Tahoe and let us know what you think of the improvements!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Average hotel. Didn't look like the pics online. Old hotel but clean and nice staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2015 by The Tahoe Vistana, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We knew when we bought the Inn two years ago that it was in need of serious renovations, and we’ve been steadily upgrading the rooms, furnishings, and fixtures since. Our new website offers more pictures of the newly updated rooms and more renovations are on the way! We so appreciate your compliments of our staff and cleanliness. When we travel, these are what we look for in a hotel and we’re glad that it shows at The Vistana.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Last minute reservation in Tahoe

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: We got a room.
Cons: Just about everything! Not ADA. Not modern. No room telephone. No wake up call capability. etc.
Location: North Shore Lake Tahoe just before Labor Day.
It was the last reservation available at 4:30 PM for the same night. Lucky to get a room. It was what you would expect - very basic. We spent the night and survived so it was all good!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Dog friendly clean hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: Nice complimentary breakfast. Clean room. Dog friendly.
Nice facility. Good size rooms. Dog friendly with a good trail to walk your dog from the hotel to a nearby park. Short drive to restaurants and shopping.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by TVI, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words. We love to hear that our guests (both two-legged and four-legged) had a great visit to Tahoe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, CA

Cozy, close to beach & nice restaurants.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
My fiancé & I had a wonderful time in Tahoe. Our room was walking distance to the beach. The receptionist was very friendly & recommended a great restaurant down the street. I would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by TVI, Hotel Management
We really appreciate your taking the time to write a review. We love the soft sandy beach in Tahoe Vista so much and love to share it with our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and we’re eager to provide recommendations to you for exploring all the great recreational activities in North Lake Tahoe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

Nice hotel, close to beach, friendly staff.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Quiet and peaceful. Beautiful room with a great view and gorgeous bathroom. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by TVI, Hotel Management
Hello Meg, We’re delighted you had such a great stay at The Vistana and we welcome your return. Tahoe Vista is our own little slice of heaven, and we’re so happy to share it with our guests. Thanks for acknowledging our staff, we think they’re terrific and so pleased that they helped make your stay a good one.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville,CA

Very cozy inn

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: I liked your price , cleanliness and it is near casinos and the beach. It was great to have a refrigerator , microwave , and propane BBQ.
Cons: An office phone to call for extra towels or coffee. And trim the cypress bush that has grown over the rail on the stairs near room 128.
Location: The location was superb. I was able to visit many restaurants and casinos. The quaint town of Truckee was delightful to explore.
I personally was very pleased with this Inn. I was in a cast and NEEDED a room with very little stairs. So they set me up with a room that had only 3 steps to manage on my crutches. Also I called and asked for early check in . I was told that someone would call me when the room was ready. Maria called me back three hours earlier than the actual check in time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2015 by TVI, Hotel Management
Hello Ellie, Thank you very much for your detailed review. We’re glad you liked our location and amenities We try to do what we can to make our guests’ stays as enjoyable as possible and happy that we were able to accommodate your early check-in. You’ll be pleased to hear that we did trim back the bushes and the trees that grow so prodigiously on our property. We hope you come back to the Tahoe Vistana soon and check out the upgrades to downtown Kings Beach that were completed this summer. The new street improvements and sidewalks make it a much more quaint and approachable pedestrian town…plus it’s right on the lake!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Dan Jensen from NC

Posted Jul 3, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed a couple of nights to finish up a trip that started in the bay, attendent was nice but hardly ever there to allow us to get a bike. Beds are fair, flat pillows but just across the street was the lake. Remodel on the unit next door was loud but needed to be done. Overall ok, won't stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by traveler 2 from Seattle

Great escape

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels
Staff could not have been more helpful. They wanted to be sure we had everything we might need.