Ratings based on 123 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lloyd harbor

Great spot great service!

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Exceeded our expectation. Great facility, great location and even better staff. Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from y

Comfortable and good service

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Good staffs, high standard service,beautiful hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wheaton, IL

Expect Expensive Compulsory Valet and Resort Fees

Posted Jul 7, 2015
Pros: Seclusion and its mountain views
Cons: The Daily Resort and Valet Fees are too steep. The upscale restaurant Manzanita needs to improve their menu. Spa Pool closing at 6 PM is absurd.
Location: You're far from the town proper since their location is secluded on a mountain top. You'll have to settle with their limited ammenities
Though the resort seems nice and well kept, we were not very pleased with how tiny the Deluxe Room is. The valet guys are very attentive thought I find the front desk staffs to be lacking enthusiasm. Funny we had to remind the front desk personnel that we’re celebrating our Birthdays and Anniversary and it was indicated in the reservation. If this was Hyatt Regency or Omni, they’ll not just greet us, but there’ll be a bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in the suite. But wait a minute this is Ritz Carlton so shouldn’t their reception be top of the line? We dined at Manzanita and though the service was good, the food was alright so for it to be upscale and pricey we were underwhelmed. Just an FYI, the gondola doesn’t operate during the spring and summer months. And most importantly, if you plan on heading to the Spa’s Adult Outdoor Pool don’t be surprised if they close by 6 PM because that’s just how it is. Honestly, who in their right mind will close the Pool at 6 PM? This is a resort for everyone to relax and unwind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear YoungProfs, I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay at The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe and we are pleased that you enjoyed the resort’s secluded setting, mountain views and excellent valet service. I apologize that you were disappointed with the resort’s daily resort and valet fees, the menu in Manzanita, deluxe room size and the spa pool hours. Further, I sincerely apologize for the lack of attention provided to you regarding the celebration of your important milestones during your stay and I can assure you that this is not typical of the level of service you can expect to receive at our resort. The resort gondola does operate in the summer months, but is limited to the weekends. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in Lake Tahoe. If you would like to discuss your visit or any concerns in more detail, I would be more than happy to discuss them with you. Sincerely, Joseph Mattioli, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lake Tahoe

Big disappointment

Posted Jun 23, 2015
I was in town for a wedding. I decided to treat myself by staying at The Ritz instead of the hotel where all the wedding guests were staying. I would just need to drive my car to the official hotel in order to catch a shuttle to the wedding location. The hotels were 5 mins apart, so on the wedding day I call 39 mins ahead of time just to insure my car would be there waiting for me. They say to call 7 - 10 mins ahead. When I hit downstairs my car wasn't there. I started to panic explaining the urgency of getting my car. The valets took another 10 - 15 mins to get my car, and did not even apologize for the delay. As a result, I missed the shuttle, and proceeded to get lost trying to find the complicated direction to the wedding site. As a result, I missed all But the last 5 mins if the ceremony. I was so upset I was in tears. The groom is like a son to me!! In addition, after returning home that night, I saw that there were numerous make up stains on my freshly made up bed sheets. I was so grossed out, I couldn't believe I was staying at The Ritz Carlton! To say it fell well beneath my expectations is an under statement! After this experience, I will Never stay a a Ritz hotel again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs to update

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Pros: Large comfortable room with great views.
Cons: The public spaces were not clean and certainly need a refurb. The restaurant menu needs bringing into 21st century and offer daily specials.
Location: Great small towns around north lake.
The hotels location being remote means you tend to be more dependant on its services. Staying there at the end of the ski season really exposes the need for a good clean and refurbishment of the public spaces. The restaurant menu was pretentious and lacked variety, no daily special or fresh simple food available. The menu never changes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, I appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay and we are pleased that you enjoyed the large comfortable guest rooms with great views. I apologize that you were disappointed with the resort’s public space cleanliness at the end of the ski season and the menu options available in the restaurant. We sincerely value your feedback and will use this information to make necessary improvements. Thank you for your feedback and we do hope to see you again in Lake Tahoe. Sincerely, Joseph Mattioli, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin, CA

Nice hotel and surrounding trails

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: Trails around hotel, nice fresh air
Location: Small town of Truckee near by, golfing in the summer time
I liked the hotel and have visited many times. This particular trip was not as nice. We brought our dogs, as usual, and we received a very rude front desk person claiming our dogs were barking in our room, even as she was calling, they had been with us for the past 3 hours. We informed her of this and no apology just said ok and hung up. Unbelievable service from a Ritz hotel. Also, this time around, the restaurant food was just ok, based on the price, it should be five stars, every time
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KY

Posted May 15, 2015
Greeted by Charlie upon arrival. Could not have been a better experience. He really set the tone for the stay. Well done Charlie!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jorge from Guadalajara México

Best Hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
Woderful!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exceptional

Posted Mar 31, 2015
Despite Expedia failing to communicate our booking and leaving us standing in the hotel lobby while a room was prepared the staff were excellent in contacting Expedia and sorting through the problem. Our son turned 10 while we were at the hotel and the wonderful chef and restaurant manager (Hassan) ensured he enjoyed his birthday making pizza in the main kitchen at lunchtime and delivering a beautiful cake for his breakfast. Great staff and great hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Magnificent property, location, experience

Posted Mar 20, 2015 on Hotels
Absolutely magnificent in every respect. From the greeting when we pulled up to check out, every aspect of our visit was wonderful. Keegan at front desk went above and beyond to make our visit comfortable and memorable, and provided assistance with our reservation. Special thanks to him. Dinner and lunch were delicious. Definitely recommend and will return.