Ratings based on 207 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place, great location on the slopes.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
My only complaint is that we were not able to check in until 5:00pm despite the fact that we had arrived at 9:00 and were told that we were "on the list" and would get a room as soon as one opened up.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short ski trip

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Nice hotel, nice location, but tv resolution reminded me of the early 1990's. Considering the rates, they should be able to provide HD cable tv. My wife's massage of 75 minutes lasted less than 1 hour
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice stay but definitely not Ritz quality

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location and overall appearance. Staff was very friendly.
Cons: Properly cleaning rooms to avoid horrific allergies. Getting food orders right.
Location: Right on the slopes, which is great. Rubicon Pizza in Northstar Village good. Tubing nearby very fun and hotel will drop you off there.
Hotel is right on mountain so extremely convenient for skiing. Happy to pay the $750/night for good service. 2nd day, we returned to our room in the afternoon after an exhausting day on the slopes, looking forward to relaxing in our room but it hadn't been cleaned yet. Called housekeeping and apparently they "hadn't got to it" so we had to venture out of the room again so it could be cleaned. Our room service order was wrong every time we ordered. They forgot my kids Caesar salad, and other items ordered. Each time they quickly made it right and offered to take the items off the bill, but it's unacceptable to consistently get the orders wrong, as it wasn't about the money, but about my kid getting his Caesar salad before dozing off to bed. The casual bar/restaurant near the lobby had a nice vibe but the order was wrong here too and took long. Every time my 6 yr-old son and I would enter our room, we'd get the worst allergies of our life. I brought this issue up to the hotel, and instead of offering to switch my room, claimed they would "vacuum better." It wasn't until the last night, after I just got back from buying every allergy medicine under the sun that I was informed feather pillows may be the issue. We've never encountered feather allergies before and I believe it may due to pet dander in the room, which wasn't properly cleaned, which is disgusting. Needless to say, me and my son had 3 miserable nights of allergies whenever in our room and couldn't wait to get home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Fabulous stay.

Posted Jan 28, 2017
We had the greatest time at the Ritz Lake Tahoe. The hotel is beautiful and comfortable and The staff was so friendly and helpful. We will return knowing we can ski so close to our room without worrying about anything. We also enjoyed very much the restaurant and we loved our massages at the spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely stay here... Food options limited

Posted Jan 14, 2017
We were literally SNOWED IN and WITHOUT POWER... Staff was great, hotel hooked us up, and made the best of getting snowed in at a 5 star resort worth it anyway... Great touch is you can use the Spa facilities without having to have a treatment which was nice touch. Definitely stay here... Just don't be tacky... We saw too much of that
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reception area

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: Everything except for 1 server.
Cons: 1 server refused to put a drink order on my room bill as requested. She said " No, I'm only running 1 tab ". Our friends had been charging all rounds.
Sewer odor for the 2 days I was there. There seems to be a ventilation / sewer issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from i.s. antelope ca

true 5 star hotel In the beautiful Tahoe mountains

Posted Dec 16, 2016
We stayed up over the weekend forecast said it would snow it didn't but we still had an unforgettable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Exceptional service.

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Most relaxing and stress-free ski trip I've ever taken. The staff was amazing.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Swanky on the slopes

Posted Dec 1, 2016 on Hotels
3rd time we've stayed with you for my son's birthday. Was disappointing this time that though there was more snow than last 2 times that same weekend, mountain did not open. Love the Living Room, love the spa, pool could've been warmer. Braved it once, but only for a minute. One bed was very uncomfortable...too soft and hurt my back. Moved to other bed 2nd night and was better. Needs a waste basket in WC. Shower spray is too wide, so cannot get out of stream at all. Shower in spa was amazing! Yoga was great. Nice having Netflix on tv. Turn down service nice. Staff great. Concierge needs Backgammon. That's all I can think of, thanks!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
They were fixing the cable that night so the TV didn't work. Hard to find a good place to plug phone charger in near bed. Fireplace only had one setting and it was very hot so we really couldn't enjoy it. Otherwise it was pretty nice.