Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient, clean, and quiet

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Its a decent hotel, clean, close to shopping and casinos, and relatively cheap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate any feedback from our guests. We have been steadily making improvements since we took over ownership and hope we can accommodate your lodging needs in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Hotels
front office women was great helped us out alot now the male front office was unfriendly no help at all
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Traveler - Thank you for your review. We will make sure all our staff adopts the friendliness of our female agent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Okay hotel close to amenities

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: close to amenities
Cons: See experience above
Location: Location is right on the highway, and close to restaurants, shopping, movie theater, casinos and lake activities
The room was in a dark corner, which at least shielded it from some of the traffic noise. There was no soap, shampoo, kleenex, etc in room, and only one hand towel and washcloth. There was no maid service unless you went to the office and requested it; the door hanger had no effect. It wasn't a bad place, it just seemed like the staff didn't much care.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2016 by JE, Hotel Management
Hello traveler! Thank you for your review, we appreciate the feedback. We apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay and will address them with our housekeepers. We are always flexible about relocating guests to rooms that better fit their needs. Hope to see you again!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great place for the price.

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
I was a little disappointed in this place. The staff seemed fairly nice. The king size mattress was in bad shape. The step up into the jetted tub/shower was about 2 feet high. It needed a platform or something outside the tub to step on getting in and out of the tub/shower. I kept hoping I wouldn't slip and fall getting out. I won't spend $166.90/night again for a room at this place, nor will I recommend it either.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Your input, and the feedback from all of our guests is vitally important to us. We recently purchased new mattresses for the hotel, but we will research your specific room to see if it has had more wear and tear. I'm sorry the step up was to high for you in the jetted tub. This is great feedback. We will purchase step stools to offer future guests if they are indeed hindered by the height.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Vacuum vacuum vacuum

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel was definitely not clean and somebody needs to learn how to vacuum.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Traveller - We do apologize if the room was not fully cleaned. We will address this issue with our staff to ensure this never happens again. Thank you for your feedback.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ELK GROVE

I WOULDN'T STAY HERE FOR FREE.........

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Hotels
We booked a last minute trip to Lake Tahoe for Labor Day weekend. We paid almost $200 a night for this dump. Their Wifi doesn't work, the sink doesn't drain, the fan in the bathroom makes a horrific noise, they didn't clean our room and when we asked for towels the next day we were told they don't have any. The pool was empty and looked like it had been empty for months. Breakfest was a joke. They had a sign on the door stating that no one would be in the office until 8am so you couldn't have breakfest if you wanted too. I WOULDN'T STAY HERE FOR FREE......
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Traveller - We apologize that you had a bad experience during your stay. I do believe that once we were notified of your sink issue, we immediately called the plumber to have it snaked. Apparently, the previous guest had put more than they should down the drain. WiFi - Sometimes, travelers simply need to log in to the correct portal to access the WiFi or use the correct password, if you ever need assistance, we are always around to help. Thank you for the feedback with the fan, we will have maintenance take a look at it immediately. We are going forward with a new linen company that should take care of any issues with a lack of extra towels for those needing more than are initially provided with your room. On busy weekends, depending on the timing, we may have just had some in wash, and would have made a note to bring them to you upon request. Regarding the pool. We do not advertise a pool anywhere on any website - only our Jacuzzi. The pool has actually been out of service for years and we are working to turn that area into a BBQ station. It is unfortunate that you didn't take advantage of our Continental Breakfast, or that you thought it was a joke. Not sure if you actually had the breakfast, given your review. At any rate, we offer a wide assortment of muffins, cinnamon buns, tea cakes, english muffins, oatmeal, fresh fruit, coffee, and 12 types of specialty teas. We do open the office for breakfast at 8am and in the winter months we open at 7am to accommodate those travelers who are rushing out to the ski lift only a short walk from the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location.

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Great location but not very clean. The staff was very nice and tried to make sure out stay was pleasant. I would not stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by MGMT, Hotel Management
Hello Traveller - Thank you for the kind words and the feedback. We work very hard to make sure our guests have a wonderful experience and we are saddened that you did not have a perfect stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento Ca.

Close to stores and Casinos and Restaurants

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness
Location: Casinos , restaurant , shops
Room was dirty. Had to clean shower before we could use it , had duty hand prints on enclosure. Carpet had peanuts on the floor by the beaded was quite dirty, wore shoes the whole time walking on carpet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 28, 2016 by MGMT, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are truly sorry your room was not cleaned properly. Communication is vital to our services and if we accidentally put you in a room that was not ready, we kindly ask that you inform us immediately, so that we can put you in the correct room. We will address the lack of diligence with our staff and make sure this doesn't happen in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sacramento

Surprised

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Honesty i didnt think it was going to be all that great, that weekend was busy and everywhere was expensive, i booked it and surprisingly it wasnt bad at all, everyone was nice, it was quiet and i slept comfortably, the room was spacious and all around clean. My gf paid twice as much as i did and her room wasn't as nearly as nice. Would definitely stay here again. Btw the office is closed from 12 am to 8 am, very different for me but surprisingly i didnt need it to be open.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by mgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised by your stay. We get a ton of thank you's internally and with our real time feedback here on Expedia, but they don't get posted as real reviews.We work hard to make sure all our guests have a great experience, so we really appreciate your feedback!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Walking distance to casinos; casino rates to high.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Just needed a place to crash for the night, worked for me!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by MGMT, Hotel Management
We are very happy you enjoyed your stay! Thank you and we hope to see you again soon. Cheers!