Ratings based on 189 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from V

Nice hotel close to the lakefront

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Nice location, friendly staff and the room was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable hotel

Posted Jan 12, 2017
It is a bit of a hike if you want to walk to town, but the accommodations were wonderful. Great view, and could hear waves lapping the lake at night. Very nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 3, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

have stayed here before and loved it just as much

Posted Oct 27, 2016
the room we were in was lovely, loved the outdoor thermal spa. The room was very spacious and also very clean. The staff is lovely,and very helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hamilton

Windy Taupo

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Close to all amenities.
Cons: Clean, tidy and spacious.
Location: Great location.
Very clean and tidy, staff also very pleasant. Wonderful place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean totally enjoyed our stay

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Quiet and relaxing
Lovely place to stay loved the private pool and the staff were awesome too would stay again Room was clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible house keeping

Posted Oct 1, 2016 on Hotels
Yellow water came from thermal pool on the first night, clear water came out in the 2nd night, small kitchen with very weak ventilation, we open the door while we were cooking a pizza, still the smoke sensor rang! The kitchen was extremely dirty, found cake residue sticked on one plate, the base of the oven with unknown source without being cleaned during my stay, housekeeping keep the dishes hanger on the floor,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington NZ

Private Thermal Pools - awesome

Posted Sep 27, 2016
This place is great. Our number 1 favourite thing about Baycrest is the option of a room with an outdoor private thermal pool. Most of the other stuff is great too. The hosts are friendly, it's pretty close to town, value is good, and the rooms are clean with all the stuff you would expect. That said, there are three things that bug us: - the room's fridges are a bit noisy - no matter how long you stay you get the same WiFi limit (5gb for the stay) - condensation was high in the room (in colder weather anyway) On balance though the place is great and we recommend it.
4 out of 5
by Tash from Hawkes Bay

Quiet Location

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
There was a dirty sock in our room on check in. Other than that it was great.