Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Good price, Ok stay in Taupo

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Right next to the Lake (although limited view)
Cons: bugs on the bed and in the bathroom (probably due to the room door open for most of the day)
Location: Lake Taupo, Huka Fall
I picked this motel for one thing, price. It's a very good price compare to most other hotels in Taupo (the town seems to be expensive, I guess due to its tourist nature). You do get a limited lake view, and it's a few minute drive from the town center. One thing I didn't like was finding bugs / spider on the bed, in the kitchen, and in the bathroom. Although NZ has no poisonous creatures, but it's still a turn off to see bugs in the room, especially on your bed. If I am to visit Taupo again in the future, I will probably stay at another place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, wifi did work well, TV, was to far to see

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Good position
Cons: TV and Wifi
Location: Excellent
The room was clean and the staff excellent, the wifi was very slow and drop out often. The TV could not be seen from the bedroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hastings

Very good location

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Very handy to walk into town as well as enjoying the walk ways around. It was a quiet location and we enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere.
Location: It was central for walking from the hotel to town or round to other bays further south.
Very friendly and helpful Staff at this good location for Taupo wakes and views of the lake. The room was a great size with all the comforts required.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dissapointed

Posted Jan 7, 2016
On arrival, book in was paper based not environmentally friendly. Enter room - sand in the bath, rubbish bin lid dirty. The microwave must have been one of the first ever made. Bench top had gouges in it. The Expedia website mentioned private court yards and rooms with views of the lake. Totally misleading. Courtyards weren't private the only way to get privacy was to pull the curtains. Only about one unit had lake views. For the cost there are better more modern and convenient places to stay in Taupo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thames

One Night in Taupo

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: Although the complex is starting to show its age, the rooms had a good feel to them, that they were looked after and I particularly liked its layout.
It was a cold miserable dark night when we arrived at our destination. Cold and shivering we found reception and were warmly welcomed from that moment on. Escorted to our rooms and shown parking, you could not fault the genuine nature of this man to please. The room had the heater on which was a plus and a nice gesture. We left our room only to find food and came back and settled in for the night. Hot Bath in our spa bath and into bed and telly until we fell asleep.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Happy with service and staff but felt that the accommodation was that of a modest motel not a hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kathy from Waikato

A great one-night stopover.

Posted Jun 3, 2014
Pros: Clean, quiet, handy to restaurants and fast food outlets. Well heated on a cold night. Comfortable bed. Great shower.
Cons: Sharp cupboard corners could be bad for the unwary. Lose the hot-plates. Good bath.
Pleasant, comfortable and quiet. This was perfect for us on our way south. Good facilities.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Cons: soundproofing between floors
Location: very handy to airport for skydiving!
Hotel has very poor soundproofing, and unfortunately we had neighbours above us...Hot tip: make sure YOU are the upstairs neighbour if you want to get any sleep!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hotel, but hot water kinda not enough

Posted Apr 13, 2014
really good. I traveled there with my friend for fun and it was a nice night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right by the lake

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: the location and friendly owners
Location: Great restaurant: Plateau
Charming and extremely helpful new owners...made it memorable.