Ratings based on 158 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't Stay Here, more like "Fawlty Chateau"

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: The Wifi
Cons: Everything as the whole experience has been a disaster and I am sorry visitors to Taupo may be exposed to this.
Location: Taupo is a great place to visit and we have on many occasions stayed previously and will do again however not at the Falls Chateau.
Made the booking on the understanding that the payment would be on the day of the stay and cancellation prior to the stay was no problem. It was all downhill from there. We needed to add another adult to the booking and that we would be arriving late which was difficult due to not being able to contact them on any phone and the promise of returning calls within 3 minutes was a joke. Email seems to be the only way they communicate and even this is always slow. We finally got the extra person sorted on a fold out bed. On arrival the "Taupo Luxury Lodge" aka Falls Chateau is a large house subdivided into separate areas and the fold out bed was a foam folding couch. The lounge couch was the only other option offered. We put it down to experience. On checking our credit card statements some time later we noticed that they had charged us on the day the booking was made and also charged us again for the new total including the extra charge for the extra person. Again contacting them is a nightmare and maybe they believe that if you delay long enough we may just give up. We are not going away and warn anyone wanting to stay in Taupo, try somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice views and lovely room

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Great location and comfortable room. Lovely views from the room and a great amount of space.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and local

Posted Oct 18, 2016 on Hotels
Such a nice place to stay and very close to town and local view points.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Wotif
Clean,tidy and well presented ................just adding for review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Mountain/lake view lovely

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Reasonable price, very quiet overnight with non of the commotions that can arise in other facilities in town. View lovely
Cons: The TV does have to be turned on/off at the wall, so you do have to reach down the side of the sofa to access, but that's not a big issue
Location: Access to all of the adventure activities in Taupo township about a 10 minute drive. Haka Falls about 5 minutes away. Lots of cafes to choose from
I had the one bedroom flat that allowed for some cooking with microwave, beautiful view of the mountains and Lake Taupo. It was very quiet overnight as located just north of Taupo township on the road heading towards Haka Falls. Furnishing good, bed while firm comfortable. There are steep stairs to get to the unit, so some people might find access hard. Free high speed wifi, good shower and roomy living dining area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide

Luxurious apartment out of town.

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
Odd place - very luxurious and lovely but in a strange location and when we arrived a man just materialised to give us the key. No formal check in. In a newish housing estate out of town a bit. Definitely wouldn't stay there without a car but was fine for us with rental car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016 on Hotels
The room unfortunately had a very damp smell, like the building has a leaky problem.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Spacious living and bedrooms. Bed was comfy.
Cons: Guest folder providing instructions and accommodation rules would have been helpful.
Poor greeting upon arrival which made us feel awkward upon checking in. Accommodation was average. Messages received via text message were rather passive aggressive which impacted negatively on the overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Napier

Nice and comfy place

Posted May 29, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Comfortable, affordable, close to town.
Cons: Again I probably missed something in the checkin process, but that could have possibly been a bit clearer
We were checking in a bit late... So not sure what the normal experience would be. Plus my partner booked and so I didn't read all the information so there may have been information I missed. But our arrival was a little bizarre. We knocked on the door, another tenant opened up, instructed us where the key was and told us to walk around the back to open up the door. But other than that, the room was nice and comfy. The bathroom was nice, and there was a spacious wardrobe. Would have loved to stay an additional day and spent more time there. The heat pump pumped nice warm air in which was nice given the rain and cold outside.