Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic hosts and great location

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Pros: Great location and everything you needed (especially helpful hosts)
Cons: As we were here in winter, we had lots of coats and layers. Hooks on the walls, back of bedroom doors and bathroom would have been useful.
Location: Float plane ride great. The hidden valley thermal park was also amazing. Great area for walking/cycling. All in all lots to do on. Your doorstep.
Hosts very welcoming and happy (and always willing) to provide local info/advice. Peter organised float plane flight over mountains, to coincide with beautifully clear skies, to ensure we really did get an experience of a lifetime. Also had one of the best meals ever at 'the Bistro', another reccomendation. All in all great people, accomodation and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, Colorado

Good location across from the beach.

Posted May 26, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Great location, recently remodeled rooms and friendly staff.
Cons: Nothing needs improving.
Location: The location was close to the lake and beach, just across the street, close to town and various activities in the area.
Our stay at the Gables was excellent from check in to check out. Very friendly and helpful owners, clean room and good location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by allison from Illinois

Lovely, modern, great views!

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
Proprietor could not have been more helpful or friendly! Rooms lovely and modern. Very nice private hot pool in back, beautiful view of the lake. We wish we had more time to spend at this place. Would most definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A-Frame and A+ Stay

Posted Apr 24, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed here on our honeymoon after traveling from Rotorua. The owners were very nice and even upgraded our room. We ended up staying in one of the rooms with the private hot pool - and it was just what we needed. Just that little bit of extra luxury went a long way. The view from the hotel was also great as you overlook the lake. Only problem - we were rained in so the fog was low. However - we love A-frame structures and this just reinforced it. Even the complimentary apples in the room were great - they inspired us to go out and buy more for the remainder of our trip. The hotel is not too far from the center of town - but it's also not the closest. We were up for a good walk so it wasn't an issue for us but probably only a 5 minute car ride away. If you are staying in town - this is a great option.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 19, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waitoki, Auckland

Amazing views

Posted Apr 17, 2015 on Wotif
Pros: Location, comfort and cleanliness.
Location: Lots of varied options, food, adventures, sightseeing and shopping. Well appointed information centre in town centre to guide any visitor.
Awesome stay, clean and comfortable with luxury of a hot tub to relax in. Great views of the lake and mountains. Relaxing with every comfort thought of, lovely fresh home baked biscuits and fresh fruit to enjoy. Helpful and friendly owners who ensured we knew how the TV and heat pump worked. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cui

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Good position with nice view, excellent facilities,very clean and well presented. A long walk or short drive to the shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ross from Sydney

An NZ must see

Posted Mar 27, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent accommodation in a beautiful part of the world.grea
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bruno from canada

Bon pied à terre à TAUPO

Posted Mar 24, 2015 on Hotels
Séjour en mars 2015: appartement deluxe une chambre Grande chambre. Kitchenette très complète (lave-vaisselle inclus). TV 43 pouces écran plat avec beaucoup de postes. Salle de bain correcte. Sèche-cheveux disponible. Laveuse-sécheuse à linge disponible gratuitement sur le site. Stationnement off-road. Wifi gratuit dans la chambre. Vue sur le lac mais pas sur les montagnes au sud du lac. On peut ouvrir les fenêtres. Veilleuse dans la salle de bain.