Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool, UK

A home, very far away from home...

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: Everything, it was wonderful. The hot-tub, the cable tv, the cleanliness of the unit - everything was great.
Cons: Build a franchise and spread across New Zealand!
Location: Taupo was very different to other places we stayed - not much to do, but Huka Falls is a big highlight.
My wife and I stayed at the Gables Lakefront Motel in April 2016, and it was wonderful. The owners personally greeted us, which made us feel very welcome and left us with a positive first impression. We were given a quick, but informative tour of the room and facilities and straight away we could see that this was a well run family business. There was parking, which was close to our room and the room/unit itself was clean, well presented and comfortable (there is even a hot-tub!) . Taupo wasn't the most vibrant or exciting place we visited on our tour of New Zealand (this goes to Queenstown) however this was one of our favourite places to stay, it was a home away from home and our only regret was that we only stayed for 3 nights. When we left, the owners seemed generally gutted that we were leaving and again added a personal touch by waving us off.... 5* - we will be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay

Posted May 30, 2016
Very clean, friendly managers, and easy access to lake. Can walk to town when weather is nice. Can park in front of your unit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Great location, comfortable room

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Wotif
We had a lovely time at the Gables Motor Inn. It appears that it's been recently remodelled and it has everything you need for a comfy stay. We found the bed a bit too soft and we wished the hot tub had jets that we could control. Also the room the hot pool is in is more like a shed with no sound insulation between you and the neighbours. The rooms are pretty quiet though, and the staff were just lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Getaway

Posted Apr 17, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The situation. Access to everything,. The friendliness of the Owners and especially the cleanliness.
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: There are heaps of activities for people of all ages - mini golf. Golf to the deck! Shopping, restaurants and bars. Walks, both beach and bush walks.
We had a 3 night stay at The Gables Lakefront Motel and found it to be the best Motel experience we have had in the 30 years of visiting motels. I can't speak highly enough of the cleanliness, helpfulness and enjoyment of the overall experience. Can't wait to get the opportunity to make a return visit. The extra touches of special effects like freshly baked cookies and fruit delivered daily to the room was amazing - never had that before!
3 out of 5
by Sheyuk from Philippines

Better skip this one

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
It had 2 bedrooms and 3 beds plus 1 sofa bed, we were 4 in the family 1 adult and 3 kids and yet they still charged us for 2 extra persons. The hosts weren't friendly at all, I wouldn't go back
5 out of 5
by Sue from Hamilton

Free thermal private pool

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
This is a motel with all the amenities you need, recently refurbished.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome place

Posted Mar 14, 2016
Nice to be close to the beach. Friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, comfortable room

Posted Mar 13, 2016 on Wotif
Location: Great location, right across the road from the lake
Very friendly and welcoming staff, clean and modern room. Comfortable bed!
5 out of 5
by xiaoyi from 中国,上海

我还会住这酒店

Posted Mar 9, 2016 on Hotels
很好!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Very nice motel with excellent and friendly manage

Posted Mar 8, 2016
Pros: Everything. You can park right outside your unit, there is a laundry room, snacks are provided on arrival (lovely home baked biscuits), friendly staf
Cons: Can't think of anything.
Location: Location is right on the shore of the lake. We walked the thermal walks, saw the dame opening, didn't enjoy the Maori carvings - not worth the effort
The motel is great, nicely decked out, clean with a range of useful facilities. The manager is so helpful and friendly that if nothing else he would make me want to go back! WE had a two bedder and we didn't have a view of the lake but we weren't in very much so it didn't matter. Very enjoyable stay we would highly recommend this motel.