Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reporoa

Gorgeous view and fantastic service

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Our recent stay at the Hilton Taupo was excellent. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful with a view to the lake and Mt Ruapehu. We dined at the restaurant and had fabulous food. The pool and spa were lovely. We will definitely be back to stay here and highly recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel for children

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Location: The hotel is some distance from the lake and main cafe strip in town so probably best for those with a car.
We stayed in the junior suite with two small children. The room was spacious with a view of the pool. Breakfast at the hotel was reasonably priced at $25 per adult if booked beforehand and was free for the one-year-old and three-year old. Staff were very helpful and great with the kids. We really appreciated the midday checkout time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Overpriced, parking is terrible

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Staff were pleasant.
Cons: Parking arrangements are abysmal. Room is poorly furnished.
Location: Taupo is a wonderful place to visit -- just stay somewhere else!
At the end of a two-week stay in NZ we thought we'd splash out for a 5-star hotel. What a huge disappointment! Not only was it two or three times the price of most of the other (very nice) hotels we stayed at, it was also the worst. The management just got greedy when it came to parking. Complimentary parking is in a gravel lot down a steep and poorly lit slope, about 200 meters from the room. They have parking in the basement of the building but only for an additional fee (on top of a $400+ room rate!). The room was large, but mostly empty of furniture -- there were two (small) beds, a small table, two small chairs and a very small desk that also held the TV. So - no working desk (at a Hilton?!), no chest-of-drawers for your clothes. One small suitcase holder -- we ended up opening our suitcases on the chairs or beds. The bathroom was similarly sparsely furnished, with about 1 sq ft of counter space. The shower was a wheelchair accessible type, which splashed water over the entire bathroom floor. I appreciate the availability of access for wheelchairs, but this room was on the second floor -- any wheelchair-bound person would be toast if the building was on fire. The fire exit was external stairs off the veranda, and blocked the view. Overall, this hotel is poorly thought out, and grossly overpriced. The only thing commendable was the staff, although it took 10 minutes both for check-in and check-out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Ok hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The restaurant
Location: Not a great location if you don't have a car but the setting is quiet and it is next door to thermal pools.
The rooms are ok but no better than some other accommodation in Taupo, a basic room. The walkway to the rooms is outside and open on the sides so it was cold walking to our room at night but we were lucky it wasn't raining. On checkin our door would not lock. The reception staff checked the lock, apologised and changed our room. They upgraded our room, which we were thankful for as our initial room was VERY tiny (we thought they handled this situation well). Good facilities, tennis, swimming etc. The restaurant has lovely decor and great food - we enjoyed our meal here and would certainly return to the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute booking

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Lovely overnight stay. The room was spacious and wonderfully quite. Will definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Really loved this place. Fantastic Hotel. Great Pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Excellent

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Excellent with amazing views! Staff were so friendly aswell! highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely Hotel

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Awesome stay highly recommended, lovely modern facilities, friendly staff only issue was parking at the bottom of hill but that was Ok and room service food prices were too expensive, ie- $30 for a burger and fries?? The burger was a mini kids sized burger aswell, but overall awesome place would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CHRISTCHURCH

We loved everything about our stay

Posted Oct 16, 2016
From check in until departure our stay was faultless. The helpful pleasant staff were outstanding and the location and facilities excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old fashioned style hotel with a fabulous balcony

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Cons: Shower could be updated and water pressure sorted.
We were confused between the older character side of the hotel and the newer section. We were put up in the older part with a very nice room, large balcony and wonderful view to the lake and mountains. We did have one complaint though, the shower was rubbish, the water pressure was awful - could hardly get our hair washed. Otherwise excellent!