Ratings based on 2,475 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

great destination, too far from Taupo for walking

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Facilities, room, quality of food and drinks, and front desk staff.
Cons: Prices in bar and restaurant are very high by NZ standards.
totally enjoyed the hotel, even though we were on the "ground" (2nd) floor with limited view lines from our veranda. The room was well appointed. The have a maze of hallways to get to the room, requiring using your key on 3 doors and opening another, so will luggage in tow a little more arduous than normal. Good bar and restaurant, on the pricey side, so may make sense to bring your breakfast to save a little there (breakfast was $25 for continental, $35 for hot, but they forgot to charge us, so we lucked out). In almost of all NZ, tipping is unusual, but is encouraged here, at least by the staff with whom we inquired, even though we had been traveling in NZ for almost 4 weeks by the time we registered. Nice spa, pool and workout room, they also have a tennis court. Registration front desk folks were outstanding...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice building, difficult parking

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Nice hotel, helpful staff, and clean room. Pool area was nice, but spa tub was inconsistent temperature either too hot or cold for the three days we were there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queensland

Overpriced

Posted Feb 4, 2017
Pros: Great view
Very basic room for the money. Four forty pn. Aircon didn't work, bathroom drains were smelly. We somehow got 2 single beds for a couple. The shared balconys were a no go for us. The single glazed glass joinery I'm sure is not even up to code for that part of the country. TV was average at best. Water pressure was shocking, I think because we had a disabled bathroom that wasn't well designed. Water still went right through the bathroom thus causing our 2 year old to slip over every time he walked in. Very Dissatisfied
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Hilton Lake Taupo

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Cons: There were no wine glasses in our rooms which I thought was strange.
It is a very nice hotel, and it was nice to stay there. The staff were all very friendly. The hotel was tidy, the rooms comfortable. Great weekend away thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2017
great experience- upgraded to the 3 bedroom apartment, perfect for our family
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reporoa

Gorgeous view and fantastic service

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Our recent stay at the Hilton Taupo was excellent. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful with a view to the lake and Mt Ruapehu. We dined at the restaurant and had fabulous food. The pool and spa were lovely. We will definitely be back to stay here and highly recommend it to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Great hotel for children

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Location: The hotel is some distance from the lake and main cafe strip in town so probably best for those with a car.
We stayed in the junior suite with two small children. The room was spacious with a view of the pool. Breakfast at the hotel was reasonably priced at $25 per adult if booked beforehand and was free for the one-year-old and three-year old. Staff were very helpful and great with the kids. We really appreciated the midday checkout time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Overpriced, parking is terrible

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Staff were pleasant.
Cons: Parking arrangements are abysmal. Room is poorly furnished.
Location: Taupo is a wonderful place to visit -- just stay somewhere else!
At the end of a two-week stay in NZ we thought we'd splash out for a 5-star hotel. What a huge disappointment! Not only was it two or three times the price of most of the other (very nice) hotels we stayed at, it was also the worst. The management just got greedy when it came to parking. Complimentary parking is in a gravel lot down a steep and poorly lit slope, about 200 meters from the room. They have parking in the basement of the building but only for an additional fee (on top of a $400+ room rate!). The room was large, but mostly empty of furniture -- there were two (small) beds, a small table, two small chairs and a very small desk that also held the TV. So - no working desk (at a Hilton?!), no chest-of-drawers for your clothes. One small suitcase holder -- we ended up opening our suitcases on the chairs or beds. The bathroom was similarly sparsely furnished, with about 1 sq ft of counter space. The shower was a wheelchair accessible type, which splashed water over the entire bathroom floor. I appreciate the availability of access for wheelchairs, but this room was on the second floor -- any wheelchair-bound person would be toast if the building was on fire. The fire exit was external stairs off the veranda, and blocked the view. Overall, this hotel is poorly thought out, and grossly overpriced. The only thing commendable was the staff, although it took 10 minutes both for check-in and check-out.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Ok hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: The restaurant
Location: Not a great location if you don't have a car but the setting is quiet and it is next door to thermal pools.
The rooms are ok but no better than some other accommodation in Taupo, a basic room. The walkway to the rooms is outside and open on the sides so it was cold walking to our room at night but we were lucky it wasn't raining. On checkin our door would not lock. The reception staff checked the lock, apologised and changed our room. They upgraded our room, which we were thankful for as our initial room was VERY tiny (we thought they handled this situation well). Good facilities, tennis, swimming etc. The restaurant has lovely decor and great food - we enjoyed our meal here and would certainly return to the restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Last minute booking

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Lovely overnight stay. The room was spacious and wonderfully quite. Will definitely stay again.