Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Easy and convenient

Posted Feb 1, 2016
We needed a medium priced place for a quick overnight stay, rooms where clean and tidy.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Howard's Lodge - Do not stay! Avoid at all costs!

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Do not stay at Howard's Lodge! They are a hostel charging hotel rates! They are a tourist trap! The hostel refused to honour the price booked online. They refuse to take payment upfront, and at checkout they charged my credit card double the price without authorisation. Service was terrible, the man who runs the hostel is extremely rude. He treated us with disrespect and tried to bully us into hiring items we didn't need at exorbitant prices. When we refused telling him we have everything we need for the mountain trek, he threatened, "I will search your bags, and if you don't have them, you're in trouble." The room is dreadful, so small you can't move around in it, the bunk beds are children-sized and there's stale smell in the room as if it is never aired out. The walls are so thin that you hear everything next door and upstairs. On their website they say they have free Tongariro Crossing Transport but it is a lie, it gets tacked on to the price. If you are a bit late from your mountain climb, he refuses to have the bus wait for you. One family was late coming down from the mountain, he was unwilling to wait even 5 mins, insisted on driving away so he could charge them the cost of two trips for the pickup instead of one. Their “free wi-fi” claim is deceptive. Only 200MB is free and then you must pay to use the wi-fi. My biggest mistake was not reading all the other reviews posted about this place before I booked. Do your research and avoid Howard's Lodge at all costs!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Grant, Hotel Management
Sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Your dispute over the prices is quite simple. You booked for room only but when you checked in you requested to upgrade to our package option which includes 2 breakfasts, a packed lunch and return transport for the Crossing (as well as the room) for each person (3 in your case). The additional costs associated with upgrading to the package were confirmed several times during this conversation and throughout your stay. I am sorry to hear that you feel that the package option did not provide good value as we strive to ensure all of our options offer this.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice staff. Very neat. We like it.

Posted Dec 9, 2015 on Wotif
We stayed for one night, and used the kitchen. Everything is neat. We like it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hastings

It's very clean but very unpersonal

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Wotif
Nice enough people but you feel they are sick from tourists.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2015 by Grant, Hotel Management
Sick of tourists, never ! It's what we do so sorry we were perhaps having an off day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great for snow holiday

Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Wotif
All we needed to enjoy our time at the ski fields. Lovely and warm, great lounge with pool table for kids. Clean kitchen with all the equipment you need to prepare your meals.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 3, 2015 by Grant, Hotel Management
We do like to keep things clean and thank you for noticing. The snow is now gone but plenty to entetain in the summer months so hope we see you again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wellington

Basic and everything you need

Posted Aug 30, 2015 on Wotif
Howard is great. Facilities are unpretentious and totally sufficient for a good basic place. Planning my next stay already.
3 out of 5
by Shri

Posted Jul 23, 2015 on Hotels
good
4 out of 5
by yvonne from Bay of Plenty.

another great adventure.

Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
National park is one of our favourite play grounds. the mountain biking is great. we did fishers track and marton sash and door trail both where great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Grant, Hotel Management
Glad yo enjoyed your time in our part of the world. Plenty to do that's for sure and unique no doubt !
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rude owner, nice place.

Posted Jan 9, 2015 on Hotels
The service from Grant was terrible. For the first 36hrs he was rude, abrupt and not helpful at all. It wasn't just to our group. I saw him treat other guests in a similar manner. Common kitchen was great, room was neat but don't expect much from the owner.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok hostel, but at Hotel rates?

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels
This is what I would call a hostel, complete with shared co-ed toilets and showers, community kitchen and lounge. Private rooms are satisfactory and beds are well used. Overall seems quite overpriced for the kind and quality of accommodations provided.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by Grant, Hotel Management
Going to have tocall you on your claim of being over priced. The room you had was our budget one, 2 people for $70 odd per night is not 'Hotel prices', well ot in NZ in any case. We do have better rooms which I would describe as simple htel rooms with ensuite bathroom, etc for a little more at $105 per night.