Ratings based on 103 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Wonderful attention to detail

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Pros: The facility was well appointed and the owners are warm, friendly and talented hoteliers. I'm taking some design lessons from their layout.
Cons: No negatives really , up high on the hill away from the town center.
Location: A short drive up the hill from Taupo. Nice grounds and very peaceful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you for your wonderful feedback and sorry for the delay in responding. We've just been to the South Island for a break.
4 out of 5
by Raewyn from Tauranga

Peaceful luxury B & B

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Very enjoyable. Lovely B & B in peaceful rural setting but approx 10 km to Taupo lakefront. The outside spa pool is great for relaxation. Hosts Gail and Robert were very friendly and helpful. Loved the sumptuous breakfasts. Would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Raewyn for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and would stay again. It sounds like the distance from town was a negative for you. We do clearly advertise that we are rural and out of town. It is a less that 10 minute drive and 10 kms to Taupo CBD. We encourage future guests to read all the property information prior to making a booking. We are also very happy to offer guests a lift into town for dinner. Most of the restaurants will happily call you a taxi to bring you back to Kauri Point. Thank you again for choosing to stay at Kauri Point, regards Gail & Robert
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Home fromhome

Posted Aug 26, 2016
If you are looking for some time to escape then this is the place to go Everything about this place lived up to its five star rating - we will be going back
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us and thank you for your very positive comments. We look forward to your next stay - try and come in the summer and benefit from the huge outside deck spaces, BBQ and pizza oven! Thank you once again, Gail & Robert
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Wotif
What a great place to stay, very comfortable and helpful staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, as always they are much appreciated. Regards Gail & Robert
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Wotif
It is very good to live, the hoster is very host my,the room is very clean. When u live there, u will feel very comfortable and nice, the lights is red, u will feel good. In the bathroom, the owner provider good shampoo and gels for wash. The bed is very big, there will have free coffee, Vedio, and books. Although the bathroom is small, and the address is not easy to find, it is still good place to choice to live.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Gail , Hotel Management
Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted that you enjoyed you stay with us and that you felt comfortable here. You are correct the bathroom is small but not for much longer!!! Today we start renovations to double the size of the bathroom, install a new level entry large shower & large deep luxurious bath!!!! We are very excited and cannot wait to be able to share this with our future guests. Many thanks once again - regards Gail & Robert
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Lastminute
Fantastic. Highly recommend. Very friendly. Great place.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to write your review. As always it is hugely appreciated and helps us to ensure we are doing a good job. We are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and that you would recommend to others. thanks again Rob & Gail
5 out of 5
by Shane from Paraparaumu

Luxurious and comfy

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room Lovely people Great spot
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you Shane for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that should your business bring you back to Taupo that we may see you again. Regards & thanks again Gail & Rob
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Wotif
beautiful location, wonderful hosts, great room and facilities, wonderful breakfasts. Will definately be back
Comment from Hotel Management
by Gail, Hotel Management
Many thanks for your review. As always they are much appreciated. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
5 out of 5
by David

Mountain views

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Exceptional visit, amazing price and service. Friendly and caring hosts. Gail is an amazing cook. Highly recommend. Will be visiting again, have referred family and friends it was so good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you David for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate every one of them and truly value your feedback and amazing comments. We were glad to be able to share our home and dinner table with you and pleased that you enjoyed the food. Many thanks for referring us to your friends and family - you can be certain we will look after them well. Kind regards Gail & Robert
3 out of 5
by Catherine

Mixed review

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Hotels
A local person had gone missing during our stay, so that our host was naturally somewhat distracted as she joined the search. Spotless bed linen. The stores of coffee and chocolate need to be replenished and refreshed. Also the toilet brush should be checked for debris among the bristles before guests arrive. Two lovely lounges for relaxation. Not what we would call 'Luxury' therefore overpriced in our view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Gail, Hotel Management
Thank you Catherine for taking time to write your review. We are obviously disappointed with your comments as you will see from all of our other reviews these are not what we are used to reading. I am very sorry that as you rightly pointed out we were some what distracted by our neighbours disappearance prior to your arrival - he was a dear friend and was sadly found deceased 3 days later in the forest behind our property. Stores of tea and coffee are checked daily however I apologise if there were some missing on this occasion. Equally, the loo brushes were all bleached and thoroughly cleaned only a day or so prior to your arrival. Apologies if a bit of debris was still present. 'Luxury' and 'Value' are always a difficult one to gauge. We are stringently assessed by Qualmark annually who have awarded us our 5 star Boutique Lodge rating. There are very few accommodation providers in Taupo where one would be able to stay and receive afternoon tea and full cooked breakfast for the current heavily reduced rate we offer at this time of year. We hope you will accept our sincere apologise if your stay did not live up to your expectations. Clearly we were distracted by goings on next door.