Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely stay

Posted Mar 9, 2016
Pros: Gary could not do enough for us as he wanted to ensure we get the most out of our stay. The breakfasts were amazing too, overall a fantastic stay.
Location: Loads of things to do in this area, the Lake has a lot of activities, Huka falls and the dam are a must visit.
Thus is a great B&B, the lodges are very quiet and there is a lovely view of the Lake and mountains behind.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Lovely, privately owned boutique Lodge

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Nothing was too much trouble - providing excellent food, arranging a visit to the beautician to suggesting places to shop and places of interest.
Cons: I can't think of anything.
Location: The Lodge is set in beautiful gardens with a stunning view of the Lake. There are many geo-thermal places of interest, golf courses and watersports.
Overall experience was a calming, relaxing experience in beautiful surroundings being cared for by kind, considerate owners and staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Nice upmarket Motel

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: The views
Cons: Decent TV in the rooms, the TV is really old and in a cupboard close to the floor, should be higher up.
Location: Lovely walks and outdoor activities
Has awesome views of the lake. I would however say that it is a bit over priced for what you get. I dont consider this a hotel, it is more of an upmarket motel.
5 out of 5
by Tracey from Australia

A lodge to remember!

Posted Feb 12, 2015 on Hotels
This was an excellent lodge - comfortable, clean, fabulous food and excellent service. Set in a beautiful garden overlooking the lake it was truly a lovely get away! Looking forward to returning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pricey for what you get

Posted Dec 31, 2014 on Hotels
This is more of a bed and breakfast. Not a lodge and it is in a private house with the owners living on the floor below the main floor. Helpful hosts but was surprised of the feel of this place because it is someones house. We felt that it lacked privacy. Nice views, dated interior, and about a 5-10 minute drive outside the main town of Taupo.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Excellent experience!!

Posted Oct 19, 2014
What an absolute pleasure to stay at Lake Taupo Lodge. This stylish boutique lodge has a fantastic retro appeal and lake views. We stayed in the Cherrywood suite which was clean, cozy and roomy. The attention to detail is a highlight. I wished we had stayed longer to enjoy the gardens and patios. Breakfast was homecooked and 5 star! Hosts Gary and Shirley were lovely and helpful.
5 out of 5
by Juanita from Sydney

Elegant Lodge with views of the Lake.

Posted Jun 14, 2014
Pros: Everything mentioned above
Cons: Nothing could be improved
Location: Take a ferry to see Maori rock carvings. The Huka falls are close by and Wai-o-Tapu and Te Puia are not too far, plus DeBretts Spa was wonderful.
In the style of Frank Lloyd Wright, this lodge, set in a beautiful garden, has a wonderful ambience with stunning views over the Lake Taupo. The accommodation is state of the art with underfloor heating, gas fire and modern facilities. The owners and staff went out of their way to look after our every need and advise us as to the sights to be visited in the area. The breakfast was one of the best we have encountered anywhere in the world. The choice was huge and outstanding using only the freshest and best ingredients. The muesli was homemade and an absolute standout ,the croissants imported from France, and the coffee was excellent. There was chopped fruit, yoghurt and about eight choices for a hot gourmet breakfast, not usually found in the best hotels.
5 out of 5
by Fraser from New Zealand - Taranaki

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Great Hospitality. Really great people who made us feel right at home.
Cons: Accomdation stated there was a chef but due to the season he was on leave. Understandable and did not affect our stay.
Location: Perfect, Away from it all
Facilities: Home away from home; Value: Affordable; Service: Go the extra mile; Cleanliness: Spotless; Highly recommended to others. Great place, great people and we will definetly be back.
5 out of 5
by Peter from Australia - VIC - Melbourne

Posted Apr 27, 2012 on Wotif
Pros: The property itself
Cons: Not being able to breakfast in your own room
Location: Wonderful, Away from it all, Outstanding, Magnificent gardens
Facilities: Top of the line, State of the art; Service: Remarkable, Go the extra mile, Outstanding; Cleanliness: Spotless, Beautiful; Breakfasts were delightful