Ratings based on 162 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2017
great staff, spacious space, but not close to city center
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane

Close to the lake which was great but small rooms

Posted Dec 31, 2016
On the plus side.....Close to the lake. 5 minute drive to the city. Staff were friendly. On the down side nearly all the food was either from a packet or a can. Pretty sure it was powdered egg mix for breakfast, sausages deep fried and all the juices were watered down. I know It's only like a 3 star place but was disappointed. My girlfriend had her sights set on the creme brulee and again was pretty sure it was powdered mix and not caramelized properly. 3 stars from me. Sorry lakeland
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Expected more from this hotel. Beds are old, room has the bare minimum
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good value for money

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: Good views of the lake. Clean and comfortable.
Cons: The only comment I would make is that our bed wasn't made up, although housekeeping did come into the room to replace towels but no real issue.
Location: On the outskirts of the main town centre but near to everything in Taupo
We called the motel ahead as we wouldn't arrive in time for check in. Our keys were left in the room with a note and a bottle of milk in the fridge for a tea/coffee.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Friendly staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: We only required a one night sleep over and the room was exactly what we needed and expected.
Thank you very much for the big smile you greeted us with Debs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nothing too much trouble

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Pros: Friendly helpful service
Location: We were in Taupo to attend races at Bruce McLaren Motor Sport Park. Was a short taxi ride to the main center where we could shop or eat.
We were held up getting to Taupo but a quick call to a lovely lady who arranged our late check in. The next morning again late (is a theme with us), the staff went out of the way to ensure we still could have breakfast even though they'd already cleared the breakfast. Very happy friendly reception and made our stay in Taupo all the more enjoyable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from auckland

Nice motel with. Bad mattress,no aircon.

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Pros: Modern clean
Cons: Beds,air conditioning
Location: Premium position,good parking,free newspapers daily
Stayed two nights,but with an uncomfortable bed and no aircon.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

close to everything However NO HOT WATER

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: close to everything
Cons: HOT WATER
Location: perfect location just for one night stay :)
We stayed there for a night and there was no hot water availability also we specifically requested for DOUBLE BED however when we reach there we saw there were 3 single beds in our room, so i went to reception and told that i mentioned in the comments that we are couple and requested for DOUBLE BED and they said that they can provide me different room but they will charge $30 extra which is disappointing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayr, Queensland

Won't let you down

Posted Dec 2, 2016
I was amazed at how lovely the hotel was for the price. The staff couldnt do enough for us, and breakfast was delicious. Will definitely come back again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from napier n.z.

Very convenient for my purpose.(working nearby)

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Staff were very friendly.
Cons: Mattress was too hard. Could have been more comfortable.
Location: Didn't have time to partake of activities but we'll aware of those that would appeal to a tourist.
Enjoyed being conveniently situated to my job. A la Carter breakfast was a hilite.