Ratings based on 81 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from phoenix AZ

Right on the lake

Posted Jan 17, 2017
This hotel has stairs and no elevators. Other than that it was great and a reasonable price. The restaurant there has a lovely view but seemed a little overpriced. Each room faces the lake. Very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Water front hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Enjoyed the swim in lake Taupo right out side the door
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Great service & a great room overlooking the lake - can't fault it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Good lake front location and friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Restaurant pricing and quality.
Location: Lake front location.
This is a great hotel right on the lake front. It's a perfect location to watch boat activity on the lake and to go for lake front walks. The staff were friendly and very helpful, especially after we accidentally locked the safe - twice! The pool is heated but we used the grotto (a private hot tub in a cave like setting), the grotto was lovely to relax in and just what we needed. We dined in the restaurant and thought it was overpriced. The Sunday roast was lukewarm and consisted of roast lamb with a very small amount of cubed pumpkin and a dish of mint sauce. The dessert was delicious and bar area was the perfect spot to enjoy coffee and a port looking over the lake towards the lights of Acacia Bay. Breakfast had both hot and cold options and we would breakfast here again. We would definitely stay here again but would not dine in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland NZ

The Hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2016
Pros: Position parking staff
Location: National park is a close drive and also good fly fishing.
The hotel had a great position over looking Lake Taupo. Our room by choice looked out on the swimming pool which was luke warm very nice. We had breakfast in the hotel both days we were there and very nice selection. One night we dined in the Hotel and that was excellent both service and food. Staff were friendly and helpful we would not hesitate to use this Hotel again or to recommend it to a friend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 14, 2016 by Gin, Hotel Management
Dear Grace, Thank you for your kind feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that we could exceed your expectations. We will pass on your nice comments to our team and they will be very delighted to hear that they are doing a good job. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon. Kind regards, Gin Pratanavanich, Assistant Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Very nice and tidy accommodation, Lake front with an excellent view
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

walking to the grotto through the rain

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Location, view, heated pool, the grotto, gluten fee dining
Cons: Main road noise reduction
Location: Lake Taupo is a "Super Volcano" crater in the heart of New Zealand's North Island. Great dining, easy access to mountains, ski fields and much more.
Our stay in Taupo was unfortunately tarnished by constant rain. NZ is also known as Aotearoa, the land of the long white cloud and for good reason. This rain obscured the view we came for and made some other attractions unpleasant. The room in the hotel was very comfortable, well supplied and had a balcony with a view over the lake to the mountains. The only criticism would be the road noise as the hotel is located on the main road through town. The best part of the stay was undoubtedly the Grotto which is a bookable (1/2 hour sessions) private spa fashioned like an underground grotto. There is also a heated pool which two other couples were enjoying as we walked past to the grotto. The restaurant had Gluten free options and is a good option if you don't feel like the short trip into the CBD where we found multiple gluten free eating establishments.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and so close to the lake

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Was like paradise unbelievable!!! Would definitely go back
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average experience

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Just a couple of things. We don't go on holiday to watch tv at motel. But after a hard day driving and seeing the sights it's nice to sit and relax. But to have just prime and two sports channels to watch was pretty crap. Taupo middle of winter cold at night. Heat pump was terrible. Didn't even warm the room. Had an emergency call out during the night because of broken water pipe at motel. Everyone standing outside freezing. That's ok. Accidents happen. But no apology for inconvenience or anything. I truly expected more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Beautiful view and close to all facilities..

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Everything about our experience was top notch, the only small thing was for me there pillows were awful... Way to soft and flat.