Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average experience

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Just a couple of things. We don't go on holiday to watch tv at motel. But after a hard day driving and seeing the sights it's nice to sit and relax. But to have just prime and two sports channels to watch was pretty crap. Taupo middle of winter cold at night. Heat pump was terrible. Didn't even warm the room. Had an emergency call out during the night because of broken water pipe at motel. Everyone standing outside freezing. That's ok. Accidents happen. But no apology for inconvenience or anything. I truly expected more.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Beautiful view and close to all facilities..

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Everything about our experience was top notch, the only small thing was for me there pillows were awful... Way to soft and flat.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Fantastic weekend, awesome facilities and beautiful view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wellington NZ

Overnight luxury

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Positioned right on Lake Taupo with views across the lake to the mountains
Location: Hot Pools and spa close by and an easy walk into central Taupo
Very pleasant stay in relaxing surroundings with a private Grotto Thermal Hot Pool you can reserve. Great service. The lounge and restaurant looks out across Lake Taupo to the mountains. Our visit was in winter and there was a lovely gas fire to sit beside while admiring the view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: hotpool plus views
Relaxing weekend very friendly staff who went out of their way to provide everything we required hotpool was great and views and room perfect Delicious desserts by the fire on a winters night memorable
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tauranga

Lovely Hotel right on the Lake Front

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Right on the Lake front and has it's own Restaurant so one doesn't have to walk far or drive into the township
Cons: The rooms could be slightly updated, but still a great place to stay
Location: Location is perfect being on the lake frontage. Great place for walking.
Came here to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Great position on lake front.

Posted May 15, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location and staff customer care are excellent. The menu was above average for the star rating.
Cons: The rooms in the older wing need upgrading and additional sound proofing from road noise.
Location: A good hub (both summer and winter) for the attractions of the central North Island.
Great experience from check in through to departure. Hotel is some distance from the centre of the town but a lakeside pathway takes you in 15/20 minutes. Rooms are starting to show their age and a refurbishment programme is needed to bring the older rooms up to an international standard. The older rooms resemble more a motel than hotel standard.
5 out of 5
by Timothy from Brisbane, Australia

Best hotel for lake Taupo

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
Absolutely loved the stay which came with buffet breakfast. I love how the balcony faced the lake and we had an unobstructed view of the lake. We also took a dip in the private hot pool which was such a treat. My only regret was checking in late because we went sight seeing first. If we knew the hotel was this amazing, we would have checked in and never leave during the period of the stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Perfect!

Posted Apr 29, 2016 on Wotif
We had a fantastic stay. The entire experience from arrival to check out was great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2016 on Wotif
Loved Millennium, came to Taupo for a weekend away without the kids and loved the environment and atmosphere of the hotel.