Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice accomodation but shame about the Restaurant.

Posted May 12, 2017
Cons: Communication with incoming guests in this scenario in the future.
I booked this as part of a special weekend away with my elderly Mum and put a lot of research into my choice. Having driven up from Wellington and arriving at dusk it was extremely disappointing to learn that the bar and restaurant were unfortunately closed for the night. Reception were great and found somewhere else for us to dine as long as we got there by car before 5:30pm! We did also get a room upgrade in apology but it really wasn't the special experience I had planned. I would have appreciated a call prior to my arrival about the restaurant being closed. The facility is fairly remote and we had no provisions with us nor were there any shops open in the vicinity. Other than that the room was clean and very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but remote hotel on the lake

Posted May 11, 2017
It's a really nice hotel except it's on the opposite side of taupo. It has all the facilities we wished for and it has an excellent view. However it did add more than 30 minutes to our trip just to get to and come out of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Spacious accommodations with beautiful view

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Great view
Location: Tongariro crossing!
The room we stayed in had a great view of the lake. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking (though no oil, spices, etc, except salt and pepper). Our building had 2 units and a shared laundry facility. We stayed here for 2 nights and would have liked to stay longer. It is a bit of a drive from anything else, but there is a restaurant on site. It is convenient for Tongariro Crossing as it is only a 30 min drive to the trail end where you can take a shuttle to the start of the trail.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Northern Rivers, NSW

Return visit - this time with two children...

Posted Jan 29, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Its location - right on the southern shores of Lake Taupo (spectacular views all round), plus the size and layout of room amenities.
Location: Caught the chairlift up Mount Ruapehu - and played in snow for an hour (unexpected bonus thanks to unseasonal January snowfall the previous week).
Stayed in room 10B, immediately underneath 10A where we last stayed back in 2012 (when our eldest was just 18 months old). This time with a 5.5 year old and a 2 year old, we appreciated the slightly larger kitchen (which we used every night - self-catering), lounge area and bedrooms. The view from our balcony was just as good as the view from upstairs previously. Despite our late arrival (from Auckland via Waitomo Caves) the room was pretty much faultless and the requested cot set up within an hour. Stayed here for 3 nights - will definitely return again a third time. Highly recommended as a home away from home - and an ideal central base for activities in and around Lake Taupo and the Tongariro National Park.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful View, relaxing and highly recommended

Posted Jan 10, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: the view!
Cons: the dryer was a bit treaky
Location: lake view location, no access to the lake from the property, beautiful location to relax.
We enjoyed it very much - beautiful and great location
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice view good facility

Posted Dec 25, 2016 on Wotif
will come back again and nice view.good facility. Nice staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great views and good restaurant

Posted Dec 7, 2016
Spacious living space in the 2 bedroom unit. Great views of Lake Taupo and some of the mountains. Steep driveway, with tricky maneuvering needed to get out of the end unit parking spots. Restaurant was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Clean, comfortable room. Beautiful views

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Exceptionally clean and comfortable. Absolutely stunning views of Lake Taupo. Very friendly and accommodating staff. We are vegan and the meals we received were beautiful, unfortunately there was no soy milk for a coffee in the morning. The water to the whole area had been cut off due to a burst pipe. After a long drive to get there, it was disappointing to not be able to have a shower, however water was restored and later that night we were able to have one. Waking up to a beautiful sunrise over Lake Taupo was a highlight. Thanks for a great weekend :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely setting, let down by lack of amenities

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
The setting is beautiful; unfortunately the weather was poor. That's not their fault, but there was no guide on how to use the TV, & no DVDs, unlike quite a few other places we've stayed in NZ. The decor also looked a not tired. A shame, as the setting was so peaceful & relaxing.