Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy for the Tongariro Crossing

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Walking distance to a few good places to eat. Friendly staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great break point

Posted Sep 16, 2016
excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. I will stay here again for sure.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2016 by Donna, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Room

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Clean and tidy room. Good value. Staff were friendly. Handy location in Turangi
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2016 by Donna, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, much appreciated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Peaceful

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: The hotel is very peaceful.
Location: There is a very nice loop track that is about 9 miles long and follows a river. After an hour you will come to the Trout Center.
The hotel is quiet and comfortable. The kitchenette has enough tools to cook a meal. The town has a small New World market and a few cafes for breakfast and lunch but we didn't see anything open for dinner except for fish and chips. T.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Great service and facilities will stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Auckland

One night in Turangi

Posted Feb 29, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable, relatively quiet, convenient.
Cons: Nothing we noticed.
Location: As noted the river walks are good if you are only there for a short time. If you are a keen trout fisherman it's ideal!
Really just overnighting en route to Wellington from Auckland. The motel was very comfortable and had all facilities so we booked in for the return trip, which was equally good if not better as we had a slightly larger room and bed. If you like a walk there are a number of good walks along the river nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2015
The hotel manager was friendly and helpful and even lent us a toboggan for our toddler to use when we went up the mountain.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good halfway Stop

Posted Mar 13, 2015
This is undoubtedly great for fishing, hiking etc. it is a very good halfway stop between Wellington and Aukland.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Water, England

Good location, very friendly and well equipped

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Location: Very well situated for the Tongariro National Park and the ultimate day hike, the Tongariro Alpine Crossing
Very welcoming owners, they really could not have done anything else to make our stay more memorable. Everything you could need was provided, a barbecue, car washing facilities and a verandah to sit out and enjoy a beer.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ok hotel near to Turangi

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The lady owner - she seems very mean and unfriendly.
This is old but clean hotel but the old lady staff is not friendly. She never said thank you or welcome or anything. Just did the job. She didn't offend me but just a feeling that she didn't care. Other than that, nothing much to complain. However mind you water tastes a bit funny and light is quite dark. Must avoid during winter time as I know the room will be bloody cold. You have been warned!