Ratings based on 144 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Upscale hotel featuring villas and chalets

Posted Feb 9, 2017
The main lodge contains reception, a large sitting room, a breakfast area a bar and dinning room. The guest rooms are in separate buildings around the property. We stayed in a chalet. Rooms were well appointed and had a large walkout deck. The breakfast was very good and dinner even better. We were told by our hiking guide it was the best restaurants in town. I certainly believe that. Overall, excellent place to stay, nothing to complain about.
4 out of 5
by Tio

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from US

More of a resort than a fishing lodge.

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The receptionist was incredibly helpful. The restaurant was excellent. The location was peaceful and rustic, but still close to town.
Cons: I can't think of anything. I really can't. Leave me alone. If you want me to keep writing reviews quit wasting my time making me write more stuff.
Location: We had driven down from Hamilton to spend the night before doing the Tongariro Alpine trek the following day. Fishing seems to be the lodge's focus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Peaceful and secluded.

Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
Went there in Spring, it still got a bit cold in the evening and early morning. Bring a thick jacket.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth WA

Disappointed

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Wotif
I was expected something nice due to the price and write up. Unfortunately we were left disapointed. The very basics weren't done. TV not set up and then there was no reception phone number provided with the information pack. We guessed and phoned '0'. Noone came as promised after 20 minutes so we walked to reception. Someone came to have a look and set up the tv but we could only get one channel. The outdoor table needed a wipe and the cabin was cold upon arrival. They phone to check if we wanted to dine in their restaurant though. The cabin was clean and nice. They really need to show they care and do the basics right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great Lodge

Posted Sep 28, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything was amazing.
Cons: Nothing, it was all really great.
Location: Fishing, walks along the river, going into town, national fish hatchery, country drives.
We had an absolutely fabulous time at Tongariro Lodge. I don't think I could come up with anything to improve if I tried. The check-in was very nice and all of the staff we came across were extremely nice. The lodge itself has that age on it that you can't buy. The wooden structure is really neat and makes you feel like you are camping but in a nice cabin. The bed was comfy, the TV was huge and had great reception. The entire cabin is fresh with new carpet, tile, and bathroom fixtures. We really liked the shower after being in other hotels with small showers which is typical. The shower in our room was big enough and sealed well so the outside floor didn't get flooded. Even the art work on the walls was cool. We had dinner at the lodge one night and it was the best meal for our entire trip to New Zealand. The breakfasts were really good as well, probably the best of our trip again. The only regret I have is not staying longer. I could have easily stayed a week or more.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A bit tired and not really interested in you.

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
Checked in on Saturday lunch time after having driven over 4 hours from Auckland to be told no reservations for dinner that night or for breakfast on the Sunday. My wife found 3 pieces of glass on the carpet(tells you a bit about the house cleaning) No Sky TV available,unreal!!Paid $199 for the room for the night. Soundproofing between the chalets is very poor,you can hear everything going on in the next chalet. Also found quite a few pieces of Fishermans nylon off cuts on the carpet. When told couldn't fit us in for dinner they suggested the local pub,had read the reviews on their restaurant and very much wanted to experience it but no luck. Not worth $199,other places must be a better choice,never again !!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hi, thanks for your feedback, and I am sorry that we were fully booked in the restaurant on Saturday night and couldn't take your booking. We do try and encourage guests to book for dinner at the time of booking accommodation as we can get very busy. There is no excuse for the glass on the carpet or fishing nylon, this has been taken up with housekeeping. I am concerned that you felt we weren't interested in you, as our guests are extremely important to us and generally speaking we get very good feedback on the staff. I am sorry that your stay was not to your expectations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Great Hotel close to the slopes

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The size of the chalets
Tongariro Lodge is a lovely hotel very close to Tongariro National Park. The rooms are very well maintained an extremely generous in size. A fantastic place for family to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2016 by gm, Hotel Management
Fantastic, pleased you enjoyed. Hope to see you back here soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington

Nice hotel close to the mountains

Posted Aug 25, 2016
Family lodges were spacious and nice. The restaurant service was friendly, and the food okay (if a little pricey). We used this as a base to get up to the snow on Mount Ruapehu.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2016 on Hotels
Location was great although the accommodation dated. Lodge was cosy and friendly staff with meals and drinks on the expensive end of the scale for this type of accommodation. Snapper meal was disappointing as not fresh and tasted fishy. Shouldn't offer fresh fish to Kiwis unless it is as we know better.