Ratings based on 1,553 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Spacious Villa

Posted May 29, 2017
Fully equipped, spacious villas perfect for a weekend getaway where you want some space to relax.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good location

Posted May 19, 2017
Hotel is in the middle of tekapo close to restaurants and lake. But the room is tiny, just enough to fit a king size bed, no table or chairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Strange little place - extortionate wifi

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Cons: The rooms are much smaller than pictured online, the wifi and the breakfast costs where extortionate
Location: It is in a great spot for the observatory, hot pools and great walks - maybe just power through to Wanaka/Christchurch rather than stay here overnight
We booked here en route from Queenstown to Christchurch due it's close proximity to the observatory, the lake, Mt Cook and the hot pools. There isn't much else accom around so if you are doing similar you could end up doing the same. The hotel just had a bit of a strange identity. It charged the most out of any similar places we stayed during our trip, but it was one of the smallest rooms and had ridiculously expensive meals and wifi. There isn't any coverage for phones really in the area so we were relying on wifi each night to communicate with friends and download the google maps area for the next day. It might seem like a small thing but considering I stayed in a variety of accommodations over those two weeks, nowhere else charged even more than 5 dollars for unlimited wifi during your stay - and that was a super basic hostel. When we stayed anywhere even near this price range they had much better amenities in the room and obviously free unlimited wifi. I just think the hotel has an idea of itself as really high end but actually doesn't care about offering the little extras and is basically just a motel of necessity by it's key location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dutch family

New hotel, great location, great value for money

Posted Apr 26, 2017
We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel on our road trip. It's very new (unfortunately that also meant they were still working on the unit adjacent to us) with high quality furniture and appliances and the rooms extremely spacious. My guess is the prices won't stay this low very long given the value for money.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Could have been better

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Pros: Location, looked nice.
Cons: WiFi, the importance of wifi needs no introduction
Location: Heaps to do within walking distance, really good location.
A few things were a bit off. The wifi was out of range in our room, so we had to go to the hotel reception area to use it. The fridge was off when we arrived without us knowing, so the beer and champagne i had planned on enjoying a few hours later was warm when I arrived back at the room after the day out. Room was a fair bit smaller and compacted than I had expected. They did bring me ice when I called and asked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Bathroom has a heating floor!

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: location
Location: restaurants, shops, church
Nice stay, the standard room is VERY small but we don't mind. Walkable to the shops and church. Self laundry is free, helped us a lot. However, they need to clean the machines once a while. We had to clean it because other guests left a lot of powder in it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, AUS

Ok hotel, great location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Location is great. Better room service options would be nice.
Cons: More parking, perhaps reserved spots outside the rooms so you don't have to lug your bags too far through the gravel.
Location: Lake Tekapo :) nothing more to say about the location really.
This is one of the only hotels in the area, so there isn't much choice. Fortunately, they seem to have a lot of rooms. Unfortunately, the one we had was quite small. Not too bad if you aren't spending much time there, but something to keep in mind. The location is fantastic and the staff efficient. Overall it's a perfectly fine place to spend a night.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Too small to be called a standard room

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Smallest standard room we have seen in New Zealand.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Invercargill, NZ

Good location resort

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Good location, nice restaurant. Quiet overall but in hotel rooms can hear those above you. Service at counter not good, queue on arrival, poor hospitality and not local staff (all international).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning views from this hotel.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Loved the concept and gardens of this hotel. An enjoyable stay in the best location.