Ratings based on 1,300 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Christchurch

Beautiful on the outside, tired on the inside.

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: The location and view are prime.
Cons: Absolutely the interior maintenance of the rooms! Others we have talked to since have had the same experience.
Location: Very handy to the Hot Pools and the township. Close to excellent restaurants.
Check-in staff were excellent, however our room was not up to our expectations. The drape had a large hole, the carpet was frayed at the bathroom edge, the heat-pump was noisy each time it started, and the desk furniture had seen better days. However, the bathroom was just the opposite; clean and well maintained! What a shame the maintenance inside has not been done to ensure real value for money. Disappointing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

極細小房間

Posted Jun 28, 2016
極細小房間,房間內只有一扇窗,還是對著停車場,非常嘈吵,基本上是不會打開的,像一間密室一樣,完全浪費的附近的優美景觀。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

惜しいホテル

Posted Jun 25, 2016
口コミを見る限りスタンダードルームの評価が絶望的だったため滞在することを迷ったが一泊8000円という値段に惹かれて滞在してきました。 スタンダードルームの部屋の狭さは既存口コミにある通り正直狭いが一人で滞在する分にはそこまで狭さを感じず。 またスーツケースに関しても床で開くことが出来るサイズだったため問題もなく。 なお部屋の至る所に電源コンセントの差し込み口があるが一部故障している箇所もありその点が残念でした。 シャワー、トイレなども清潔でお湯の出も上々。 朝食はおいしく、リクエストしたら目玉焼きも作ってくれました。 一人で滞在する分にはスタンダードルームでも問題なし、 二人以上ならばその上のクラスに滞在することをお勧めします。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Overpriced and under delivered

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Things wrong with this place: - Tiny room with no view - Mouldy bathroom tiles - Large items of rubbish in the garden outside room - Uninterested staff - It was only about 1/3 full, if that, so you would think the staff had time to take care of guests - Deceptive photography makes it look as if it's literally on the lake, when its not. - One of the more expensive hotels I stayed in on this trip, yet it was in the town with the fewest activities available and lowest demand of any we visited Good things about this place: - Underfloor heating in the bathroom
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Überwertetes 5-Sterne Hotel am Lake Takepo

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: Die Lage ist super. Alles kann fußläufig erreicht werden. Das Bad war hervorragend und das Bett sehr bequem.
Cons: Das Hotel-Team könnte wesentlich freundlicher und zuvorkommender sein. Hier wird sich anscheinend eher auf die asiatischen Gäste konzentriert.
Location: Gute Lage direkt am See. Das "Zentrum" sowie Attraktionen wie die alte Kirche oder die Hot Springs sind alle fußläufig erreichbar.
Das Hotel liegt direkt am Lake Takepo, was sehr gut ist. Der Komfort der Zimmer kommt auf die Kategorie an. Wir hatten ein normales Doppelzimmer, welches sehr klein war. Aber Bett und Bad waren trotzdem super. Das Hotelpersonal ist eher unfreundlich und man merkt, dass sich das Hotel eher auf ihre Asiatischen Gäste einstellt. Es kann also vorkommen, dass unendlich viele Chinesen, die sehr laut sein können, vor Ort sind. Das Wifi ist ein Witz. Unlimited heißt hier 100mb gedrosselt und alles andere kostet richtig viel Aufpreis. Alles in allem, zu teuer für was man dann bekommt.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Fantastic location, shoebox room.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Great location, quick walk to the village and sights.
Cons: Cleaner rooms, more space, better internet caps/rates.
Location: Good cafe's nearby, a grocery store, the major sightseeing spots.
We stayed here for one night to do some stargazing, booking a standard hotel room online. We knew from previous experiences this would mean something small but this was smaller than a shoebox with little room for our bags. On check-in we were told it was a "lake view" which excited us until we got to the room and scratched our heads at where the view was. We had one small slat window that faced into the parking lot/courtyard area, no lake view at all. The sheets and carpets were stained but the bathroom was the most spacious part of the place and the cleanest. All told, it's a fine place to rest your head for a night but given the rate we paid it was quite disappointing compared to other hotel/motel rooms we booked along our trip. One other note is the complimentary internet only offers 100mb so be prepared to either run into town to find free WiFi or spend the extra money and just buy the unlimited pack at reception.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Japan

湖側の部屋をオススメします

Posted May 28, 2016
値段重視で選んだのですが、まさかの湖が見えない、スーツケースを開けたら足の踏み場がないくらい狭い部屋で、エアコンが直でベッド向いているためとても乾燥します。 ホテル内のレストランはとても対応が良く、味もおいしかったです!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Make sure you know what room you are getting

Posted May 8, 2016
Pros: Room was clean
Cons: Room soundproofing, more space.
Location: close to Mt. John observatory and Lake Tekapo
We arrived more than an hour past check in time, but our room was not ready. We were given another room that did not have a view and was only slightly larger than the average jail cell. There were two twin beds with a nightstand in between them, and we had to move to different parts of the room to pass each other as things were that tight in the room. The person checking us in made no effort to try to remedy the situation - saying only that they were full that night and had no other room he could give us. The room itself was clean, but there is not good soundproofing, so we could hear guests in the room next to ours then entire time we were there. The rooms that did face the lake looked more spacious, so if you stay here, make sure you get one of those rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 日本

テカポ湖のメインストリート?に近いホテル

Posted May 7, 2016
自分の泊まった部屋は湖とは反対側の、小さい部屋でした。一人だったので問題無いですが、2人だと少し狭いですね。キャリーバックはベッドの上位しか、広げるスペースは無さそうです。湖側はメゾネットタイプのキッチン付きもあり、複数人で行くから快適そうです。
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Pretty setting for a cupboard under the stairs

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Wotif
Room was pokey with damage to walls and smelled damp. Bathroom presented with black and pink mold. Staff did best to rectify. Would liken room to Harry Potter's cupboard under the stairs. On site restaurant was nice. Pretty setting.