Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2016
Nice and clean hotel. It was comfortable and well located.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An option to stay at Puno

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Reception helps to answer a lot of questions. Only 1 minute distance to the plaza de armas. But the water supply is not stable (sometimes hot, sometimes cold)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice staff, average room

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
The location is great but the hardware facility is a bit old and shall focus more on cleanness. However, the reception is very nice and help to solve problems during our stays!
4 out of 5
by Alan from Santa Fe

Posted Jan 19, 2016 on Hotels
Room very adequate. WiFi spotty in rooms. Breakfast good. Staff very helpful.
5 out of 5
by Jennifer from NYC

Clean and comfortable

Posted Jul 2, 2015 on Hotels
This was a very nice and well-run hotel close to the center of town. Breakfast was very good and the staff was helpful and friendly.
3 out of 5
by Gabriel from Seattle

Casona Plaza - good enough.

Posted Jan 5, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is good, the room was fine and the buffet breakfast was acceptable. The people in the hotel are helpful and nice. Now... The room I got was super noisy, you could her everything. I was on the second floor and I could hear conversations the receptionist was having. Not ideal when all you want a hotel for is to rest after hiking/walking/exploring. I decided to have a "hot" shower late at night and there was barely any hot water. Buy your own soap - the one they give you is laughable. Don't buy the water from the minibar, it's 75% cheaper in a small store 2 blocks left once you geet out of the main hotel entrance.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hotel but had a mix up

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
THe hotel itself is not bad, but somehow i had to pay for it again, eventhough it was prepaid to hotels.com... They cited some problem, that they have abandoned visa payments and only mastercard or cash now...
4 out of 5
by Steve from NY USA

Center of Puno

Posted Sep 2, 2014 on Hotels
1 block from Plaza, can find a lot of restaurant and seeings. Street is noisy and narrow. Hotel can arrange boat tour and bus/taxi to airport. Be careful! Collectivo is moving around to fill the bus, when you use it. Extra time is desiable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pasadena, California

Don't stay there Friday or Saturday night!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: It's nice, good location, good quality breakfast included in stay.
Cons: The staff in the lobby doesn't speak much English so it was hard to communicate as we didn't speak much Spanish.
Location: The Casona plaza is at a great location near the plaza de armas and the main strip of restaurants and shops in the center of Puno.
The Casona plaza is at a great location near the plaza de armas and the main strip of restaurants and shops in the center of Puno. The hotel is nice and well maintained. The room we had was huge with a seating area, table and a king sized bed. The bathroom was large, too, and we had plenty of warm water. Breakfast was elaborate with different kinds of breads, jams, meat, cheeses, fruits and fruit juices and you could get your eggs as you liked. Overall, it would have made for an excellent stay if it wouldn't have been for the loud street noise and party/music until 3am in the morning. The windows are very thin and poorly insulated. We essentially didn't get any sleep on Friday and Saturday night, which was extremely disappointing. Sunday night was as if somebody turned a switch. Super quiet and we finally got a good night's sleep. Stay there during the week on workdays, but unless you are out there partying, don't even bother to stay there over the weekend unless you don't care about getting any sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice hotel in downtown

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Cons: The heater needs to be more efficient. It is very cold in Puno.
Location: The location is great. I am vegan, so I even found a vegan restaurant within walking distance.
The hotel is in a great location, however, with it comes the noise. There were noises all night long, from people playing music to drivers honking. The service was great, and so it was the breakfast.