Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much better choice elsewhere

Posted Sep 15, 2016
The hotel is old and not very clean. Internet is very slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Couple hiccups otherwise perfect stay

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Had arranged airport pickup since we were arriving late at night. No one ever came to pick us up and we were stuck with taking the last "taxi" there. Room was great, breakfast was amazing. Staff were very friendly and spoke English. Credit card machine was down. Overall we were happy walking into our hotel at the end as there are lots of other "rustic" places around. I would recommend.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good price, Location, and Descent Breakfast

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Close to the main square, comfortable beds, reasonably priced, good internet connection
Cons: Shower regulators
Location: Easy access anywhere in Puno
We stayed here a total of 5 nights on and off ... left our luggage in the storage room (with no problems) when we left on a couple of different occasion on overnight jaunts elsewhere. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly, and speak English. The rooms are tidy and clean ... and considering how many travelers come and go out of the hotel on a daily basis, I think the staff does an excellent job in keeping it up (the hotel has many years of wear and they maintain it well). There's a cold food spread for breakfast and if you would like hot eggs, just ask. My only complaint is the hot water for showers ... I asked a couple other travelers if they had problems and they did not. If you try to take a shower when everyone else is up and going (showering and flushing toilets), there seems to be a no regulator for the showers. So if you try to shower during a peak time, the water will run very hot and then very cold (back and forth, no in between). This can be solved by showering at a "non-peak" time. The street is busy during the day and very quiet at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aruba

Middle of the city

Posted Sep 22, 2015
Pros: Frendly people
It was a little bit noisy, our room has street site.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mexico DF

Was very disappointing

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: the bed is not bad and the shower was very well
Cons: everything
The room was very big but the T.V. doesn't work, the breakfast was awful. The woman in the reception was very rude and i feel that is very expensive for the category of the hotel that is old.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A group hotel

Posted Feb 18, 2015
You will be woken by whatever group is staying there. The doors stick so there is constant opening and closing at all hours. The room was pleasant enough for the discounted price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, Ca

Excellent budget friendly hotel!

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: None.
Location: Located right next to plaza de armas. takes 5 soles to get to anywhere else in the city.
Loved staying here as yes it may be basic, but it provided us a clean, warm room with a hot shower. Breakfast was also excellent. Front desk was super helpful - though I have to say probably more suited to helping non-backpackers. We had asked about local night buses from puno to cusco, but when they looked up the information they just gave us the expensive private buses. Would def. stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Hotel location and staff

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: The staff
Cons: Bathroom tile grouting could be redone.
It's a block and half to Plaza de Armas and the Cathedral. Easy walking distance to the bank , restaurants, shops. Despite being close to the square, it's quiet at night when I was there. The staff are very helpful in booking a morning trip for me to Uros Islands, and arranging transport to Juliaca for my flight to Lima. My pick up for the airport was between 6:00 am to 6:35. Breakfast starts at 6:00 am. The time I was checking out was 5:45 am; the desk staff let me know that breakfast is ready and I could go in the dining area even if it's not 6:00 am yet. Felt better on the way to the airport, no grumbling stomach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel and excellent breakfast

Posted Sep 3, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable, fantastic breakfast, staff was helpful
Cons: The hallway could be quite noisy early in the morning.
Location: There isn't much to do except shopping near the hotel. But it is about a 20 to 30 minutes walk to the pier where you can take a ferry to the islands
It's a small hotel but close to the main square, just a few minutes walk. The hotel offers buffet breakfast and is included in our room rate. It has a wide variety of items to choose from to get your day well started.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

It might work out for you.

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: breakfast and coco tea available. The staff we encountered were friendly and helpful aside from the check in confusion.
Cons: More stable internet and more compatible wifi. Power strips in rooms for charging devices, do something about the noise on front rooms
Location: you can walk to some night life and taxi to the lake Titicaca sites. empty your bladder before heading to Uros islands.
I stayed with a group of guys for 2 1/2 nights. We arrived in Puno by bus at about 5 AM so we booked a hotel for that first night to get a few hours of sleep before exploring. The reservation canceled due to our late arrival and there was considerable confusion. Though the hotel had extra rooms, and we had registered for 5 adult men, they gave us 2 rooms with 2 double beds. I booked this third room on expedia for 2 nights and they prepared one for me and allowed early check in. They had a rooms suited for 3 but apparently none were available when we arrived. This could have been handled better. The rest of the stay was quite fine. Breakfast, coco tea, and oxygen tank available. One night we stayed out very late and arrived to find the hotel locked up, but someone appeared quickly to let us in. (its secure) Rooms on the front side have a lot of traffic noise. Rooms on the side or back are more quiet. For folks traveling with devices to charge, the outlets are sparse and oddly placed. (Hint to hotel: a power strip or extension cord could offer a solution) Internet worked sporadically at best during our stay. My laptop would not connect to the wifi for some reason though it works elsewhere. Phones worked sometimes.