Ratings based on 1,357 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
39% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Great location and next LEGOLAND.

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Pros: Expedia
Location: Legoland, cvs, walgreens, dollar tree, golden corral, moe's, Wendy's, Somewhere sport bar, between others.
I recommend this place for a family that is looking for great location, clean and quiet place to visit LEGOLAND.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating. We are very pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. We do hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

If ur stay is only 2 days, it's ok 👌🏾

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Nice hotel, close to dining, and shopping, also close to Legoland. Pool area is nice would've been even nicer if they add a jacuzzi. Overall, an Okay place to stay if stay is only for a couple days!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review We are very pleased to hear your stay was enjoyable. We do hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Great location for a visit to Legoland

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Not worth what they charge. Rooms are very outdated, and unkempt. The water (faucet/shower) smelled horrible. Too many cons to list, definitely won't stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Shergill Grand Hotel. We are very sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our hotel. Please do note that this is a top priority for us and we will be passing the comments to our housekeeping and management teams.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

It works and gets the job done.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Reasonable price.
Cons: Maintenance,- maybe ice machines located for guests use. Only one we found was in office. But we did get ice.
Location: LEGOLAND is close but we drove to Lakeland for the Airshow called Sin and Fun. Nice food choices very close. Perkins, Red Lobster, Outback.
Everything worked but didn't look the best. Bathroom floor was not clean and not from last occupant either. We stayed for 4 days and staff made beds each day and supplied some fresh towels. We had a outside ground floor room. We did not use the pool or restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review of your stay at the Shergill Grand Hotel. We are very happy to hear that your stay was enjoyable. Please do note that we are amidst extensive renovations to make improvements to our property. We do hope you will come back to see our new look!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Decent hotel, when asked for extra towels cause it was 3 of us total staying in the room, we were told by the housekeeping staff, that they were told not to give out extra towels by the hotel management.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Shergill Grand Hotel. We are very sorry to hear you had issues with our staff to get more towels. Our management team has been made aware of these issues and will be taking action to resolve them. Thank you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

STOP! DON'T DO THIS TO YOURSELF!

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: Best feature: Staff is nice. however they are obviously not empowered by the management correct anything. Complaints are put on ice and delayed.
Cons: This hotel is is a great location in little city. It needs a complete overhaul. I would suggest gutting it and starting from scratch.
Location: Great location and nice grills nearby.
The best part about the trip is that it was a guys fishing and airshow trip and we left the wives home and they did not have to experience this awful hotel. This hotel is poorly ran. You can see they spent money into the hotel lobby features and it looks pretty good when you walk in, after that it goes down hill from there. Dirty carpet through out, trash on the elevator (which looks like it was made in 1970), AC unit cover hanging off wall, no batteries in TV remote, BUGS IN THE BATHROOM THAT SCATTER WHEN YOU TURN THE LIGHTS ON, 1/4 of roll of toilet paper, NO WASH CLOTHES, only two big towels and a hand towel. I will never stay here again. EVERYTHING STINKS including the filthy carpet. The hotel did agree to rebate half the room charge. Even some of the staff mentioned that they "just work there" and they would never put let any of there family stay there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Shergill Grand Hotel. We are very sorry to hear you had a variety of problems during your stay. Our management team has been made aware of these issues and will be taking action to resolve them. Thank you,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

You can't trust in this hotel

Posted Apr 5, 2017
The hotel bathroom was very dirty and the smell of the room was terrible, luckily we only had to spend one night there. Worst of all is that my daughter left her ipad forgotten in the hotel room and when we returned to find it 5 hours after having checked out at the hotel nobody knew anything, they never returned it. We have never had any similar experience in any hotel we have visited. This hotel is the worst. Please do not stay at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Shergill Grand Hotel. We are very sorry to hear you had a variety of problems during your stay. We have let our team know that the iPad is still missing, and will be taking action to resolve them. Thank you,
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Not good a good place for a family.

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: Nothing. I would actually stop using "hotel" and "resort" and say "motel."
Cons: Our friends got a dirty room as well. It feels like the staff simply cleans sheets and towels. There needs to be a deep cleaning.
Location: Legoland. Plenty of breakfast, dining restaurants, and fast food nearby.
I reserved to stay two nights. I got in the first night at midnight, and it was the worst "hotel" (really a motel) that I have stayed at in the last 10 years. Lobby ceiling full up bugs. It also had a huge spider web catching the bugs right above check-in counter. Staff was not rude, but not hospitable either as one would expect from a hotel that markets to tourists and families. There were two types of bugs in the room (Room 117). Some bugs in the ceiling. One on the mattress. One in the TV stand. Room has alot of moisture in the ceiling that was masked. Some moisture stains were not masked, and were black, which is a sign of mold. Floor tiles looked like they've never seen a mop. Sheets were clean. There was months of dust hanging from the bathroom light. It seemed like an unsafe atmosphere for women and kids/families. I never unpacked my bags and made sure to zip up immediately after opeing them. I checked out the minute I woke up, and got my family out of there immediately. I was refunded for the second night that I didn't stay. I'll never recommend this hotel to anyone. And I'll make sure my family and friends don't make the mistake of staying there as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your stay at the Shergill Grand Hotel. We are very sorry to hear you had a variety of problems during your stay. Our management team has been made aware of these issues and will be taking action to resolve them. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from florida

Hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: I really liked
Cons: nothing yet
Location: Good, perfect for me and my family. thanks
I like the services, and quality of the the rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your great review!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint Johns Fl

Affordable, stay just to sleep.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
I wasn't shocked because of online reviews. I knew what I was getting for $60 a night. It's not filthy but bring flip flops the floors r dirty, sandy from what I think was a new tile job. Pretty sure there was no grout clean up. I don't blame this on housekeeping. I think the hotel owners standards meet the price u pay. Walls r paper thin, Bring a fan to drown out noise. Drop ceiling in bathroom. Hot water worked well. There's about an 1 inch gap on bottom of front door so if someone's smoking outside it's coming in your room. I have to add that my a/c & heat work wonderfully. The sheets looked clean, (I brought my own blankets to lay on top) And my room didn't smell musty at all, especially after I sprayed a can of Lysol. Come to this hotel with low expectations, that way you won't be disappointed. Or skip the hassle and pay additional monies to stay at a newer place. Front desk girls were wonderful & kind. I had no issues as I knew what I was getting because of reviews. I did not see any bugs at all in our room. We were on 2nd floor facing city. I would recomed this hotel if your staying solely to sleep. There will be a $5 resort fee.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Nadia, Hotel Management
Thank you for your very detailed review of your stay at the Shergill Grand Hotel. You are definitely well versed in travel, and know where to find information. We are very pleased to meet your expectations during your stay. We do hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to the area.