Ratings based on 1,067 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The stay was nice and the young men outdoors at valet parking very helpful And very polite.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Noise

Posted Feb 16, 2017
I asked for a high floor quiet room. We got what seemed a great room on the top floor corner of the building looking over the lake. What was not great was the room had 2 party/interconnecting doors to 2 rooms either side. One of the doors was next to the nightstand! Both nights we we were woken when the guests in the rooms returned. Then in the early hours the nearby train starts to think his horn, at 3.20am for 10 minutes. The room looks very upscale but it's all show, the towel rails fell off the wall when you removed the towel. The coffee nook that has a coffee machine and supplies has no power so you have to take the maker over to the desk. There is a college dorm style refrigerator sitting on the floor next to the desk. This was very noisy so we unplugged it. The free continental breakfast was a small hallway table with coffee a bowl of apples oranges and pears and a tray of Danish pastries. Since I am vegan and had informed them with the booking but there was no alternative my breakfast was a pear! Not impressed at all. We will be returning to Lakeland as my daughter is in college there but will find a different hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Historic hotel; great location!

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This is a medium sized historic hotel on a square in Savannah. Recent renovations resulted in comfortable rooms. Great location for walking tours and restaurants. Nice wine and cheese reception each evening and full complimentary breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel in downtown Lakeland, FL.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Historic hotel with a lot of charm. Food was amazing!!!
Beautiful historic hotel in downtown Lakeland, FL. Very friendly staff and clean rooms. Restaurant is amazing!!! Food is fantastic!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice Antique Hotel with a Great View

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Staff setup the room great for the night after the wedding. I was able to give them rose petals and candles that they had laid out perfectly to give it that extra touch. Everything was older with some updated amenities but great if you love that style and atmosphere. It was the perfect place at a fair price. Highly Recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marco Island

Lovely Old Hotel Downtown Lakeland

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Fun to be in an older downtown hotel rather than a chain. The restaurant was excellent.
Cons: They need a sign to show where to enter and park as it's confusing for one who has not been there before. Not sure what can be done about the noise.
Location: We stayed there as we were visiting the Circle B Bar Ranch to bird. Appears to have some good restaurants within walking distance.
We were very pleasantly surprised to find this old hotel near where we spent time birding. Although not usually out for domestic birds, Mirror Lake across the street and Lake Morton close by have about every kind of domestic bird in the book. The rooms are standard hotel rooms, but very noisy. We could hear every train as well as several different groups returning after 2:00 am and being very loud in the hall. The bathroom needed some work (only one bath towel, missing trim piece, a noisy fan that never turns off), but overall fun to stay in an older place. The Terrace Grill was excellent!! Great service and food - although very noisy with high ceilings and open to the bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Very nice experience!

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Staff very friendly and efficient. Very pretty area of town with lots of restaurants within walking distance. Room was very nice and very clean.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Location: These are mentioned above.
My wife & I stayed one nite while driving from Ft Lauderdale to Tampa. Check-in was fast and staff courteous and friendly. Our room was very nice - large, clean, and well maintained. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the iconic Polk Theatre which was built in the 1920's and we watched an afternoon movie - highly recommend that you visit the theater if possible ($6 for Seniors 60 and older). There are many casual restaurants within a short walking distance. The Hotel's Grill Restaurant is very highly rated, although we did not dine there. The area is very clean, safe, and attractive. There is free parking in the garage right across from the Hotel on Sat and Sunday. We were very impressed with this historic hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can Be Better But Great Location

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Nice accommodating staff, very nice bar and grille, but...the rooms can use some work. The hotel ought to really focus on the 'little things' that can make a stay so much more. My room had a chipped toilet seat and the coffee maker itself was dirty - I did not want to use it. The person in the room next to me also said their coffee maker was dirty. The glass cannister looked liked it had been cleaned, but I didn't even want to touch the maker. GREAT location, beds comfortable and clean, and staff was very responsive. However, for the price...management really needs to do the small upgrades. How about new coffee makers (Keurigs?) and better toiletries, and change the toilet seat because it made it look dirty.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Reservation Department, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are continuously working to improve guest satisfaction. We are also updating the rooms with the Keurigs coffee maker. We are hoping to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from much traveled military spouse

Lovely historic hotel in vibrant town center :)

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Beautiful 1924 hotel refurbished in 1998. Wonderful location in the center of a vibrant small town with walking access to restaurants and shops. We were lucky to be there for the farmers - craft market on a Saturday morning that extended 3 full blocks :) the only reason I didn't give it a 5 is, it is time to replace carpet and update the bathroom again in the the lovely suite we stayed in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2017 by Reservation Department, Hotel Management
Thank you Sharon for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We are hoping to see you again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Posted Feb 1, 2017
The staff was amazing!!! Will definitely stay there again
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 2, 2017 by front desk, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback!