Ratings based on 1,152 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2018
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location - needs to be refreshed

Posted May 1, 2018
A somewhat affordable alternative in a great location, but don't expect fresh, light-filled rooms they show in photos.The room was dark - next to the "L" train. It had an unpleasant smell - seemed plumbing related. Given time constraints when we checked in, and the shortness of our stay, we didn't ask to be moved. Also - be sure you add at least $25 a day for parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2018 by maria, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for taking the time to review us, Everywhere it state the parking is additional $25/day, We wish we have our parking, but for now we rent the space for our guest,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

location

Posted Apr 29, 2018
Pros: Free breakfast, didnt feel over crowded, and nice staff.
Cons: Parking. I had to pay 25 dollars pre-night for parking and parking lot is a couple blocks away from hotel.
Location: right next to train station (red line), not far from downtown or china town. A great variety of different restaurants near hotel.
great location if your planning on taking train transportation during your stay. Not far from the downtown area or places like chinatown.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel - central location

Posted Apr 29, 2018
This hotel seemed outdated at first however it was very clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, Ill

Nice, comfortable hotel in Boys town

Posted Apr 22, 2018
Very nice hotel. Comfortable room. Very nice staff. We were in Chicago for a one-day/night get-a-way and it was perfect for our needs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

In need of some updates

Posted Apr 21, 2018
Great location, overall the place was clean, but it could definitely use some updating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2018 by maria, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are in process of renovation. Hope to see you at city Suites next time you are in Chicago
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 20, 2018
We were pleasantly surprised for the price. My only complaint was inability to control temperature. In the morning we were hot and couldn’t change temp. Everything else was above average and charming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Topeka, KS

My go to hotel now!

Posted Apr 16, 2018
Pros: It's an atypical design. A nice change of pace from the fancy loop hotels, and at the right price. It doesn't seem like a cheap hotel though.
Cons: The radiator sounds were a little annoying, but provided good heat.
Location: Ann Sather restaurant just a few doors away! The small video/music/game store next door has an awesome selection! Vintage store down the street too!
The access to public transit is about as good as it gets in Chicago. Also plenty of retail and restaurants within walking distance. A little noisy, but you get the vibe of the city, and the loop is a short train ride away!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Syracuse Indiana

Okay

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Well it wasn't the hotels fault. It was Expedia's fault, they told me the hotel had a swimming pool and when we arrived the front desk person says they've never had a pool. I was so mad cause I specifically wanted a hotel with a pool and breakfast in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Very comfortable and pleasant

Posted Apr 9, 2018
Clean, comfortable, stylish and close to everything needed. Parking was easy, walking distance to food. Really nice staff, they were very helpful and friendly. We felt welcome and it was a nice stay.