Ratings based on 119 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Cons: Bed
Just an overnight stop on the way to Wallowa Lake, Oregon
4 out of 5
by Julia

Would stay again

Posted Sep 5, 2017 on Hotels
Basic motel but clean and comfortable, good for the price. Receptionist friendly and helpful. Only issue was that the fridge was really loud - we had to unplug it to be able to sleep. Also by the time my husband and I got downstairs there wasn't much in the way of breakfast left - just a couple of small pastries.
2 out of 5
by Megan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Rude staff

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Orbitz
We had made reservation for wrong date. Staff (woman) at front desk when we arrived was very unsympathetic to our blight. When asked about other places she tossed telephone book at us. Of course we did not get our money back as they don't give back deposits for any reason. The rest of contacts in Lakeside were very empathic and quite helpful.
4 out of 5
by Kay

Fine stay

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
It was perfect for a night's rest. The place was completely with tourists on their way from eclipse, as we were. Older motel with tight parking in front and big parking lot at back. Close to restaurants, Safeway and gas station. Room was very hot when we checked in late afternoon. A/C worked so no problem, though noisy. We had upper floor end unit so it was quiet. Room was fairly spacious. Fridge worked well. Limited wi fi.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

I usually can overlook many small things

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Many things were terribly wrong. We were 2 adults and found only ONE bath towel to share. Could not get operator to answer the request for more towels. NOT A BAR OF SOAP in the room or bath. Ugh!! The next morning I went to the office to share our issues with the mgr./wife and she seemed unphased! Also the breakfast that was advertised was not ready, no napkins and we had to ask for the office door access to be unlocked to enter. I mean really? It was a nightmare. Left us feeling Unappreciated as a customer..... My advice: Keep driving. I'm asking my cc to be reimbursed Linda California
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Spent five days at the motel. Staff was very helpful and courteous throughout my stay. Room was clean and comfortable. Have stayed there in the past, and will again in the future should I once again visit Lakeview.
4 out of 5
by John

Decent place to stay while visiting Thunder Ranch

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
There are only a few motels in the middle of the tiny town of Lakeview and they all seem okay, but the Fremont is, by all accounts, the best place to stay. Interstate 8 is okay. Here are the plusses and minuses. Pluses: It is clean. It has a refrigerator that does work. They make the beds every day. It is across the street from the Tall Town restaurant, which opens at 6:00am and has good breakfast, which gives you plenty of time to eat before class. Minuses: The motel "breakfast" is a few prepackaged muffins that go out at 7:00am and that's about it. The staff is always MIA. The toiletries are cheap with crumbling soap, and we had shampoo 2 out of 3 days.... they are stingy like most motels that all have one thing in common you're not allowed to notice. Some of the towels were stained and they had a rag in the room with a sign telling you it is for spills. The carpet was old, flat, and stained. None of these things were a big deal, but I'll book the Fremont next time just because it's a better deal for the money. That said, if it's unavailable, I'd have no problem staying at Interstate 8 again. It worked for a place where a couple of dudes can crash between days on the range. Oh yeah, and Mario's restaurant down the street is the best place to eat that you've never heard of. Highly recommend that. And yes, 10 point Mule Deer roam the streets like nothing us southerners have ever seen. The True Value and Safeway stores are well appointed and a block away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Wonderful couple running the place. We made a joke about a beer, and the husband gave us one from his personal fridge.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boise, Idaho

As good as it gets in the area

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Fresh clean bathroom
Location: N/A, I was just passing through and needed a bed and shower.
Driving from Idaho to N. California, there aren't many options. My room was touted as mountain view. I had to look through a laundry mat for that view. Upon my arrival to my room the first thing I saw when I switched on the light was that the lampshade had fallen apart on the lightbulb. It would have been a fire eventually. The room was fine. TV, microwave and small fridge. It looks like the bathroom is quite freshly remodeled and very clean. Towels were pretty shabby. The weirdest thing was the tattered grey rag on the back of the toilet with a note to use it for messes to spare the towels.