Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Oriol from London

Very nice hotel with friendly staff

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent service in a beautiful area of the Peloponnese. Very much recommended.
4 out of 5
by Heidi from Santa Fe

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
Good breakfast, nice pool, quiet neighborhood, and close proximity to Mystras castle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Very close to ancient Mistra, nice breakfast on the patio, easy parking, right by the town square. Very nice.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Nice hotel close to Mystra / Sparti

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: Hotel met all advertised features - parked in orange / lime grove with lovely citrus scents. Enjoyable stay.
Location: Recommend driving through Langadha Pass to Mystra. The Mystra site was disappointing but Sparti Roman ruins and Leonidas statue made up for it.
Hotel was ideal for staying in Mystra / Sparti area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very hospitable

Posted Aug 2, 2015
Pros: Lovely staff
Cons: The beds
Location: Near ruins
Nice hotel for a village. Good restaurants in the area.
4 out of 5
by Samuel from New Orleans

Our Greece Adventure

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay. Hotel was enjoyable. Not much to Sparta, but Mystras' ruins were excellent.
5 out of 5
by Dimitra from Lesvos

Great stay

Posted May 22, 2015 on Hotels
We enjoyed the stay at this hotel. It was nice and in great location of you want to go to Mystras or Sparta. The staff was extremely friendly.
4 out of 5
by Margaret from Maryland

Nice hotel, bad wifi

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
As far as I can tell, the only reason to stay at the Byzantion is to visit the site at Mystra. It's well located for that -- a very short drive to the parking for the main gate. It's also right by the handful of restaurants and souvenir shops that make up the current village. The downside to the location was that my room was right across the street from a restaurant where lots of people were eating outside so it wasn't particularly quiet during the evening and early night. There's a small parking lot. Based on my stay, it's just barely adequate at night. (Much thanks to those who helped me with parking in an unfamiliar car.) The rooms are comfortable if not particularly generous in size. Oddly, the room while non-smoking had an ashtray, supposedly for use on the balcony. The breakfast seemed fairly standard. The one real problem that I had was the wifi -- I could only get it working in my room for about 10 minutes late in the evening. It did always work in the lobby. Based on my interaction with the staff, I gather that they're aware that some people have trouble with the wifi but are puzzled.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2015
Hi If you refer to my previous communication 're checkin' to Byzantion you will see my husband and I had a bad experience.
4 out of 5
by Darren from Sydney

Good hotel but could improve on the little things

Posted May 6, 2015 on Hotels
This is a pleasant hotel in a good location about a 1km walk to the Mystrás World Heritage Listed site. The hotel has a great pool, does a lovely breakfast and is reasonably priced. Unfortunately some of the small details were overlooked like the light in the bathroom that didn't work and no hot water one morning because someone accidentally turned it off.